Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sanctuary Station

by Joror - Jam Entry

You are Sanctuary Station.

As a benevolent AI you travel the subspace folds, listening for emergency broadcasts.

Where needed, you jump in and assist; and your station grows ever larger...

--------------------------------

Controls:

View
*Zoom view* Scoll wheel to zoom in or out
*Move view* Drag with right mouse button, or use WASD keys

Actions
*Move pod* Drag with left mouse button from pod room to to desired location.
*Summon pod* Click with left mouse button on the central hub. (blue diamond) Use this to speed up your game if you are ready for more pods.
*Close/open airlock* Click with left mouse button on an airlock. (only usable on connected airlocks - and at the moment purely cosmetic)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#18Innovation(Jam)4.18
#51Overall(Jam)4.01
#77Mood(Jam)3.95
#111Fun(Jam)3.74
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#284Audio(Jam)3.43
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#367Humor(Jam)2.90

Comments

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

As someone that misses base building RTS this is pretty sweet. Run well, the only thing I would say is that after the first big was in the second level I found it slowed down a little too much. Other then that I love it.

Jod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30am

Awesome! Are you adding a web link? :)

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Great concept, too bad it's so short. I'd love to play an extended version of this.

Joror says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41pm

@Jod unfortunately my WebGL build is very slow for some reason... trying to fix that. Meanwhile there is a Win/Mac native, or you can try the WebPlayer in firefox.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:55pm

I like the idea very much. Games like this are not common, 5/5 innovation! The weakest point would be the time it takes to get a room to move around another... if it hits something it loses all of it's force. Overall great game though.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:35am

Pro:
+ Very interesting concept
+ Very innovative
+ Cool graphics and sound
Con:
- Pods moved a bit slow
Obs:
o I didn't understand what the summon pod and close and open airlock really do

Awesome job!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:44am

Really nice idea.

The pod movement was a bit slow, and the lack of real pathing on them made things a bit frustrating.

I enjoyed this game a lot - if the movement & pacing were tightened up a bit, there's the makings of a really innovate RTS here.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Did the tutorial and couldn't figure out how this was going to be fun.
But then played the first actual level with the timers, boy was that stressful and fun! Good job!

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Great challenging game. Sadly I lost many because too many pods spawned at the same time. Would have been better to leave option to open/close airlocks out of the game, because it's not needed.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Interesting game idea. Gameplay reminds tetris =) Can't fugure out what I should actually do, but game is very fun! Good work!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Wow! Spectacular game, please make a standalone version that can be played for more time! Really love the idea!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:59pm

One of the best game I've discovered in this ludum dare :)
It only needs a little tutorial but the player figures out pretty quick how to play ;)

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Good job :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Great idea, great execution! Relaxing base building game that's a pleasure to play, good job!

mr. a says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Definitely feels like it wants to grow / be developed further, but this is a great little prototype! FTL (or Space Colony) + Tetris is a fun concept, and the drag/snap controls work well.

Minor complaint: I wish the arrow keys doubled for WASD for moving the view around.

All in all, nice work!

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Awesome concept and very innovative. A bit dificult to understand how to play. Great work!

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:23pm

As other people have commented, this is a REALLY cool idea, and quite a bit of fun! It feel polished in graphics and interface (I especially liked the little indicator/gizmo for showing which chunk is going to which space). However, there are a few nitpicks:

-The pods had way too much momentum, and I found myself getting frustrated when a pod just wouldn't do what I wanted it to in time and died as a result.

-Similarly, I think basic pathing would do wonders for this game. Having to navigate pods manually around corners, in combination with their slow acceleration, was extremely annoying.

-Audio could have been better used to cue when pods were close to death. The "new pod" sound could have been more noticeable.

-Some more visual cues about when a pod is connected and how close a pod is to death would have been cool. Think something like the redness in FTL to indicate no oxygen.

These are fairly minor things, though (besides the momentum/acceleration issue), and overall this game is just fantastic. Great work creating something truly fun and interesting.

