Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rocks, maps, scissors

by Split82 - Jam Entry

ABOUT
======================
Rocks, maps, scissors is a deck building card game based on rock, paper, scissors mechanics.

GAMEPLAY (YOU SHOULD READ THIS)
======================
1 - You and your opponent must choose 3 cards.
2 - Special abilities are evaluated.
3 - coins are earned for ALL cards you played.
4 - Cards fight agains each other.
3 - Buy new cards, grow your deck.
4 - Next round.

THE THEME
======================
Some people are not sure how this is connected to the theme, so here is an explanation: Originally the game should be about GROWING your deck and counting points inside it, but later we realised, it wouldn't be as much fun as simple life + attack mechanics. So now, your deck still grows (when you buy new cards), but it is not as much important.

BEHIND THE SCENES
======================
This was the first time I worked together with awesome graphic designer Yuffie during Ludum Dare. I had no idea what to do for those themes (although "two button controls" is the theme I submitted ;) Fortunately Yuffie came up with some basic rules for a card game. First day was quite simple, creating system for moving cards around the table, shuffling etc. Next day I started working on game mechanics and we figured out they were a little too random. I came up with an idea of having special abilities on some cards (almost every card game has this). This helped to remove big portion of randomness and added a lot of strategy elements. The last day was just fixing and polishing all the gameplay stuff. Unfortunately I didn't have any time to create music or finish all the sound effects.
I hope you will enjoy playing our game as much as we enjoyed creating it :)

SOFTWARE
======================
Engine: Unity
Code: C#
Graphics: GIMP, Photoshop
Audio: Logic Pro X

THE TEAM
======================
code, animations, sound
Jan "Split" Ilavsky @split82

graphics, game design
Jana "Yuffie" Kilianová @fox_in_soxx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#24Overall(Jam)4.20
#26Graphics(Jam)4.64
#45Fun(Jam)4.00
#86Innovation(Jam)3.84
#125Mood(Jam)3.81
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#478Humor(Jam)2.71
#1056Theme(Jam)2.43

Comments

Lokiman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

What a nice "RMS" game this is - good job! :) Too bad there is no music and only very few SFX :P

Anyway, windows build works just fine! :D

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09pm

That's brilliant! Not sure how it fits in the theme, but it is a really cool concept!

Well done!

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Very nice graphics and animations - feels very polished. A little bit to grasp the game without reading instructions.

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Nice, a Rock, Paper, Scissors Deckbuilding Game. I like that quite a lot. I don't know about the theme ... "Grow your deck" sounds like you tried to put the word "grow" somewhere. Anyway, it's a nice game, so you get a good rating from me - a little bit less for the "Theme" category ;)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Neat game, nice variation of classic RPS game. I liked visual effects, look really similar to Heartstone's. Shame there is no music, it could add to the mood. Good job

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

A nice twist in deckbuilding games, and incredibly polished for a Jam game! A tutorial would be nice, but I guess that's really time-consuming to implement.
Too bad it has no music.

Really good entry though :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Great game! Very complete!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

I love it! Super juicy card game and I like the buying mechanic.
Only at some point the game stopped having scissors... Only Rock and Paper, round after round, which made it a bit dull. Probably a bug?

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Absolutely brilliant. Best game I've played of the jam and compo by far. Well done.

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Awesome job - super polished with the visuals and animations. Really enjoyed the gameplay too!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Nice game, seems quite polished for a jam game. A little tutorial explaining how the cards fight and that kind of stuff would have been welcome, but you get the grasp of the game soon enough. Good job!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Awesome animations and flow. It plays super smooth. Very nice.

Thembi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

High marks from me. Woo!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20am

Great graphics :D nice job

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

So good!

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01am

Oh what a little piece of art, I love it.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15am

Outstanding quality of work! I'm also a tad confused how it fits in with the jam theme. The graphics are amazing, the animations are so fluid, wish there was soundtrack, but none the less, great job!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:31am

This has an amazing amount of polish on it! It's a fun game and it plays very well! I won the match I played. No bugs or anything! I just don't see how it fits the theme at all. It's a great game otherwise.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

That was really fun. Had some really good rounds that felt rewarding for learning the combat system. Didnt read the instructions and it only took one round to figure it out so that must say something for the presentation.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:54am

Really hard exercise to do a card game in 72h, but u did it great :D
The continues building mechanic feat perfectly with this game, Great job !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30am

Awesome graphics and animations. Well done!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22am

Great to see another card game here, very interesting take on it too! The level of polish on the animations and effects was great, the graphics were clear and the cards were easy to read. I was a bit confused about some aspects of how the turn progressed in the beginning but it became clear as the game went on. Good, polished work, well done!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:38am

I also made a deck building game. Yours is beautiful and well done. Congrats.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46am

