Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Up

by blurryroots - Jam Entry

Not really a game. Just some thoughts on life.

Progress - Left mouse button, A button
Thoughts - Right mouse button, B button

To finish one 'section' just walk all the way to the right until you hit the checkpoint. When you reach the credits, press the left mouse button or the A button on your controller to exit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#68Mood(Jam)4.03
#186Theme(Jam)4.06
#275Graphics(Jam)3.88
#392Audio(Jam)3.24
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#805Innovation(Jam)2.69
#1054Fun(Jam)2.19

Comments

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

I'm sorry, but I didn't find a .exe or any sort of application inside of the .zip folder, and wasn't able to play your game. You might want to check on that.

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

@WolkingW Thanks for the tip. I've apperantly uploaded just the readme without the game :O I reuploaded the zip ;)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

The game's concept is cool. Hm, cool isn't the word. What I want to say is that is a great idea. I loved it. I think the gameplay can be a little more, hem, interactive ? The art is really cool, I like your low poly. And the music is fine too. Good job !

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

nice lil short sad story that is life ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46pm

While it's not really a game game, it does present the idea of life in a quite interesting manner. Makes you think about it. It's like a mini-animation with two buttons, heh. Thumbs-up for that and it delivers on what it wants to be, but no so much on the actual game part :)

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Cheer up... life aint all that bad!

Loved the art style, which is unusal with me and blocky graphics. But still. It worked!

Would have loved to have seen a bit more "game" in a "game" jam entry but cant have everything eh?.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

The game is really gorgeous, looks almost like a claymation. The lightning is especially lovely. The mood is also quite intense and pensive.

linseyray says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Really loved it! Nice contemplation on life, had some goosebumps in the two last levels. It's all too true for many of us, which makes it quite sad. The graphics are lovely, very nice style. I do feel the audio could have done more to add to the mood, in the later levels it felt a bit too energetic. Great job!

holgk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Nice entry but a bit more gameplay (something more to do) would be nice. Your graphics are really really cool.

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice job!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Interesting concept! However, I found it to be too fast paced for the effect to really hit home for me.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18pm

I can't say it was very intersactive, but I like it anyway. Charm story, a very good move on the theme. Music is also pretty good. Some people wouldn't like it as a game probaably, but I like it a lot as an interactive experience! Good job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Pretty sad story. i really liked the art, yet the gameplay felt lacking.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Small little expirience. Tilt-shifted graphics looks really good.

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Sometimes it's nice to be reminded of the past and what comes next ... this could be further worked on ! :) Thank you for the experience!

rijnswand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Interesting! The graphics look really cool and the music goes great with the game.

Reminds me a bit to The Graveyard.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00am

Yes. This is great. One button moves and the other thinks. Heartbreaking by the end. Wow. Excellent job.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Almost made me cry

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Not a game, as you say, but it was nice to walk through this. Makes you think.

PuddleOfWater says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Great mood and graphics! =P
I think when the lighting was from the avatar's back, I felt the avatar was powerful. but when the light was on its head or face, I felt the avatar was being acted upon. Like as if 'Now, the future is grabbing you.' and not the other way around.
Also I really liked Sandbox - Creativity and Slide - Excitement. That made "Life lessons" comedic. :p

Allthebees says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:14am

I love the artstyle. Those low-poly trees were beautiful and all the details are a nice touch. Great thought-provoking concept, made me think.

PeteDS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Man you really captured the mood, I felt like I was watching the opening ten minutes of Up aha! Pretty good social commentary.

srakowski says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:11am

I almost teared up a bit walking through this. Despite not being a real 'game' you've built something special here. Well done :)

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Really interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]