Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Beardgrow

by esayitch - Compo Entry

Danny asked Dora to go to junior high Prom with him. Dora wants to go with a man, not a boy, and Danny has a squeaky voice and no facial hair. Help him grow a beard by doing manly things: Looking at "swimsuit magazines", drinking booze, and ingesting growth hormones.

Since Danny is in a rush, he doesn't stop running.

Will you take Dora to Prom?

---

Features:

- 5 different endings.

- 12 beards.

- (Junior) Highscool comedy.

- 2-Button Controls.

- Detailed instructions in-game.

- Striking social commentary and analysis, the likes of which can otherwise only be found in university theses.

---

Controls:

Danny is always running.

C - Change direction.

UP Arrow - Jump.

---

Made with:

HaxeFlixel.

FlashDevelop.

paint.net

sfxr

autotracker.py

16-color palette by Arne @androidarts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#11Humor4.06
#109Theme4.17
#149Overall3.71
#176Graphics3.78
#208Audio3.26
#228Mood3.36
#260Fun3.46
#407Innovation3.26

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

So many bullies! So little time!

Beautiful game, I LOVED the art! Controls were rather difficult, but the rest of the game made up for it. VERY well done!

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37am

Such beard, so testosterone.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38am

This is great! I wasn't very good at avoiding those bullies though. Awesome presentation.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43am

really nice gameplay, really fun and hard at the same time!

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15am

Nice beard and good gameplay!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

hilarious good job

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

all of this in two days is crazy, awesome job duder

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

Sweet game. Interesting mechanics with the different items and characters. Good Job, really enjoyed that :D

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44am

Really good use of the theme but man is it frustrating to control. Also you seem to be guaranteed to get stopped by the bullies on the bottom because you have no room to maneuver for the items on the far left and right. I think it'd make it a little more playable if you went off one side of the screen and came back on the other. I wish I could see the endings but I can't get anything better than stubble.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48am

The story!! Its so awesomeeeee!! hahahah...great narration...sound...art!! Nice game! :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

Just like real life!
Really fun game, I really enjoyed it.
Could be a tad more difficult, though.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

Great game! Solid gameplay, clean graphics, and cute and fun story. Awesome.

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51am

Amazing... poor Danny was scarred forever by not being able to grow a beard. I'm 27 and no amount of mags has made me grow one :(.

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53am

Really exceptionally polished. Social commentary game on fleek, writing and sound is great. I did find the controls a little difficult, and having the cheerleader, with her huge penalty, so near the room made things unpleasant for me.

In terms of attention to detail and polish I don't know what more you could want from a LD game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:17am

Very nicely put together game. Quite frustrating to control, though.

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37am

awesome !! it's very cute and funny ! I like the mood and the old school feeling, the controls are smooth and it's fun. congrats.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

Haha, great game. Really good use of the LD34 themes too, growing a beard and moving with only two controls.

Brutally difficult for me though, I only finished with a stubble! :D

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Fun game. Made me smile.

lekochen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02pm

This is so cute! Beards FTW!

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Lot's of features! Quite frustrating though. Cheers!

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I think you've generated the best Autotracker song in existence.

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Awesome game, yet difficulty is too hard, in my honest opinion. It's pretty impossible to avoid bullies in narrow passages, and they're everywhere! There's no place to rest =(

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Really funny, good dialogues and artstyle!
We sort of had the same idea, but yours is way more fleshed out :)

The only negative I could think of is that the beating up animation lasts way too long, if it was 50% shorter it would be nice.

Good job!!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

I read the instructions and thought this'd be a cakewalk. Wrong. Sooo hard. I got a goatee, at least. :(

I love single-screen arcade games so I automatically love this. Really funny and plays well too. Good job.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

Controls were tough, but it was a fun game despite it. Like the humor of it!

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46am

Hi guys!

