Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bring joy to the world... with balloons!

by cptalbertwesker - Compo Entry

If only the world could be made a brighter, happier place thanks to balloons. As daft as it sounds, this is one clown that doesn't give up!

On all screens necessary you will be instructed as to your controls in the particular area, which can range from button mashing to holding a button.

For reference these controls are set to W/S/D, sorry for those of you that use the arrows, implementation for them was on the list, but simply didn't make it in time.

Not so much a game... as alway.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#122Humor3.36
#235Mood3.35
#285Audio3.08
#339Graphics3.36
#648Innovation2.86
#861Overall2.71
#869Theme3.04
#913Fun2.25

Comments

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

I like the idea for this one. The graphics are simple but kind of charming. Story or player choice could be brought in, I think this could be a deal more interesting. Good luck!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I like that the grumpy kid smiles! :) Nice little entry here!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14pm

So the game just loops? Rather interesting, but definitely can do more with it.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:18am

Call me crazy, but I wanted a button to pop the balloon with. :) Could use some more of a "game" feel to it, but if this is a first attempt then its not bad. Its good to get something that "works" but its also fun to flex and challenge your abilities. See you in LD35

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:11am

I thought the balloon would pop and looks like there could be a lot to this game.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:17am

This was cute, even though I abhor clowns. QTE-clowns even.

razveck says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:47am

The technical aspect of this game was very good. I loved the art style and the little animations. The sound was great, too. Did you record it specifically for the game? That said, the game wasn't really that fun. There's not much to do in it, after all. The rolling "Careful Now" that kept showing up was kind of annoying too. Just let the player mess up and restart if that's the case. No need for a 10 second scrolling text every time I click the wrong button.

aare says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:34pm

I really like this kind of expirience-based games :D What was missing for me was some kind of point or conclusion driven at the end. I gifted more or less 5 childreen.

But mabye the point was the neverending nature, and overall pointlessness in the attempt to change the world for better...?

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Playing this made me happy too :)
Funny grafics and sounds.
Yes, some more interaction would be nice.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:43pm

I love the ambient sounds (actually all the sounds), and the gameplay is strangely soothing. Nice work.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Weird? yes! Fun? sure?

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Really enjoyed it, although as a few others have said It think if you could fail things it woulda been awesome!

So if you could have accidentally popped the balloon in the kid's face, let all the air out of the balloon and I guess shoved the balloon in the kids face :)

Overall though looked great and the sounds were awesome too!

Benjamin says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:39pm

The game itself is not very challenging or interesting but I like the animations and the core idea. Some balloon color choice for each kids / exploding balloon / etc would make the loop more replayable.

bodsey says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:01am

Hahaha what an amazing idea! Execution is great though. I'd love to see the whole experience leads somewhere, but great job though, congrats

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:51am

Nice background sound. The game is too shoort and easy but the graphics are good, and the theme is perfectly executed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]