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I loved this. I loved the inertia to the pods, I liked the little people jostling around, and the tension of the timer as it ticked down just a few metres from docking. Great work!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Nice game! Found it a bit too hard when loads of stuff spawned at the same time, but the concept is really neat. Music and visual system create a great atmosphere.

Rialgar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I. loved. it.

Everything was perfectly fit together, just like a nice working rescue. Premise, Controls, Visuals (I liked how the little people dots bounced around), difficulty. I only wish the second level would have ended with no more pods appearing and a proper ending instead of a dialog that forces me to quit the level. There was one with only 30 seconds of life support left!

Further awesomeness improvement ideas if you ever make this into a full game:
* Undocking if all doors are closed, so I can rebuild in case I accidentally covered all ports in one direction and can't find a pod that provides them.
* The stopping was weird. When I said "move there" while they still moved, they slowly changed direction. When they reached a destination, they just stopped even in mid space. This was very annoying when I needed to move a pod to the other side of the station quickly. I think the more unrealistic version of "stop when direction changes" would make the best game here. Alternatively increase acceleration and add proper breaking to normal stops.

xaedes says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:04am

Growing Theme nicely fit. Tetris as space station builder. How awesome is this!? 5 Stars, really wanted to play more of this. It felt very polished, only needed more levels.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Very interesting game play. I would prefer to be able to see a bit further. I had to scroll around so much it made me loose overview, also I got slight motion sickness.

lawendt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Please, continue this work, I really loved the gameplay. I really hope to see this game better developed in the future. Keep up with the awesome work!

Drury says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Short but (bitter)sweet. Super annoying when you get a 15 second timer and the thing doesn't align properly for whatever reason.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:57pm

This was very unique. Great Job! I do wish I could rotate the pods a bit. (Also one of the export options includes "no context menu" so when you right-click the menu doesn't show up. At least it used to have it.

Kep says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Fantastic work! I really felt compelled to save these little squared from suffocation.
It has potential for expansion, perhaps with pods that have various functional benefits.
Thanks for the game!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Gorgeous! This has to be one of the most inventive games I've played this Dare, and slapping base sections together is just so much fun!

I see a few people commenting that they'd want the pods to move faster, but personally I really enjoyed the feeling of ordering them to build up momentum while I went to handle something else. I would like to see pods snap a bit easier when you push them together, but otherwise I really enjoyed it!

The only letdown for me was the music, which is a bit harsh around the edges, and a little short. Thankfully, you remembered to include a mute button, so I didn't have to let that bother me.

sputnik says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Good work here! Nice concept but a bit short.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Interesting take of the theme, and nice graphics. Well done !

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:16am

Good game! A bit slow but fun ;)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:20am

wow this was like playing tetris in space - fantastic idea

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:36am

This was fantastic. I like how the first level was giving you the basics and teaching you what to do and that second level realllyyy amped things up. Very good job. I wish there were more levels!

rijnswand says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:43pm

The game looks interesting, but I couldn't play it using the linux version, only get a blue screen and some music.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:07am

I like the concept a lot and could definitely see this on a mobile device but the slow space physics kind of makes some of the levels impossible to pass.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:30am

5/5 for innovation. I wanted to know the story of those tiny beings. I think you will do good on the innovation rank :D

scorched says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Nice tetris-like game, though I didn't understand what to do until I looked carefully at the screenshot :-)

Jace239 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/01/02/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-5/

BloodJohn says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:50am

Never seen anything like it. Emotion points - very funny.

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Was very confused at first, but after frantically clicking everything I finally saw what I had to do.
Thank you for putting in that mute music button, that was highly appreciated.
I like the gameplay about connecting the pods to grow a space-ship, but moving them around was very tiresome.
It was annoying that the pods move so slow and I can't set waypoints to navigate them around the ship or around each other, and I always tried to move the camera with the arrow keys.

blubberquark says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Linux version is broken, and Wine .exe does not show text i think. Don't know but feel there should be text there. -bob

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:50am

Very nice and invoative game design! I also love the visuals.
The pods move too slowly, though (too much momentum), and there could be more variety.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]