Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fun with magnets!

by Ithildin - Compo Entry

I only used "Two button controls" as a theme.

Your goal is to lead as many balls as possible into the "deposit" area by using a magnet. You can control the polarity and activate/deactivate the magnet's movement along the bar it's attached to.

Beware of obstacles and specially wheels, that can destroy balls (however, there's only one at the last level and you may beat it if you only lose one of them, so this warning will better apply to a hypothetical post-compo version).

The web link should be playable on mobile devices. At least I've tested it on a Nexus 5 using Chrome.

================================================
>>>>>> Controls <<<<<<
================================================

IMPORTANT!! While it's possible to combine keyboard and mouse (left hand for the keyboard, right for mouse or vice versa), I recommend to stick to keyboard controls to avoid confusion.

I would have liked to set an intermediate screen with control schemes so that the player could select one and disable every other input, but I ran out of time (surprise!).

------------------------------------------------
>>>> Keyboard <<<<
------------------------------------------------

Keyboard controls emulate interaction with the two buttons on the machine. Since I wanted to adhere strictly to the theme, I only used two keys, too. This is the reason why you can't switch directions (I tried it at first, and together with the polarity it was a nightmare)

* F: Press to activate the crane moving the magnet. You can't change direction (the machine is old!)

* J: Press to cycle between polarities (or disable the magnet).

U and H should also work (for Dvorak users), but it was never tested.

-----------------------------------------------
>>>> Mouse/Touch <<<<
-----------------------------------------------

With the mouse or a mobile device you can interact with the magnet controls in a more direct way.

* Press left button: Activate magnet motor. Release to stop it.

* Swipe up: Change polarity to the value below the current one (it's displayed in the middle of the wheel).

* Swipe down: Change polarity to the value above the current one.

================================================
>>>>>> Known issues <<<<<<
================================================
* The motor sound effect glitches occasionally.

* Occasionally the ball repel directions go a bit wild because of some bugs related to the angle thresholds when they get close to the magnet.

* Probably because of the previous issue, you may see the balls overlapping. Hopefully this is quite infrequent.

================================================
>>>>>> Tech <<<<<<
================================================
* Haxe + Flixel using FlashDevelop as the IDE.
* Photoshop
* LabChirp + Audacity + Bosca Ceoil
* Fonts: Flixel defaults, except for the main screen, which uses "Visitor" by Ænigma and "Press Start" by Codeman38.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#98Innovation3.86
#193Overall3.63
#195Audio3.30
#198Graphics3.69
#278Fun3.43
#282Theme3.96
#330Humor2.70
#359Mood3.14

Comments

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17am

This was surprisingly fun. Graphics are very well done, and audio (both music and sound) fit in well. Nice job!

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08am

Good game fits the theme nicely! sometimes when i hit "pos" the ball went straight for the left corner instead of straight up.

sp3ctrum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02am

Elegant concept with a very personal art style. Love the magnets mechanics and level progression is really smooth.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:57pm

The right dial is a bit tricky to yuse with the mouse but it is a solid concept and is well executed.
Maybe if the room was round, the balls wouln't have corners to get stuck in.

coywolf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very good style!

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Extremely fun!! Also art and audio are very nice. Definitely five star for me!

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Really fun. The controls are a bit confusing at first (I really wanted to use d or g to move the other way) but one you get the hang of it its really cool

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

This was really fun to play and also it was pretty easy to play.

okusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Two button controls for the magnets!! Amazing idea!!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Fun little puzzle game, but can be kinda annoying moving two magnets at once! Nice work!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Nice, really good game! Very polished and felt like a real complete game, with the menus and everything. It was fun to mess around with the magnets. :)

Connors says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

The game wasn't so much difficult for me as it was time-consuming, since if I fiddle enough I'll probably get the magnets deposited eventually.

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Sweet I enjoyed this one.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Fun interpretation of the theme. I liked it. :)

batiali says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

very nice implementation of the theme. I liked figuring out how the controls work. it was fun.

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16am

Great job with sound/music and visuals, it has a really distinct style that was fun to see. Nice use of the theme as well (and clever to make the movement change direction!). I would definitely play more levels of this, especially after hazards are introduced.