Nice game, simple mechanics. Loved the graphics but I feel it strays a little too far from the theme. Good job, though !

ss64games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Very impressive little card game. It's hard to make a great strategy game in such a short period but this delivered pretty well. I often felt a little too at the mercy of luck (much like rock paper scissors) which isn't a great feeling for a game of strategy, but overall it was a pretty impressive take on deck building. UI work and graphics are very polished. Theme is not particularly well represented, but I'm glad you made this particular game regardless! Nice work!

martincohen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Not a big card game fan, but I enjoyed the graphics, ideas and the animations too much.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I personally love strategy card games, and this is a neat take on RPS. From a game design view, that in itself is unique. I love the style for this. Gameplay is satisfying and fun. Excellent job all around!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57pm

So lovely! I enjoyed the Hearthstone vibe, but it's also very enjoyable on its own. Great take on the genre peeps <3

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Very well polished. I didn't read the instructions, but I had difficulty coming up with a strategy... or I just had a bad deck!

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:31pm

I love this take on deck-building games and Rock Paper Scissors, and it was especially smooth and accessible.

I admit at some point late in the game it became hard for me to know what would happen when all of my special abilities went off. When I play paper is scissors and scissors are rocks, and my opponent plays rocks are paper, the results end up feeling random. But, I think that's a matter of how often transmutation cards end up being drawn, and it would feel less chaotic if I just had less of them.

Pusty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37pm

wow this was real fun! I played it for half a hour :D

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:29pm

This game is really well polished! Also interesting gameplay.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Good job ! :D

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Very impressive! Surprisingly fun even tho I'm not too fond of card games, and art and UI animations were fantastic!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:03am

Amazing graphics and animation. Really well polish game. It is an interesting twist on rock paper scissors, well done! The rule was a bit confusing at first but after a few games I started to get the hang of it.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:50am

really well executed and a very good idea for a game. nice job

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Loved the feeling of the card game! Almost as if it was Hearthstone. Wish I could do something like this in the future =)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Excellent execution! You done finished game. It was pretty fun to play.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:25pm

this is a really cool! i had a lot of fun with it. i could be a cool real card game .. only one thing, how fits the theme here?

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:18am

Good inovative and simple card game with a so old good game. Nice and polished drawings, too. Well done. :)

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:10pm

This game is damn polished, I just wish there was more sound effects and maybe some music. The idea is really cool.

Xgor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Suck a great spin on rock paper scissors with quite some depth to it. Would be great if there was a two player mode as the game really lends it to it.

EwChap says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:44am

amazing polish for a jam game. Beautiful ui artwork and animations

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:59am

Not terribly thematic, but interesting spin on Rock Paper Scissors. Nice job.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:09am

Really great deck-building (deck-growing?) game. Using such a well-known concept as the basis for something with a lot of complexity is a great achievement.

Wolve says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:15am

This is an amazing entry Jan,
When I saw it on a gif before, I expected a pretty dull rock paper scissor game made fancy with cool graphics and animations. But it's not just only pretty, it's super strategic and really fun to play.
Great work!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:02am

Interesting take on rock paper scissors but I can#t see how it fits to the theme.

piper82 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:34pm

good looking, good polish, very enjoyable.

spotco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:47am

Cool concept with an incredible amount of polish (can see you were really inspired by hearthstone's UI...), currently does seems a little too luck-based (since you have no idea what the other person will play).

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:55am

nice concept and very well executed

Wevel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Nice game, interesting mechanics but very polished

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Wow. Simply wow! Well done. Very nice concept and nicely implemented. Graphics are superb. I love the graphics style.

StaNov says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Masterpiece in graphics, animations and sounds. The rules are bit chaotic and unclear. The HP number could be labeled better as well. But still 5* for Overall. What else should get it if not this one :)

Cheers from Brno! :)

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:21pm

The idea of makings card game(which are mostly complex) and simplify to Rocks,maps,scissors is simply great. Also game is very polished. I played it two times and have a lot of fun. Maybe some better AI would be nice.

graebor says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:56am

Great job on visual polish.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:46pm

This has incredibly strategic depth, I especially liked the switch position special effect. With faster gameplay (skipping of unnecessary animations) and some better deck customization(those cards cost a lot of coins) or challenge modes I could see myself playing this outside of LudumDare ... for fun!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:56pm

You've been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMqbWKLhbQs

Akhera says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Very polished for a LD game, especially the animations. However, I feel like the gameplay is lacking. Most importantly luck plays too much of a role. Also, the cards are not very well differentiated, which means I can't remember what's in my deck and can't make an informed decision about what to buy next.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Great entry with lots of polish and presentation. Played a couple of games to completion and enjoyed myself. No negative points at all because 72 hours and based on RPS.

onixus74 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 11:09am

I love it , great game !!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]