Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

WONKS

by moltanem2000 - Jam Entry

Embark on a journey in the ancient world of WONKS. Where will you be taken when the WONKS calls you? what will you do? Explore those ideas and not much more in this thrilling* adventure

*Farming

Please note that the game is unfortunately Unfinished, feel free to explore the farming area and discover some different dialogue and whatnot, but (spoilers) I was unfortunately not able to add anything after the farm. One day I hope you'll be able to leave by that gate, but until then you're just stuck messing around with seeds forever, never finding the one.

Ah poop I also forgot to remove a little debug number on the screen. Oh Well.

My Focus this jam was to really use audio. In the past audio has always been an afterthought but I made sure to implement it from the very beginning, and I hope that has had the intended effect of creating a better sense of place and atmosphere.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#99Audio(Jam)3.88
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#416Humor(Jam)2.81
#566Graphics(Jam)3.35
#667Innovation(Jam)2.92
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#966Fun(Jam)2.52
#990Theme(Jam)2.80

Comments

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05am

I wasn't sure what I was doing (since I never read notes first). The audio was great. I liked the overall feel. My wife walked in and thought it looked like a "cute Waterworld Wall-e".

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21am

This is a VERY artsy entry. My highest scores are for Theme and Mood for that reason.. I would rate it higher if the game was finished but keep up the good work!

Zemmi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51am

You definitely did a good job with audio. Nothing makes a hard days work on the farm fly by like snapping your clamps.

victorfisac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54am

I really like the audio!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57am

Audio and concept is spot on. I wish you had more time on this. Very promising! I say keep working on it beyond the jam. Love the atmosphere.

Strike says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

I kept seeing your progress on the irc chan and I was very curious to try your game. Now it's done ! Wonderful work on the audio. I love how natural the controls feel, event if a little explanation on them would have be nice. Not sure what to do once I'm stuck in the room because i must sleep. After trying to hit every key looks like R allows me to exit this state, but it looks like more that it entirely restarts the level. Maybe if you can explain a bit, I'd like to play your game more ;)

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56am

@Strike and anyone else who might be having trouble with the sleeping, there is a bit of a bug going on with that, but hopefully you can find solace in the fact that sleeping was the last feature I had time to implement!

In case you haven't run into the bug, you can attempt to sleep by clicking the wall that the rug/bed thing is up against. I think in the future I will make it more evidently a bed as to reduce confusion.

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

This was probably the most awesome athmosphere so far! I instantly felt like I'd love playing a game that felt like this, and even though this was not completed, I enjoyed it quite a bit! Please, do a full-length adventure game with the same mood and humor and you'll be a millionaire. :D

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49am

I liked the mood and the audio of this game. Exploring was nice because of the background audio and the captions which created an atmosphere. The sound effects were very funny, and improved the mood of the game.

It would have been helpful if you put in notes of what the controls are, and what the player should do, (I read the main thread, and the captions in the game, but neither were very helpful). Edit: I went and looked at some of your update posts and learned how to use the Seed Analyzer. Maybe you want to include information about that on this page?

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

"Cute Waterworld Wall-e" - yeah, exactly my thoughts too.
Graphics are pretty, but I really like the audio design, I think it's the best part of the game - these cute noises when you interact with drawings...

There is nothing after the "sleep" segment, right?

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Never seen a 3D Game Maker game before, would you recommend it? I only do 2D stuff in GM.

Nice mood to this game, and the audio is really nice. I didn't realize the game wasn't finished so I just ran around picking up seeds for 5 minutes ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Great sound design! Even if there is not much of a game, it was interesting. That beginning area/dream sequence was pretty freaky :D.

Jelinib says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41am

You focused on the audio, and you did a superb job with it! The atmosphere is quite relaxing (once you get out of the WONKS dream sequence thing--terrifying! :P), and the sound effects are all delicious candy to my ears.

I like to click things a lot because those clicky clackers just sound so addicting. Unfortunately, I end up queuing up a bunch of lines of dialog, and I can't activate the bed until they all go away... Keeping myself by awake talking to myself, haha!

I also found a bug where I put more than just 5 seeds in the seedalyzer in a day, and then press the button to multiples at once. It runs through the dialog for 5 of them, but after that, I get stuck because the door is locked, and trying the bed only says that I'm "almost done."

I also like the art style. Nice details with the ripples in the water too. Please do finish this game. I really wanna try the farming. Really well done so far!

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:56pm

The style is super great. From one UVic connect-ee to another, keep up the good work!

#wonkslife

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Interesting game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]