@FuzzyWuzzie: Controls need a bit to get used to, but once you master them you can pull off sick MLG moves :) Thanks for the kind words!
@yumaikas: Yup ;)
@irwatts: Thanks! Yeah it takes a while to get a feel for the movement.
@Ghen: Cheers! That's what I was aiming for :)
@jerry111zhang: Danny thanks you for the compliment ;)
@rosden shadow: I'm happy you found it humorous, I was worried only I would laugh at it :D
@fishtrek: Still honing the craft, this kind of feedback keeps me going, thanks!
@RadMcCool: Thanks! Cheers.
@doitle: Legit points, but you can actually jump over the bully on the lowest platform, even when you are in a corridor. It's difficult at first because Danny is slow, but the longer his beard, the faster he becomes, so you can definitely do it!
@mukult: Glad you liked it :D
@GenusNymphicus: Thanks for the kind words! It's rare to find someone that thinks my game could be more difficult ;) makes me happy!
@paraxite: Thanks, glad you liked it!
@madcoil: Hah, yeah, things life rarely work the way ninth graders imagine them to :)
@prymidion: Damn Kylie ;) I've learned to avoid her at all costs, even at the cost of falling down to a lower platform and getting rekt by a bully instead :P
@SomeKindOfOctopus: Yup, takes some getting used to, I agree!
@anael: Cheers!
@DivineOmega: Stubble isn't the worst, but it doesn't let you take Dora to prom ;)
@SecularBaron: Good to hear that!
@lekochen: Beards are pretty hardcore, I agree :P
@laFunk: Yeah, game can be frustrating at the beginning. Needs some getting used to :(
@danbolt: Well, you know what they say about a thousand monkeys on a thousand typewriters... I guess 1 monkey writing autotracker for an hour and going through the results is pretty similar, no :P?
@Firellon: Bullies can be tough, but there's only 1 that you have to avoid in the narrow passages below :P Even so, with some timing you can even leap over him inside the corridor! It needs some practice, not immediate by any measure :)
@Drtizzle: Thanks for the kind words, glad you liked the humor/story :D about the beating up, it's actually the "mildest" setback at only 3 second delay. The cheerleader shrinks your beard and Danny's mom and dad confiscate his contraband, so they are way more dangerous... which is why they are placed in positions where you are less likely to hit them if you're careful ^^
@fluidvolt: Thanks for your kind words! Yup, game isn't easy, I only managed to get the best ending once so far myself, haha xD
@jdoughty: Cheers!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Very nice game. Well done !

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57pm

didn't know which one was me at start.. they all look similar
nice game.. had fun

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Nice idea, but the controls are a little tricky ^^

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I like the theme about beards. The game plays quite nice. The text sound does get a bit annoying.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I thought the game was hilarious.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Really well done, I loved this as it was funny and had a good goal. I think the only criticism would be that when you get blocked in at the bottom, there's really no escaping the enemies as you can't jump or anything to get away. The movement of the enemies feels a little unpredictable as well, for instance when they stop moving mid-jump and you land on them. This is one of the more original Ludum Dare entries my partner and I have seen! All in all it's definitely well made. Good job and good luck

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Fun little game. I actually like the controls even though they are a little bit awkward. My main complaint is that the bully movement is too random, so it's hard to predict. And it's very hard to evade the bullies at the bottom.
Also it was a bit too hard. I wasn't able to woo Dora. But who wants to date that Dora character anyway? She doesn't even have a beard!

barret907k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

Rather Difficult but fun

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Rather difficult, but otherwise quite a nice game! Really hard to get all the endings, though.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:06pm

LOL that ending. This game was flawless! I did find it really challenging because of the two-button controls but that is what made it fun. All of the cutscenes and menu/text animations are what made it seem so polished. Thanks for letting the player speed up the text, I think that's a really good call. Great art, great sound, great game!

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Haha funny story / objective! I am terribly coordinated and sucked hard at this game, but I had a lot of fun with it!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:21pm

i feel bad because of the bully x.x
but fun game!

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:32am

This was a fun game, and slightly harder than I was expecting! I love how his stubble starts growing the more manly items you collect! Really nice game.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:07am

Very frustrating game!!!!

Good entry still, I'm super angry, but I'll still rate 5.

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:53pm

You know what? From a lumberjack to another: Danny, you deserve better.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:42am

Funny concept. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/7EMaRu1rC0U

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:23am

Cute game! I loved the story and the premise, and although I never quite got the hang of the controls, it was still pretty fun! Great work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:43am

Enjoyed the humor and the ending. If that is what you need to do to be a man, I've been doing it wrong this whole time...

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:56am

Stinkin' hard, but otherwise awesome: great story, art, music, and brilliant concept.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Hello fellow beard game maker! I loved your game. Simple but great graphics. Liked the back story. Good use of humur, true to both themes and clever use of limited controls. Nostalgic game play and quite innovative that you take the items back to your room to progress also found it quite addictive. Cheers!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Very nice game. I love the artwork very much. I mlove beards ;D +1 for that .... Good job man.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:04am

What a cute little game! It controlled very well. The sound effects were really great. I like that there were multiple endings! Nice job. :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:46am

Controls took some getting used to, but overall a very fun game.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Good catch on the theme. Interesting story! A little bit hard to get used to the controls!

drludos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice game, I love the graphics, audio, and general idea!

However, I find it very hard and frustrating to play due to its control: you're almost guaranted to hit one or several bullies. They move way too fast on their platform to allow to make some kind of "planning" for the best time to jump, and as you continuesly move, it tends to get annoying to get hit so often. Maybe reducing the walking speed of the bullies would make it easier for newbie players like me :)

Anyway, a good entry overall!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Two themes into one game and funny as fuck! Crazy shit boys do for girls. Loved it.

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Solid entry. Frustrating at times but thoroughly enjoyed myself!

Acuity says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Wahahah this was funny.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Fantastic job on pretty much everything!!
Although I found controlling the player kinda frustrating, I thought it was extremely well put together and quite fun. :D

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:33pm

This was great. Great use of both themes. Funny and amusing. Controls were solid.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]