Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Plant Lab

by Moebius - Compo Entry

### About the Game ###

Plant Lab is a simulation game that lets you mess with the DNA of a plant.

The bigger/more branches/leafs/fruits the plant grows within the maximum of 16 days the more money you make. You can use this money to manipulate even more genes of the test subjects.


### How-to play? ###

In the DNA manipulation screen (first screenshot) you can change nucleotides using the nucleotide changer tokens on the bottom of the screen.

You can buy those tokens with money you earned with your plant.

To manipulate the genetic material you just select one of the changers and click on the nucleotide you want to change to that specific nucleotide.

On the top row you can select which plant you want to use as starting point for your next genetic incursion. The last 5 plants along with their genetic material and some growth statistics are preserved.

In the simulation screen the right top icon shows the current weather. The three bars on the left side are: water (blue), sunlight (yellow), energy (red). The plant uses water and sunlight to produce energy. This energy is then in turn used to help the plant grow. Depending on the plant's DNA the plant will use more or less energy to grow. Nearly everything is encoded in the DNA - even the color of the fruits!


### Notes ###

The game is written entirely in Java using LibGDX.

* Note that this game has no sounds (due to lack of time) and might not be fully ballanced yet.
* Windows version only runs under 64bit Windows versions (most ppl should have 64bit by now).
* If you don't want to spoil the fun you should not look up how the different properties are encoded in the DNA by looking into the source code. You have been warned ;)


### POST COMPO VERSION###

Post compo version with better balancing and three difficulties to select from:

http://by.moebiusgames.com/ld34pm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Innovation4.34
#84Theme4.22
#212Graphics3.66
#300Overall3.47
#607Mood2.79
#615Humor2.05
#694Fun2.84
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Very cool. I liked the clean, small retro aesthetic of it. Or, it added a cute character compared to a lot of fullscreen-esuqe Unity games. Not that those are bad!

Editing the genome was really interesting, but it felt a bit opaque. I wasn't 100% sure what my effects would do, or how combining them together changes it.

Did you use an L-System for the plant logic?

Moebius says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

No, I didn't use the L-System. I hadn't really time to work into that so I created my own little algorithm ;)

And that editing genomes is not very opaque is by design.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

My plants are terrible, deformed creates who cannot fathom the light of day.! Kiiillll mee, they beckon once matured. Kiiilll meeee

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21pm

This is a really cool take on the theme, I love it! :D
On Firefox 42 on Windows 8.1, there are scrollbars around the embedded game though, maybe you should make it a bit bigger in your entry settings (around 20px either side might do it?)

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Very cool. Though very hard to get hang of the different gene stuff.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33pm

very interesting

Moebius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Thanks @zedutchgandalf for the info. The problem with the scrollbars in Firefox is now fixed :)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

I love how you use the theme. Pretty innovative idea. The graphics are clean. The only matter, I think, it's that I didn't really what I have to do, how to modify the genome to make the plant that I want .. Maybe it's due to a lack of feedbacks and tutorial. But you're game is cool, congrats !

piper82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:18am

while we dont need source code to progress, small hints would be nice to give some pointers. really liked this one. got a 650$ plant on third try so im gonna grind some money and mess with it a bit more :) so... put some hints and diminishing returns for the same plant being exploited for balance?

purrpurr says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:36am

I'm a bit unclear about the weather effects and a larger history would be nice. But other than that I do really like playing around with this. It's one of the smarter entries as far as I'm concerned. Just can't help but want this on android somehow.

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Fantastic take on the theme. Growing money is always fun. ;-) Some goals to work towards would have been nice. I really like the graphical style too.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Really nice idea. Pretty unique take. I never really made any money to improve my plant though. Once you're stuck with a crappy plant it is difficult.

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Well I like the concept and the DNA screen but the actual plant growing looks a bit weak , I think. Also not knowing what the changes do combined with the lack of music/sounds made it kinda boring. But I think the idea itself is very good

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:55am

wow, there's a lot of systems in place here, very well done for 48 hours!

the graphics all seemed to be coherent and personally I loved them, very retro and pretty haha, the plant growing mechanic is a very interesting beast, and I can definitely see myself getting sucked into figuring out how everything works and how each property is affected.

Excellent entry, nice job :)

fxtagn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Roses are red, .. oh. Interesting and fine implemented idea! May became the "one plant tycoon" =)

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:07am

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It took a couple of run to fully understands what's happening on the plant screen after my changes in the lab. I really like farming and tycoon games and it was a great game to chill between two action-packed games. I like your unique approach of the Growing theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]