Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Xmas Tree

by Webravenz - Jam Entry

Hi !
Here you can find our entry for this Ludum dare 34. We hope that's gonna fill you with joy and happiness.
It's not really a game, cause all our games ideas was'nt so convictive. So, we create something we like and happy to share with you.
The goal is to grow up the christmas tree as high as possible thanks to the letter you write for Santa Claus. Feel free to share you letter and write again and again!
We know you have all been kind during this year so don't hesitate to send a letter to Santa, you might be surprised by him.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#226Innovation(Jam)3.54
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#367Humor(Jam)2.90
#435Graphics(Jam)3.61
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#696Fun(Jam)2.93
#726Theme(Jam)3.43

Comments

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Cool Game.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

I *love* the use of the growing theme. The music fits nicely, the graphics feel polished! Very nice job.

-dib

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I can't post because I can't write my name ><

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Very original use of the theme. It looks polished. I could see this becoming some sort of facebook hit if you could use it between a group of friends or something of the like.

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:07pm

@Nizar89 ho sorry ... what browser do you use please ?

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Nice idea and use of the theme. However I couldn't write my name.
Anyway, good job.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Beautiful tree for Christmas, I liked it, though, and did not understand what is the gameplay.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:14pm

neat idea

Kepab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Lovely bit of Christmas spirit!

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:00am

This is so nice of you! Very cute idea :) It really made me smile.
The gfx look very nice and the music gives a very christmassy feel. The line-smoothing-mechanics are great! Some more options, like an eraser and coloring, would have been nice ;)
I'm surprised, that there is only one controversal drawing on the tree... I would have expected lots of dick-drawings. Its quite risky to let people draw anonymously on the web ;)
Whatsoever... Thank you very much for this heartwarming entry and the smile it gave me :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15am

Not a game, but hell, it fills me with holiday cheer. Merry Christmas!

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Cool! Merry Christmas!!!

Galan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Very cheery! I wish you could undo/clear your note, since I was using a touchpad and failing miserably at writing, but that's a minor quibble.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Very merry :)

Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Can't write my name on the Web Player! :'(

dlowe says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Aww, cute :)

Afendar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Very interesting and it is also very warm to bring together all those interested in this large Christmas tree ! This is awesome work ! great

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:00am

Thank you for turning my ugly handwriting in beautiful calligraphy !

jackrugile says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:46pm

This submission was super refreshing to me. I know you guys don't actually consider it a game, but I think it definitely falls in that category. I love the permanence of the drawings, whether people put positive or negative things on their cards. It fits the growing theme perfectly! Nice job.

PS - I created an online HTML5 Etch A Sketch a while back that lets you save and share your creations. And yes, give anyone the power to draw on the web, and there will be dicks. Many dicks :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]