Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Snowball Roller Mayhem 3000

by arzi - Jam Entry

It's rollin' time!

- Collect gifts to get more time
- Gifts may alter the gameplay
- Get points by going faster and farther
- The snowball grows when on ground
- Don't fall off

Controls:
A/D or Left & Right to steer
Space/Enter to start game

Game by Arto & Tarkko

Music by TwelfthChromatic @ newgrounds.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#56Fun(Jam)3.93
#168Overall(Jam)3.73
#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#269Humor(Jam)3.14
#286Graphics(Jam)3.86
#382Theme(Jam)3.81
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95

Comments

Blobo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Impressive! i really like the concept. the boost was the first bonus i got, right off the bat so i was going pretty fast in my first impression. highscore 56k. got stuck between two trees :c

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Ha ha That was pretty great! I loved the random attributes that got added as you played.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Boost + Antigravity is the best. But yeah, the snow feels so good! Definitely a winner! Although I'm a little confused about how Immunity functions, doesn't see to work for extreme cases like boosting into a corner and flying far away. I died several times while still "immune"!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

That was fun! Nice work! And dang those graphics are nice. Good luck!

johanw123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice to see a fellow snowball game! pretty neat game :)

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21am

All the fine details look amazing. The fog, the snow, the snow particles around the ball. I think it would be nice if the random attribute text appeared temporarily in big font near the top of the screen so it would be easier to read but other than that great game :D

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23am

All the fine details look amazing. The fog, the snow, the snow particles around the ball.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25am

The first time I played the game those pop ups didn't seem to pop up and I can't seem to get rid of my old comment

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Very nice, just a little dificult after sometime haha, if you lower the difficult would be an excelent mobile casual game

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Great work :D good humor i liked it would play more

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:06pm

It's great! I don't know how the snowball ended up there, but it seems like a really dangerous place for it to be. :D I love the presents and the powerups.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

fun but sometimes a bit difficult do to speed. the audio is fantastic!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26am

Other than getting stuck in two trees, it was rather fun! I didn't get what immunity does. It was pretty cool little game! Very good indeed.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21am

I found a game breaking bug and a a slightly less game breaking but. When you get too big, you can't fit between trees. Also, when you crash into a tree at a really high speed and bounce backwards, the level unloaded behind you. Here are some pics: http://imgur.com/a/a92jW

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:59am

The word I'd use to describe this game is "cruel". Incredibly fun, but cruel. Job well done.

Member1221 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:45am

Nice, fun, and addictive game. The graphics are nice, and the gameplay is fun. The game also ran surprisingly fast on my old laptop. Overall: Great, addictve game, good optimization. I have given it a top overall score.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33am

Very exciting! I rolled down the mountain too many times!

euske says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:40am

Simple but addictive game!

nopogo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Cool game, the randomness of the pickups makes you want to keep playing! fun!

g12345 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Erm, nice game overall. Not much else to say.

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Good work, nice game

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Very jolly! <3

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:20am

Fun game!! Was about give 6 stars in fun catogory, but I took one star off for the Inverse Control buff. I just hate it ;D

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:21am

Very addicting gameplay. Loved it.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:27am

Cool game! While getting a good score did often comes down to the luck of getting the right bonuses at the right time, it also means you always feel that it's potentially possible to beat your previous score. Especially when you get boost+anti gravity+a slope!

My best was 40447.

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:28am

Simple, to the topic and simply great to have some fun when you're bored ... :)
Overall rating: 4 stars.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Good graphics and unity engine does good here. Well done!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Pro:
+ Great concept
+ Mechanics are really fun
+ Audio and graphics are cool and fit very well (specially with this season)
Con:
- Sometimes I got stuck between trees
Obs:
o Highscore 41k
o It's a bit strange the snowball always goes forward even when there is an up slope
o Didn't get what immunity does

Awesome work!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:32pm

This was very entertaining! Great Job!

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:50pm

That is a really thin track to roll a snowball in :P. Had a bit of fun with this arcade game.

Some criticisms: a few power-ups have confusing names. What does super-ball do? How about Shed-Weight?
The inverse controls discourages collecting gifts. Is this intentional?
I bumped into a tree, got stuck for a few minutes, then died. Is that supposed to happen?

Good job, overall!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Lovely graphics, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]