Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Sky Golf

by savethejets1 - Jam Entry

Super Sky Golf
by Kyle Reczek

Golf into the sky! as far as you can!

I was going for a relaxing vertical infinite golf game. This was one of the first times I've really used procedural generation, and I think it went pretty well. Had plans for something much more complicated than what it ended up as.

There's actually two levels of proc gen the platforms are picked but also the rough, trees, and sand traps are layered on top if you get high enough.

Programming / Music / Art - Kyle Reczek
All created in 72 hours

Controls
TWO BUTTONS
Mouse wheel - move aimer
Left Mouse Button Hold and release - select power


Note: If you don't have a middle mouse button you can move the aimer by holding the right mouse button instead

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Fun(Jam)3.91
#107Audio(Jam)3.83
#139Mood(Jam)3.78
#189Overall(Jam)3.70
#283Graphics(Jam)3.87
#301Innovation(Jam)3.43
#454Theme(Jam)3.74
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

404 error :(

Elenesski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31am

Worked for me. Great concept. Really different game idea in comparison to the 100+ I evaluated. Liked it. I also liked the little touches, like being able to not shoot, etc.

Managed to play golf just like the real world, where I'd put the ball into the trees or the water ... or in your case, over a cliff ... never to be found again. HAHAHA.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22am

Excellent little bits of polish :) I was always glad to see my radio friend again

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice atmosphere, very relaxing, love the graphics.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

THIS GAME IS AMAZING. Great music, really keeps you wanting to hit the ball just one more time :)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Addictive, polished, and great gameplay. Well done! A real hole-in-one ;)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Fantastic game! great mood and lots of polish / juice, and the mechanics work very well.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Brings back memories of how much I sucked at Hot Shots Golf series.

DugelStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

50 MB... dang

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Very nice game, music and effects , awesome!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Cool concept and exeution. I liked how you can hear music only when you are around radio, nice touch. Fun, innovative game with nice graphics.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

It was hard, but very cool though, managed to get to 236 so far haha.

Davision says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

First at all I'm really bad at it but it is very appealing anyway. Some minor things that could be better is more easy difficulty at the start and that it is more fluid when you can shoot next, it always rolls for some time before you can shoot again.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22am

Fun procedural golf game. Really like the elegant graphics and the music reminded me of pilotwings. Nice stuff.

Neil says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I really enjoyed this! Well polished, good looking, and very well executed.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Addicting little game. Want to keep trying to get higher. Found RMB was more better for adjusting the aim than the scrollwheel which seemed to require a lot of scrolling to get just a little bit of change in the angle. Liked the bouncy radio music and how it was positionally based (always sad when the music fades away as you overshoot and go sailing into the abyss).

broknecho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:25am

Haha music got so loud near the radios. Control are tight when using the right mouse button. Island shapes were really interesting.

Great entry!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Great idea, well executed. I suck at it, but I won't blame the game for that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]