Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

RITUAL

by ElliotFiske - Jam Entry

--> Be sure to go fullscreen! <--

THE FOREST PROTECTS

THE FOREST PROVIDES

FOLLOW THE PATH, CHILD.


Short narrative game about tending a mysterious forest.

Music by https://soundcloud.com/maxxorz12

Adventurer Font by Brian J Smith, available here:
http://www.pentacom.jp/pentacom/bitfontmaker2/gallery/?id=195

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#6Mood(Jam)4.46
#59Audio(Jam)4.04
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#514Innovation(Jam)3.14
#520Graphics(Jam)3.45
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#966Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50am

Error 404 when I use Unity Web and Firefox

Bogden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33am

Awesome atmosphere! Pretty chilling

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49am

Really great atmosphere, a really simple but effective way of storytelling. I love the simple graphical style, and the music was chilling. This game is amazingly well presented. My only problem with it would be that the gameplay is a bit lacking. I did a second playthrough and deliberately tried to fail, but could only be killed by the bandit. Don't get me wrong, it's scary to go off the path, but if something happened on the second night or something if you broke the rules, it would make the game so much more effective. Or be able to break the rules and explore. Overall, a really good interactive story, less good game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49am

Great build and atmosphere at the end! I was like "Ha! I know the secret path!" :-P

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26am

The art style and shaders look really nice. The music is also really good. The two of these combined create a great atmosphere

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46am

Okay that was damn lovely.
My only gripe is that it was too short :D
You can certainly expand on it and do more with it, make the Red Green Blue forest thing a little more complex.
Very solid foundation, very good atmosphere!

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25am

Great storytelling, nice visual effects that created atmosphere, and just overall very interesting. I liked it!

Strike says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Great atmosphere

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:03pm

As Bumblepie pointed out earlier, nothing happens if the player breaks the rules. The story is always the same no matter what the player does. What's the point of interactivity if every action yields the same result?

Some suggestions:

- If the player breaks the rules on the first day, the parents should scold and warn the kid of the dire consequences of misbehavior.

- If the player breaks the rules on the second and third day as well, the forest should not protect the kid from the bandits.

- Also there really is no need show the three rules on the screen at all. It's not difficult to remember them. In fact it would be more interesting if the rules were complicated and harder to remember causing reckless players to err accidentally.

wehard says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:28am

Awesome atmosphere! I like the graphical style. Good story, bro!

FireSlash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:08am

The art is simple, but managed to provide a really great atmosphere.

It was certainly an interesting experience, though the flowers were a bit unclear (Was I even doing it right?). I guess I was since I cleared the game, though every time I felt a bit of apprehension when I pressed the bell, thinking I might have done it wrong.

On second thought that might have been the point. Either way, good job!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Graphics and audio combined give a great mood!

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Wow. This was pretty scary actually. You've managed to create a really good mood here.
The story is short, but I found it thought provoking and interesting. A very unique gameplay experience.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Was nice to play, but a bit too short

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:58pm

great atmosphere. would love to see more of the story.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Awesome story!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]