Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

S(p)eed

by Dayko - Jam Entry

Grow your way up to the surface!

Made by Dayko & Spotline
for Ludum Dare 34

---- Controls ----
Left & right arrows

Esc for pause

---- Note ----
If you find the level too hard (or too easy!), you can randomly generate a new one by restarting the game from the pause menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#15Theme(Jam)4.50
#19Overall(Jam)4.24
#20Fun(Jam)4.13
#35Mood(Jam)4.21
#48Audio(Jam)4.09
#77Graphics(Jam)4.37
#164Innovation(Jam)3.66
#666Humor(Jam)2.37

Comments

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

Fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00am

The stills look great and I'd love to give it a try but I don't have Windows. Think you can export it to other platforms?

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:04am

Nice entry. Gets challenging though, but great work.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06am

Very cool! The mechanics is simple but sooo efficient! The gamefeel is awesome: I love how the plant grows and divides itself. I also love the fact that you can still see your previous tries in the background. The audio is pretty good too! The only thing... I think it's too difficult! At least for me! And is it me or the level is looping?

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08am

Pretty cool design for the plant, well done !

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Very good Game. Its fun to play and stays challenging. Nice work

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Great! Loved the touch of adding previous tries to the background art.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Awesome Graphics! Awesome mechanics! Awesome Gameplay! Awesome Sound! Only Thing that I can think of improving is the difficulty, i felt like at some points it was a bit too hard! But I Really enjoyed this a lot! Keep up this awesome work people!

Ping78 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Incredible game! well done! I think that this would be a great game for phones and tablets. :)

Dege says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I LOVE IT. I LOVE IT. I LOVE IT. I LOVE IT. I LOVE IT.

Add a score and this will be perfect!

One of the best entry I have seen so far

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Good mood with the visuals and music. C64 style sound effects are nice too. Love the colour hue changes as the vines grow. Very nicely done!

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

really fun, love the mood, right amount of challenge, pretty good game, congrats.

Yazara says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Really fun game, the movement feels very smooth :)
And I like how the plants turn brown and stay from your previous runs.

dlowe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Excellent fun. And difficult!! Thanks for the game :D

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:57am

Really fun and engaging. Makes you hone your skills to succeed. My chief complaint is that every single second you split and your path gets altered ~30 degrees. This makes navigating a chore and a lot of unfair deaths in tight corners. Overall still a really solid game!

bob_fish says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:54am

very nice, could do with a score counter and a listed high score. The plant splitting off into multiple parts made the game much harder which I'm guessing was intentional and works really well. Graphics and Audio were very nice and fitted well. Great Work!

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Thanks everyone for your feedbacks !

@OneiricWorlds : The level is just a random succession of predetermined rooms, so if you're unlucky it can be 20 times the hardest room... sorry for that !
@Dining Philosopher : Done ! Mac & Linux builds are online on itch.io ... untested though

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:29pm

nice game!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:38pm

This game looks amazing, is fast paced, fun, and sets the right mood with its background music.
I especially liked that dead vines from previous runs remain in the background.

CPau says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Wow really good game feel and mood! The game is hard and fun; well done!

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

This is epic! Congratulations on the entry!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:05pm

similar to my entry, I really like the graphics and the overall mood, but the minimalistic active plant style doesnt quite fit to the 3d world around you. It is also very cool that your old plants stay in the background. Overall great job!

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Great game! From the screenshots I was expecting a “Flower” mood to it, but it’s actually a lot more fast-paced. The difficulty may be a bit unjust (but I see you already explained why in a comment above).

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Life finds a way. Well done

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Very good! The graphics are beautiful, the controls handle well, the music suits the mood perfectly, and the whole affair feels very polished. At first, I thought the plant multiplying into several stalks was going to make the game too easy (as it seems like, whenever you crash, there'll always be one surviving stalk), but I found that when the area of stalks you're concentrating on crashes, you have to quickly shift focus to another area of stalks, which makes for an interesting challenge.

The one thing that feels missing is a sense of progression. In other words, it seems like the game is supposed to be about seeing how far you can go, but there's little indication of how far the player has come, nor any particular reward for getting further and further (at least, as far as I got- I got a few checkpoints in before it got too difficult, generated a new level, and found the difficulty about the same). As such, my only motivation to keep going (aside from the general quality of the game) was the implication in the description on this page that there was eventually a surface to be reached (though I have no idea how close I ever got to it).

I see a couple of other people suggested including a score counter- that's one way to do it, though I think they're assuming the game is endless. Assuming I'm right that the game has an end point (reaching the surface), then a similar method of tracking the player's progress could be a slider that slowly moves up as the player gets closer to the surface. Either method would be an indicator of how well the player is doing that would motivate them to keep going. However, I think the game's lack of GUI elements is something worth holding on to (it really enhances the mood), and that you could achieve this effect a bit more subtly. Perhaps the cave should change appearance as you get closer to the surface- more sunlight gets through, moss starts to appear, that sort of thing. Maybe you could also take advantage of the parallax effect by putting large, distant objects in the background as landmarks for the player to slowly move past, such as more cave openings, underwater lakes, or even ancient underground temples and stuff.


Also, a far more minor note: the instructions should mention that Esc is the pause button- I had to do a little hunting for it (I tried Enter and Space first).

At any rate, I really enjoyed this. Good work!

Dayko says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:31pm

@Gjarble : Thanks a lot for this big feedback :) You're totally right about the lack of indications for progression, it doesn't encourage at all to reach the end and that's a shame. As there is a fixed number of checkpoints, we could modify the environment at each checkpoints, or add a decreasing counter of meters before the surface is reached, they are many ways indeed.
Anyway, thanks for your time, we'll definitely consider this aspect of things if we attempt a post compo version :)

refreshgames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Yay! This game is super cool! Good fun, nice graphics, lots of nice organic movements going on and it all just feels really nice to play, cool effects on the display of previous attempts to boot :P

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:11am

Very nice!

Some very minor nitpicks:
- Your camera algorithm causes the view to pinch in a bit whenever a split happens, which is a bit jarring when it happens so regularly.
- As you go on the speed increases, which I think is great, but you may want to also try zooming the view out as well, so that it's still all about tight timing of left & right, rather than being limited by reaction time to the upcoming obstacles (or worse, being forced to memorize).

Eh, yeah, there is no development or progression past the initial set of mechanics, but I won't fault you guys for that; this is LD after all =)

The background branches marking your previous paths were totally unnecessary but had a beautiful impact visually; props on that.

TheWzzard says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:59pm

this the best take on this idea that I've seen and with the most polish

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]