Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Planty Gauntlet

by ShadowBrain - Jam Entry

Get through the gauntlet as fast as you can!

Grow some people! Sacrifice them to get through!

This game has it all!

Controls are shoved in your face when you start playing.

No controller support, needs a mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#194Humor(Jam)3.34
#286Innovation(Jam)3.45
#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#490Mood(Jam)3.24
#520Graphics(Jam)3.45
#810Theme(Jam)3.29

Comments

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Idea is solid but could do with the option of having more men. Fell out of game world by the swinging axes.

ShadowBrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Solved the falling problem not too long after uploading. But yes I agree, I just had a massive creative block...

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

bad guy... good game

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48am

Good idea and graphic is well ,we need web version:)

saucygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Bug where the quit game and restart HUD wouldnt go away, didnt get the chance to play.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Major Pikmin vibes in a good way

korvyashka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Nice idea. Its remind me lemmings. Good graphic.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Good idea!

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48pm

super jank but pretty fun, good work

andyman404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Well done! I am such a wicked king. I just wish I had more men. That trap pit in the beginning is quite a killer.

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26am

- Don't you worry, my men! As long as I am the King, no hazard shall block my way! I'll stand proud on the finish line!

- Yes, my liege! I can't wait to see this moment of glory!

- Erhmm... since you've mentioned this... erhmmmmm... well, yes, you can dream about it! Yes! '^^

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05pm

nice idea and fit the theme nicely. I like the humor behind using them as a bridge. Got stuck when i ran out of men.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I'm not sure that kind doesn't have morals! But that's cool because you were able to do some unique things with them. I think their path following is nicely done. All things considered, it's a great little game :D

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Cute little puzzler and nice premise, just needs to be "tightened". would have liked to be able to select one guy to to stuff rather than rendomly loosing a bunch due to pushing eachother.

At the same time their stupidity made it all the more conflicting to order them into dying.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Interesting but pretty concept. A bit hard since the follower AI can be quite stupid at times since they move a bit too fast when you command them (plus there's no way of commanding individual units) but it's still a really fun entry.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Good start, but don't understand what to do after the bridge with buttons :(

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Really cool entry, a mix between lemmings and pikmin. Fun to play.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:45pm

funny idea and cool concept! well done :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Fun and pikminish!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]