Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

grow or burn

by Silvio - Compo Entry

[How to play]
You beat levels by reaching the right side of the screen with your plant.
Add leafs to your plant to increase the energy gain per gameround.
The plant must be hydrated to grow so add xylem to transport water.
The bigger the plant the higher the energy cost for further growth.
When your plant gets bigger, it attracts some weird mage that will try to burn it. Adding fruits to your plant will distract him so he will only destroy the fruit instead of half your plant. In the later levels the path to the right is blocked by a mysterious violet plant. Grown flowers will randomly remove one section on the map. If you manage to grow that the tip of your plant is in a dead end, just let the fire hit you. you will lose a bit of your plant and keep growing in the right direction.

Since only two buttons are used, you have to wait a few seconds, whenever you want to go back in the menus. Pressing a button will reset this timer.

this timer makes reading the in game description of the buildings so here:

Xylem:
is placed onto the stem of the plant and moves water from the origin/root of the plant to the end. from the color of you plant you can tell if water is needed. you cannot grow or place buildings on dry parts of the plant.
Xylem is actually the part of real plants that do that. I didn't come up with this weird name.

All following buildings are attachable to all parts of the plant that:
do not bend (corner parts)
or are the first or last part

Fruit:
grows in a few gamerounds and then protects from one fire attack which destroys the fruit. they last forever

Flowers:
grow slower than fruits but when fully blossom they remove one of the enemy plant parts on the map and then dissapear. In the first levels you might only used them for the look of your plant.

Leaf:
stay for several gamerounds and increase you energy gain per round.
then they fall off and make room for other plant-parts

[Issues]
The web version of the game might not respond at first but I found a way it
works. click the dark part around game and then click into the game. It will lose focus if you click somewhere other than the game.
its some weird html5/libgdx thing that is beyond my skills.
If anyone is familiar with libgdx and html on itch.io, please tell me, if you know how to prevent this.

I haven't checked this but it may be that fruits don't protect you in the first round after they fully grew.

If you start a level and try to place a building to you plant before you let it grow, the game will crash. I might fix that.

[Misc]
for the game I used
Game: Libgdx
Graphics: Aseprite
Soundeffects: sfxr




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.65
#244Overall3.55
#244Innovation3.55
#347Graphics3.35
#468Audio2.65
#484Fun3.15
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:16pm

This is an awesome game! I'm glad I didn't go with a plant theme because it wouldn't have been as cool as this. Very original idea and fun. The sounds and scrolling with one key reminds me of DOS games I used to play.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

Holy cow ! This game is amazing. The interface got big limits but it goes very well. Nice work, the concept is crazy.

prymidion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54am

I couldn't get past the starting screen in the web version.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16am

Awesome concept and idea, great execution. My only complaint is that the controls are haaaard. I know they're within the theme requirements, but I wish it was easier :D

Other than that, yeah, wow, well done!

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Like the concept, great use of the themes and the visual style is pretty nice too, if a little hard to read at times. Overall though, I like what I've been able to play.

Unfortunately that isn't much as I kept getting fatal crashes.

Silvio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53pm

@prymidion yeah like I wrote, thats some weird html thing. click the reload button and press a and d randomly. that should give focus to the game

Silvio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53pm

@AthenaOfDelphi the downloadable jar crashed?

cubicme says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49pm

great game! I can't stop playing. wait to go back is a little annoying but so much stuff with only button is amazing.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Very good. I'd like to see a real-time version

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I like the game, I just can't stand the menu system. This is one of those cases where earning points in the theme cost you more points everywhere else. I would have enjoyed it a lot more if I could have just clicked some options easily. Still would've given it full stars for the Growing theme and more stars for Fun and Overall. Nonetheless, I can appreciate the creativity that went into designing the game and overcoming both themes simultaneously. Good job!

Silvio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:50pm

@Jace239 I totally agree with you, but you have to consider that I made this in 16 hours straight with little pauses. I was in such a hurry, some of the key elements were created in the last 30 min. Any other system would have consumed too much time.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really enjoyed this

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:52pm

A really well-put together game! Only complaint I have is that the contrast between colors can tire your eyes very quickly. Don't get me wrong, the aesthetic is very nice, but seeing the same, bright background color throughout my playthrough wasn't very pleasing.
Also, the two-button constraint hintered the gameplay a bit in my opinion, since I struggled quite often to go back to the main menu, or even selected an option by accident.
But I'm just nitpicking at this point, you did a great job on this one!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Couldn't start the game by holding a and d simultaneously, neither on Firefox nor Chrome (on Ubuntu 14.04).

Silvio says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 8:00am

@Dining Philisopher thats a the focus issue. click the dark part around the game and then click the game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]