Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Very Hungry SNAKE

by boddiul - Compo Entry

Adventure of a very-very hungry snake, who
intruded into other worlds, looking for some food and snacks.

Submission for theme: "Growing" & "Two button controls";


Controls:

(A & D) OR (<- & ->) - Turning

R - Restart
ESC - Exit
--------------
Made in Game Maker 8.1
Sounds: SFXR
Music : Bosca Ceoil
--------------

12/14 UPD:
Fixed some level scrolling bugs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#83Humor3.56
#95Theme4.19
#108Fun3.73
#163Overall3.69
#218Mood3.38
#248Audio3.15
#397Graphics3.25
#413Innovation3.25

Comments

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28am

The 2-button control scheme doesn't translate well to Snake. The drawings are cute. Congrats on finishing a game!

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

I EAT EVERYTHING!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32am

At first I thought this was just a normal game of snake. (Did I download the wrong version or something?)

But then I hit the green block and realized how much more there was: a really cool combination of a ton of games from my childhood.

The controls were a bit difficult to get used to, but overall, this was a really fun game.

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

Wow! So interesting. At first, i thought it was weird Snake, but suddenly it turned into another game.
We call it a "Brain Hole" game in Chinese.
I like the wanted level in the third level/stage?
Would love to see more stages!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

On Windows 10, it asked me to download something before I played it. I hit no and was still able to play.

Breaks the fundamental runs of snake :(

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36am

Very impressive, I wasn't expecting the game to evolve as I played it! Starts out as a very basic game of snake, and then... very interesting.

Great audio and visuals.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

I agree, two button controls don't really go well with Snake. Fun game though! Not dying immediately upon hitting something was a refreshing change. I played to a point where the map started disintegrating from the left.

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00am

I liked this one a fair bit. The controls are hard at first, but you get used to them. There didn't seem to be much challenge though, even running into your own tail doesn't hurt you or end the game (also, after going for a while, the GUI continued on but the level stopped scrolling... I don't know what happened there)

boddiul says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:14am

Thanks for finding that bug! Fixed level scrolling.
Also, thanks everyone for reviews

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

Vera Nice game, congratulations... Godo times

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Very nice overall, I expected a basic snake, but the twist to it is nice.

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Not much of an innovation, but extremely fun nevertheless!
Great Audio!

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Rampaging as a giant snake is super fun! Excellent!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51am

That transition caught me off guard. Funny, innovative, and fun! Great game.

Frozen Stick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

The art is pretty cute!The music could use some work but the game is pretty goddamn cool!

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

That was a surprise when i understand that it wasn't a normal snake, nice concept, i like it ! The game is really nice to play

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Tankeating snake. Awsome

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Nicely done for a compo !

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Simple implementation of a classic theme. I feel it lacks some kind of ersonality maybe. I also found first area controls to be very disorientating.
Finished it though.

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Well, that escalated quickly! Really nice spin on old classic. Frankly, I was silently hoping for fourth stage, where you would devour entire galaxies. Oh, well.

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Really nice game. Controls were unusual but easy to learn and I think it was really fun and very crazy.

Rating tells me to rate audio but I didn't hear any audio? (Linux, wine)

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13pm

EASILY one of my favorite entries. Very rarely do I play through an entire LD game, and this is one of them. At first I thought it was just a shitty snake clone. Then I was like "okay.. scrolling snake?" But then.. I realized where it was going and I was all like "Man OP you better deliver. You better fucking send the military after me." I was not disappointed. My favorite part was eating the law enforcement officers. My second favorite part was boosting a car and eating the passengers.

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

After the initial few seconds it went places I didn't expect. A fun way to take something classic and expand on it.

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

At first I was 'meh' ...

When the screen started scrolling I was 'well okay'.

But when the GTA police rampage chimed in I was *sold*.

That was quite an epic fun blend.

rogberth says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Nice game! I enjoyed it! I really like how it progressed from start to end. Good luck

Silvio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43pm

that was very funny

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Sound effect are a bit too loud imo. (Compared to the music)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Cool idea, well done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:23am

this was one of my favorite games - nicely polished - really neat way to enhance the old snake game - congrats

sorlok says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Very clever, very fun! I never thought I'd see a snake game with a GTA wanted level meter!

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Very interesting game. I really enjoyed it

ninos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:22pm

This is an awesome game, i love the concept, took a while to get used to the controles XD

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:28pm

2 buttons was not the easiest way of controlling the snake, but I really enjoyed the game :) Enemy shooting at you feels a bit weird though, as you can't do anything to dodge.

Nicolas Gass says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Fun =D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]