Zener says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very fun and polished game! Mechanic fits the theme perfectly and the visuals are great, I love the palette! I don't know why but I keep expecting the balls to rebound like in an arkanoid game :)

blackname says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Good game! But when it starts to be challenging the game ends XD
I would play this game with more levels.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Thank you all for your feedback! :D

@tuben999: Yeah, I'm afraid that's one of the glitches I noticed at the last minute, I'm currently thinking of fixing it. Maybe one option if I have the spirits to create more levels and elements is to revise that so that past a certain distance the charge just sticks to the front.

@Zener: Sometimes I too imagine the ball will bounce n_nU One of the ideas I had for other elements was a bumper (or even bouncy walls), but I'd probably need to be very careful about level design.

@blackname I'm actually thinking of a post-compo version with more levels (and some of the ideas that couldn't make it, such as switches, other magnetic fields and so on). Right now the only penalising prop is the wheel and it appears right at the end level, so it's a bit absurd.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36pm

You did a nice job overall

jasoncoan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Very fun and challenging.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Nice game!

MrYoglu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38am

not bad :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53am

The style is lovely and I like the idea of the gameplay. Personally I found it to be a little slow to ramp up, and the controls (not being able to go left and right when you want) were frustrating. It would have been really cool if pressing left/right would move the platform and pressing both buttons together would toggle the polarity.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57am

This game is really well polished. The gameplay is nice, the graphics and the audio fit the game really well. I really like the way you made the gameplay with the magnets so intuitive.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really fun game, I wanted to play more levels. Graphics were simple but really suited the game. A great entry.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:49pm

awesome! very innovative gameplay, the puzzles were great, well done :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:04am

Was a nice little challenge, however the puzzles mostly consisted of trying to use the mechanics instead of solving how to complete it. This ultimately ended up making it a little tedious :P The games mechanics and design however were very good :D

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:58am

Nice clean pixel art. Theme met well with the 2-buttons. Fun challenging puzzles that I felt very satisfied with after solving, and definitely see potential crazy puzzle designs with these mechanics. Audio was pretty nice. Nice, dialogue that kept me smiling as it went along. Overall really nice polished game.

miwuc says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Nice concept with lots of potential. I would love to see it go more into a puzzle direction, maybe by limiting the number of polarity switches you can do (right now you can solve any level with trial and error).
The presentation is very polished, congrats!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Very clean.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Impressive game, level design well done made me have a lot of fun and wanted more levels. Really like this entry, congrats!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:55pm

One chainsaw and I'm game over… Extensive game with good, simple mechanic exploited properly. Very nice. Good consistency and tone of visuals and audio.

scorched says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Nice concept! That motor sound is driving me nuts, and I'd prefer F and J moving and F+J switching as controls, but you can still fix it ;-)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Neat, though I wished there was more to it. Every level ended up being 'attract the magnet, then reverse the polarity when directly underneath the target, rinse and repeat'.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:47am

When I attracted a ball while listening to the contemplative music, I felt mesmerized. If you continue to develop this, when I pressed the button to move the magnet and swiped to change polarity, and then the ball flew farther to the side than I expected, I felt awkward.

Pusty says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:28am

Nice one! Had fun playing it

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Nice entry! The idea of interacting with magnets is interesting. I wish it is a bit more challenging since there is no loosing condition. Adding traps could be a solution (in the last level, I saw one, but when my magnet was destroyed by it, nothing happened). Appart from that, it is well made. Good job ! ;)

Finn Stokes says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:55am

Nice game, the idea of attraction/repulsion as a control scheme was really cool. You matched the theme well, but I feel like the game would be better with an easier control scheme (allowing for harder puzzles).

The game seemed more about electric charges (or magnetic monopoles) than real magnets! :P

torcado194 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:31am

interesting little game! the art style caught my interest and im glad i checked it out! i only wish it were a bit longer

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Wow! Very good game!!

jackrugile says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:07pm

I loved the concept for this one. The controls took a second to get used to, but you packed a lot into the two buttons. Nice work!

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Cool Game and original idea. Had some issues with changing the magnet status. Nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]