Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

THE GARDENER

by echa - Compo Entry

WASD - move
R - restart
Hold mouse to sprinkle

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#12Innovation4.31
#59Theme4.29
#149Overall3.71
#184Fun3.60
#307Mood3.23
#451Graphics3.15
#465Humor2.39

Comments

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

great concept and gameplay. loved it

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I like the gameplay, and the second form of grass is very pretty

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16pm

great innovation, good idea. Some of the levels were quite challenging, I think you should be able to grow plants off of other plants, so you can make a tower, I think that would be fun!!

Thanks for making this game!!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Great mechanics! The lack of music kinda kills the mood though, please add some! Really fun game overall.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Super interesting game. I love the progression of the mechanics as you go on - this would definitely be worth expanding on further!

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Interesting mechanic, although the game felt like it was running too slowly. Try bumping the room speed up to 60 in the settings for each room.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04pm

At first when things started sprouting I thought to myself, "Great, another game where I grow plants."

Then, I realized what was going on and some of the levels are kind of complicated! I think you could have benefited from making 'SPACE' the jump button as well.

Great game!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Cool little game.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Interesting concept, i enjoyed playing it, and liked the animations of the plants! But i don't exactly understand the way plants grow, is it random?

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Amazing concept. I love the procedural plant growth.
This game would rock even more if it had actual graphics instead of just colored blocks. Right now it feels like a rough prototype, but a very good one.

Kushulain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

It would just need some sounds and more graphics and I could play it for hours. :)

Pepejson says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:27am

very good game, it was awsome to create your own path ;)

Jace239 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Love the game mechanic but the level design needs a bit of work. At later levels it's no longer about any kind of strategy but just lucking out with how the plants grow and whether you jump at the right time. I'm extremely impressed with the way you get the plants to grow and it's a gorgeous effect, but it's hard to enjoy it while trapped by your own creations. The lack of music also takes away from what could be an immersive mood. Nonetheless, excellent work!

lurils says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:49pm

interesting mechanic, could develop into a very nice game if worked on some more.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Nicely done -- the contrast between the gray tile levels and the colored vegetation is quite beautiful. I enjoyed playing this.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Fun game mechanic. Would like to control the growth more.

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:02pm

wow, beautiful!

Gas says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:23am

Easily one of my favorites! Good work.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:50am

Clearly unfinished but the growing mechanics is probably the best i see so far !
Well done !

denmanlp says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:15am

Really great idea and already fun to play. Variable jump height would be nice (based on key press length).

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:24am

Cool game idea!!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:25am

Saw this on the front page, and had to try it. A brilliantly creative game, and an impressive amount of development for 48 hours! I encountered a blue bush towards the end, though, and had no idea how I got it. Any clues there?

caryoscelus says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:58am

Wow, it gets really cool & beautiful on later levels.

Btw, the was a minor bug when gardener got glued below the "flowers" (i had to wait until that tree died out)

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:24am

Excellent compo entry with an interesting idea taken to a high level.

ZpeedTube says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Really like the concept and gameplay, maybe a little confusing at some points but I got the hang of it. Loved it! ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]