Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

THOSE GOD DAMN SHEEP!!!

by jellycubestudio - Compo Entry

UNFORTUNATELY THE GAME WORKS ONLY ON CHROME :(

Ludum Dare #34
made under 48 hours by jellycube

Rules are simple:
1. White sheep eat flowers
2. Planting flowers gives you money
3. Bullets cost you money
4. Black sheep chase you and deal damage
5. Shoot THOSE GOD DAMN SHEEP!

LMB - shoot, RMB - plant flower
W,A,S,D - run

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#118Humor3.38
#234Fun3.50
#331Audio2.97
#334Graphics3.37
#412Overall3.32
#416Mood3.05
#571Innovation3.00
#860Theme3.05

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Demon sheep are terrifying!

I ran out of money and got gobbled :(

Fun game, though my white sheep only ever seemed to get in the way of my bullets :(

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07am

Sighs, I couldn't get it to start.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

haha cute! felt like I was just running in circles though.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Very smooth! I like how accurate the shooting works, it really feels right.

Some music would have been nice, but the sound effects are perfect!

Well done!

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:11pm

I liked the animations and shaking, plus it runs in web! Awesome!

I don't think I ever succeeded at planting a flower, to be honest. The white sheep almost always gobbled them up, and the black sheep kept me busy!

Shooting felt great though. It had awesome feedback and made me have that badass gun feeling the right shooters give you.

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Very cute art style! I like it so much!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:26pm

love the art style, but somehow i feel like its quite impossible to progress further
the white sheep speed not fast, but the area feel so small theres almost no room for planting flowers
the gun shooting feels so good an accurate, really nice job overall! :)

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Neat concept, but waaaaay too hard. Could have used some background music as well, some country music tune or something :P

Cute artstyle!

GOod luck!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33pm

The first few times I played I just ran around the outside and couldn’t get any flowers to grow, it wasn’t until I started staying in the corner and spammed the gun I got a good score. I wonder how you recorded the sound of the gun and the sheep?

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Really like the artistic style, and those sound effects are hilarious. Needs background music though. Also, like others have said, the white sheep move WAY too fast. Also, losing puts me in an infinite loop of dialog boxes coming up in Chrome.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Fun game, nice work. How did you make the gun sound? It's really juicy.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Impossible to play, but way too hard for me. Loved the graphics and controls, and the sounds are cool too, although they do get a bit repetitive after a while.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Nice the walking animation and graphiscs.
Good idee with the sheep and all. But I think the game was a little bit to hard. I didn't even get to plant a single flower and killed dozens of innocint sheeps D,:

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

The game controls smoothly and the graphics are clean and simple. There were too many sheep being thrown at me though so I never got very far into the game.

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Love the way you have to choose the sheep to shot depending on the moment.

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Wow, this is amazing. A really hard game tough (it's possible I am crap at it aswell). Fun idea, very well done! Only I've not seen one of the Themes in it >w<

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11pm

This was absolutely hilarious. Killing these sheep was as satisfying as it could ever get, the bit bigger hitboxes helped with that. It is very addictive, I just want to keep playing again and again.

The graphics and audio were great. Clever concept and executed perfectly. I would absolutely LOVE to see a post-LD release with upgrades, powerups and similar.

Also, I got 97 seconds, is that good?

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41am

This is cool. But the graphics could improve.

hiki911 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

nice game, but not so innovative

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:34am

Sweet! You could add some explosions for dying black sheep and some more screenshakes for shooting. I love the sheep animations overal art direction. :D

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Fun simple game!! Could be fleshed out with levels or goals or something!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]