Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Eye of Osiris

by StoneMonkeyStudios - Jam Entry

We chose the theme 'Grow'.

The goal of the game is to kill the Eye of Osiris before it gets too big for you to handle and destroys the world.

You have 7 minutes to defeat the boss, and he grows four times (increasing and restoring health each time).

On the map are 3 generals that will each give you an additional ability when you kill them, to make it easier to take on the boss.

There are also scattered hearts available to find and increase your own health.

WASD to move, mouse to look.
Left click to attack.
Space to block.

When you unlock them:
Right click to fire a fireball.
Shift to dash.
1 key to heal.

The team is:
Ryan Nohr - Programming
Jon Rasmussen - Art
Nick Amlag - Art
Zeke Fenelon - Original Music, Sound design

DISCLAIMER: We have noticed that the game occasionally crashes on launch. If this happens to you, please try once or twice more. Thank you, and sorry!

Update 12/15/2015 - Minor end condition fixes (frayed nerves confused less than for greater than...)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#418Audio(Jam)3.19
#486Graphics(Jam)3.52
#515Fun(Jam)3.16
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#688Humor(Jam)2.32
#840Theme(Jam)3.23

Comments

zlaine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Got the shift power up, but didn't seem to do anything unless it was implemented as a passive bonus to speed. Did manage to kill the boss and the timing on growing/healing was a nice touch, I had him rez on me once.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Yeah, in the end all I (Ryan) had time for was a short passive bonus. A lot of time went into ancillary things and some of the gameplay ideas wound up a bit short heh.

Honestly, I didn't even have time to test the whole thing properly, so I was pleased it worked at all ^.^

sikosis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Not bad. Character facing animations were a little off, but easily overlooked. Couldn't get right click to work, but overall still fun to play. Good job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

We had run, strafe, backpedal anims all working, but I didn't have the time to do the math to account for the physical direction you were pointing. If you face north it's all working nicely with blends and whatnot.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

And right click only works once you kill the fire general. (If you did, then I have no idea why not haha)

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I killed the boss. First attempt I think the game ended when the boss meter reached full. Seemed a bit hard to control at times.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03am

We had run, strafe, backpedal anims all working, but I didn't have the time to do the math to account for the physical direction you were pointing. If you face north it's all working nicely with blends and whatnot.

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

Very good game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

Fun little game, though it was a little too easy for my tastes :P Perhaps adding more hearts, but making death permanent would be a nice touch. I loved the music, nice work guys!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:56am

A slight oversight : the shield is activated with the space bar rather than the right click, which is used by the fireball.

Nice graphics and animation, too bad I found how to use the shield only after killing the boss ^^
Nice little game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

Actually not an oversight at all . Originally block was right click (which felt good), but we decided to have the attacks on the mouse for quick access. Of course, when the fireball was put in in the last hour, I remembered the cool down, but by then I had other things to wrap up anyway :p

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:45am

As for easiness, just didn't have time for any balancing :p (nor time to actually make the tentacles to damage haha)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46am

Oh yeah, right there, forgot to change the text haha. Sorry about that!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

Actually not an oversight at all . Originally block was right click (which felt good), but we decided to have the attacks on the mouse for quick access. Of course, when the fireball was put in in the last hour, I remembered the cool down, but by then I had other things to wrap up anyway :p

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:02am

Interesting game-- the controls felt a little unresponsive at times but I had fun. I liked the art style-- it reminded me of a marriage between Wind Waker and Ultima Online. Nice work.

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Well made. Good art!

dodormeur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02am

Really impressive 3D for a 72 hours game !
I really like the art (remind me a bit of wind waker in the smoke effect).

Lia-Sae says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:06am

I like the idea (on unrelated news I'm a big Risk of Rain fan...). But the controls felt a bit iffy: shield not coming up immediately, sprint not always activating, etc. The art felt a bit inconsistent between the 2D and 3D assets, but the style is neat!

lurils says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19am

interesting concept and art

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice graphics but the animations seemed off. Great game though.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:27pm

I like it :)

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Nifty little game. I really like the graphics style. Was very easy, but it was still fun.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:53am

Pro:
+ Nice concept (specially the timer and boss upgrade)
+ Graphics are nice and music is cool
Con:
- Controls were a bit unresponsive (defense would fail, sprinting was a bit weird, when pressed 1 key the sprint would go on cooldown)
- Graphics were kinda inconsistent (somethings were models and others just sprites, walking animation)
Obs:
o Boss was fairly easy (fought him at level 2)
o Sound effects felt too low, couldn't really hear them

Great job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:26am

Wow! Nice entry here! Solid game dudes. I defeat the boss :D

Acuity says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:40am

That was pretty cool. I couldn't figure out what the powerups did until later - would be nice to have a small explanation pop up for each one.

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Very fun game, really like the art style

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]