Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Multitask Dancing

by buddhaman - Compo Entry

A rhythm game with two buttons. (And mouse).

Written in JAVA using Libgdx.
The music is made with garageband and without competence. Only the music for 'certain death mode' was an original composition.

IMPORTANT:
I tried giving him hair, but ran out of time.

Instructions:
When the arrow is inside a tile. Move in the direction of the arrow while standing on that tile.
Meanwhile touch the circles to move the arms of the bald man.
left - z, a, left arrow
right - x, d, right arrow

Mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#24Humor3.97
#44Fun3.92
#89Audio3.69
#163Overall3.69
#278Innovation3.47
#418Theme3.81
#480Graphics3.08

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20am

This is incredibly cute! And really hard to score well, Great job!

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Awesome game, nice music, and cool mechanics, took a little to understand the mechanic, cool.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Very cute game, just missing a lose state, it's fun though, I like the humor of it too, especially the hardest mode hahaha.

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Attempting to run the .jar file does nothing for me, and I'm not sure how to debug this so I can't play this, sorry.

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Love the character animation :)

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Brilliant. I had a blast. It doesn't have much of a replay value, but I audibly laughed when I tried the hardest level with the sucky flute music.
I think this is the game I rated highest, it's just so funny and fun.
Only criticism I have is I feel like there could be better indicators to my success or failure.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Nice work!!
I laughed so hard with the "certain death mode" :D

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Great music game! Music games are very tough and I would have liked the controls to be a bit more precise (did I hit the spot?). The dancing character is the highlight of course! :-)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Very solid compo entry, excellent idea, great mechanics. Love it!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17pm

lol, very nice game. Really liked the mechanic. And that very hard song was 10/10.

One thing to improve would to maybe make the graphics better, especially in the background. Maybe make so something is moving there? because right now the smoke is just sitting still.

But other than that a really great and innovative game

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

This game make my day! :D

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I love this game. and certain death mode is the way to go.
dance moves are really fluid. Well made.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Ok, the first difficulties are really cool, but the last one is a joke, right? ( Not possible.. ) Anyway, it is real fun! ^^

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:09pm

We had an really similar idea, but your entry is better :)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:54am

I love the way he moves around. :)

I found this game pretty tricky but I like how you can't lose, you just have fun

A suggestion: It'd be nice if the circles were more visible

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:57am

HAHAHA the hardest mode!!!!!!!!

You already got 5 for humour but now it's like... mega 5.

Zulgot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48pm

I was laughing my ass off - really nice game :D

exhidor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

That game is really funny ! Haha ! I love it !

tantumgames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Funny game. Great mechanic and cool idea.

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:40pm

This was amazing. Really great game.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Dude, definetly let us vote on mood. I really enjoed him looking at his hand like it's a wild alien or something.

Also you can consider add some curves to follow with the hand at the same time. Like spirals and such. I just movet it with rhythm and it was cool enough. That would really make a complete gameplay with this concept.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:32pm

The controls are very hard to use but it was fun.

laaph says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:27am

Yay a dancing game! Awesome awesome awesome! I scored 180 on the hardest mode!

My only complaint is that it was hard to determine what counted as a success or not! Maybe some better feedback for a sense of timing. It seemed that hitting arrows on the beat wasn't exactly it, but maybe I was supposed to be hitting on the next beat? It wasn't clear to me.

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Did you use your real recorder for the last song?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]