Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow a Game

by cubicme - Jam Entry

pretty much self-descriptive.

Press R to restart everything (when in the office).

you play as developers of a game, game designer, graphic artist, animator and programmer to develop a game. each one doing his/her part to grow the game.

we didn't get to do everything we wanted and had to abandon some of the stuff we did half-way through.

Music:
Paper Please Theme
"Don't let me be misunderstood" from Kill Bill Soundtrack


Game Design: Shiro
Art: Pouya
Animations: Ali
Programmer: @cubicme

---------
Post deadline update:
fix: initial dialogs didn't show up sometimes,
fix: unity prefab was not saved, so the font wasn't updated
add desktop builds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#112Humor(Jam)3.66
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#480Graphics(Jam)3.53
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#573Fun(Jam)3.09
#651Overall(Jam)3.18
#953Theme(Jam)2.94

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

Looks like it could be fun, but I'm not able to find anywhere to DL or play it at.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Unrunable.
The way you mixed pixel art with flashy drawings doesn't look cool.

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59am

The art and music choice are greats.
I love this Idea and the game experience.
Thumps Up Guys

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Stealing music is not okay :(

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03pm

lacking polish but nice overall. it was fun.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Haha, nice. I really appreciate the satire of it all, and the effort put into doing so many mini-games.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16pm

hehe. Nice take on the theme. It reminds me of one game which I played (cant remember the name) and the game said "there is no game" and you had to discover it. Bonus points for not making typical "grow a worm" game :)

cubicme says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50am

piper82: thanks :) yeah we were working on it until last minute. so many little things to do more

alirezalorak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45am

WoooW.. I like it... so cool, special shiro :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Funny indeed, nice job guys! Could use a little more polish indeed and the Papers, Please theme gets a little monotone after a while, but other than that, funny little thing!

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

kostak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:50am

Where have I heard the melody of your game?

VladRusu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:17am

Interesting idea. Music fits your game well. Took me a while until I figured out what I should do when in the office, then after finishing the first round of minigames, I got stuck for good. I think you have a really solid start for the game!

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:21am

Not bad, I liked it.. but it needs a little more story behind

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:08am

Unique ahaha. Interesting mini games. Personally thought the story was pretty great. Kinda described us.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:12am

Sick game guys, really terrific job on creating a sim game in a weekend. However I do think the high res and pixel art graphics from the game designers to the backgrounds is a bit disjointed. Otherwise a really good entry.

kmakai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:13am

This was cool and a smart idea! I thought the animations were quite nice. It was not clear to me that I needed to hit "up" to hit the button in the first minigame -- maybe I'm dense but it did take me a bit. Not a huge problem though. Regarding the music, if you don't create it yourselves during the Jam, you should be using music that is specifically licensed and made available for purposes like this: i.e. creative commons or public domain. Anyway, good job completing an entry!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:48am

The dialogues are funny and it is interesting to have mini games as the game play. Would be better with more polish and more cohesive arts. Also I got stuck after the first round of mini games, are there any more I didn't discover?

cubicme says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:05pm

thanks everyone :) these comments are one of the best things in ludum dare.
I was initially not very ok with using Paper Please theme, but it was a last minute choice, either that or no music, and it was such a great fit for the mood of the office scene. I asked a few dev friends and since we weren't being judged in audio, we just went with it, hope it doesn't cause any problem.
we talked about mixing pixel art with smooth character and animations and decided why not :) I just wish we had more time to add some nice particles, blood and sfx to "kill bill" (design) minigame.

cubicme says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:08pm

jackyjjc: that was the idea, we were creating a game through the mini games, and then.. you were already playing the game we developed. we finished on a loop.
to be honest initially we had another game that would gradually be completed through these minigames and mechanics would be added to it. but we didn't get to finish that one. so we finished it like this.

cubicme says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11pm

kmakai: not at all, actually we talk about using "E", "Enter" and "Up" for interactions but i totally forgot to put it in place. although we wanted some player to struggle a little to solve animations minigame so we didn't include help for controls.

holgk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Love the Kill Bill reference.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:45pm

+1 fort soundtrack +1 for kill bill minigame :D This was fun to play. Nice gag.... It was a little to much text skipping for my taste... but this is okay for me...

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Great game guys, different, in a good way. well done!^^

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Very interesting idea, would be cool to see this more fleshed out, game dev sims are really fun

Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:39am

[Lazarus-omin from Creative Sectors]:
Cool lil' project, which accurately describes some of the elements of the LD game making process. :)

I had no problems with graphics, and I liked the mini-games too. Best aspect was the humor though, at least for me.

Congrats' on the game, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]