Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stavros the DAVROS

by DustyStylus - Compo Entry

Stavros is late for a fancy dress party, and has just managed to squeeze his ample gait into his fancy dress costume (apparently related to some British sci-fi... no idea what!) and his ride is early! Get Stavros to the green door without knocking him out of his costume.

!!! HINTS !!! :-
If you're finding the starting stairs problematic (as these aliens used to pre-90s), then be brave and just launch off them and change direction in mid-air before landing.

INSTRUCTIONS :-
KEYS: X and Z.
X - Flip chair movement horizontal.
Z - Flip chair movement vertical.

IMPORTANT :-
If possible, use the Unity3D version in Firefox or other. I've prepared a WebGL export as well, but the shadowing is a bit funky. Alternatively, standalone versions are available.

SOURCE:-
I've added the C# scripts only as I'm on a 3G connection at the moment. When I get WiFi access I'll put the project and resources up as well.

Coding: Unity3D, C#
Graphics: Blender3D, Pixelmator
Music: Cubase, Reaper, Synapse Audio plugins Hydra and DUNE 2
FX: Reaper, Ohm Force QuadFrohmage (ring modulator) + crappy mic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#62Humor3.71
#208Audio3.26
#281Graphics3.49
#405Mood3.06
#424Fun3.23
#571Innovation3.00
#642Theme3.54
#760Overall2.91

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20am

Looks cute! I couldn't press any key to restart though :(

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

Pretty cute! Had trouble really figuring out what the controls were and yet after playing for a while was still able to get pretty far.

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25am

I would have liked to see instructions in game. but overall nice work.

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

nerf stairs

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

Yeah, all that art work, for me only to be "ruined" by trying to jam it into the 2 keys bit. The controls were *very* strange.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

For the stairs, you need to be brave! Launch off them and then change direction mid-air. :)

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Hi, i liked this game the controls were tricky but i soon got into it, the jump down stairs was fun tried that many times and happy once i got it :)

overally nice game and will play more later :)

SamH says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Okay, it’s funny and the art is well done, but the controls really ruin it. Even after 5 minutes I still feel like I’m hitting the keys at random and hope something good happens. It may be part of the experience but it’s frustrating.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Did anyone manage to get down the stairs (and not die) ? Weird game...

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

jacobturn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

i like it!

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Ha, a Davros costume is pretty ambitious, nice work there Stavros.

This game is nuts. Nice soundtrack and totally whacky controls were fun to experiment with. I made it down the stairs but wow it wasn't easy.

One small note, it says press any key to retry but I think only spacebar worked for me.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Real funny! :D the controls were hard though, 2 buttons don't work very well with this, but I guess the hard controls was one of the main point, like QWOP. :)

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Made it to the door, don't really know how ^^'

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Really cool concept, but I couldn't figure out how to control him. It's too bad because the rest of the graphics and audio and such were excellent.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Pretty funny game! Actually managed to get the hang of it and escape. Love the whooshing sound effects!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Argh, sorry guys, you're right!
"Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Space)" should be:- "Input.anyKeyDown"

I think this fix is acceptable in the Rules, so I'll upload new versions with that fixed.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

In the start room, try pressing Z a few times. He should flip from going UP to DOWN (isometrically) each time. Pressing X flips him from LEFT to RIGHT (isometrically).

It's meant to be a bit confusing, but I didn't intend it to annoy people as much as it did. Looks like Stavros isn't the only one with major butthurt. Eh, ToaPhoenix?

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Sorry, apologies to ToaPhoenix.

The controls DO suck, and I'm to blame for that. Not TaoPhoenix's fault for making perfectly valid criticism. Sorry.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Post-Compo Changes:
- fixed anyKey by changing prompt to space (and esc for menu)
- found Physics code that should be in FixedUpdate() instead of Update() - some of you may have had crazy Physics going on dependant on your computer speed!!

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Looks good, but really hard to control...

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44pm

ahAHAaah, don't listem to them, the controls are great! They add to overall hilarity! No wonder daleks are so frustrated all the time.
I menaged to finish it, not sure how, but I had a great time, thank you. :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I had no idea what the difference was between Z and X haha. But I made it to the door without popping!

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08am

HAHAHA
This game really made me laugh!
How the character shake inside this "thing";
Funny game!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03am

I'm enjoying the party. Stavros is an animal!

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Getting down the stairs seems too much of a learning curve. It's SO hard. Even with the hint.

The guy looks really silly, in a good way. The sounds are hilarious, too!

+1 for Doctor Who reference.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Hahaha cool funny game :) i loved to make him fall, nice fun comining weird controls + fun physics.
A bit easy once you get it but that was nice !

OwT says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I did it! I got to the door without dying!
But again... I'm not quite sure why would anyone want to go to any party in such a silly, impractical costume.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:32am

somehow physics based games with clunky controls are allways fun

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]