Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid Panic

by Finestep - Compo Entry

You have somehow stranded your V-wing onto an asteroid field of questionable geometric properties. What's worse, your cruise control is stuck! Collect fuel to keep going for as long as possible. Local multiplayer included.

Zip file includes a ready Windows binary. The linux and Mac links point to a .love file to be used with love2d client.

If you aren't running Windows and still would like to play the game, you can easily grab löve from https://www.love2d.org/ and use it to run the .love file.

Source is in Source.lua
Yep.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#233Theme4.00
#260Fun3.46
#271Mood3.29
#413Humor2.50
#421Overall3.31
#553Audio2.48
#637Innovation2.88
#675Graphics2.73

Comments

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Wasn't able to multiplayer, but seems good.

Kapura says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44am

The pickups are so tiny! Good job making space seem spooky and unforgiving.

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

This was neat. Getting the fuels was sometimes tricky, because they were so small, but a little practise and it got easier. Graphics were simple but pleasent. Nice game.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

High score 36 on 3rd try! I kinda had the advantage because my game has similar space controls, so I've been driving in space for a few days now. The game works fine in WINE btw.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:02pm

I really like that, I didn't expect at first to like it, but it's another take on asteroids and really the 4 player mode is great idea, things colliding, asteroids growing, so much fun even if I have to find 3 more players to try it, I just spawned the 4 players and played with one smashing into others, funny.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice! Glad it's not insta-death on hitting the asteroids. Nice idea with the asteroids growing.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

This was a nice change of pace! I was expecting to be blown to smithereens by the asteroids, but then I just bumped into one. That was very funny. Can't wait to try this with other players!

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

The time spent on sound effects was worth its weight in gold :)

I didn't immediately know that I need to grab the glowy green bit, but since there was nothing else to do, I happily did.

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice, but would better do with no sound instead of the white noise :-)

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Good game. I liked how you don't immediately die if you smash into asteroids

Finestep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Scorched: what you are referring to as white noise, is in fact, pink.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Neat little game! The controls are very good, I had the feeling I was in total control are the time. SFX were a bit harsh but worked fine. I really loved the particles.

Well done!

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:32am

Fun, definitely took me back to the asteroid blasting days in a very different way!

Very impressed that you managed to squeeze a multiplayer game into one weekend, that's awesome.

I thought the difficulty was tuned very well, the fuel cells were quite tricky to pick up, but it was definitely doable once you got the hang of it.

If I could nitpick about one thing it would be that sometimes due to the shape of your ship and the shape of the asteroids, you can sometimes get stuck against the wall of a large asteroid for a very long time without any way to turn around.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:39pm

This is simple yet ultra-addicting!

Adreqi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Nice little game, fits both themes quite well :)

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:00pm

nice game

VDZ says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:50am

I felt this game was fun, but it does little to make it stand out among other Asteroids variants/dodging games.

I liked how bumping into asteroids costs you fuel, making risky maneuvers viable in certain circumstances (like when a fuel block is touching an asteroid). I also like how turning costs you much more fuel than going straight forward; this has a noticeable effect on my playstyle. However, these innovations are relatively minor and the game is otherwise a relatively unremarkable 'dodge objects to grab other object' game.

I felt that the difficulty takes too long to ramp up. To get a higher score, I first have to play through the much safer early game before the real challenge begins. In this sense, I also felt the merging of asteroids to be counterproductive difficulty-wise; it is far easier to dodge one large asteroid than it is to dodge two smaller asteroids, particularly when you need to move to a specific point (which could be between two asteroids).

The graphics are, simply put, ugly. The spaceship and fuel are in a similar style, looking like the original Asteroids did but in color, but the Asteroids are just gray...somethings. They look ugly and look like they don't belong with the spaceship and fuel. As they also all look the same, this makes the game rather boring to look at. I do like the effect on spaceship movement, and the fact that you can tell where each game element is and what its role is at a glance.

Audio was functional, but boring. The sound of the spaceship felt fitting but hearing it constantly made it feel boring. There was no music and the only other audio was collecting fuel and crashing into something, the latter not occurring much if you're doing it right.

My high score is 30. I could get higher, but the game doesn't feel interesting enough to work my way up to a decent score again.

There's a tiny bug in the game; if you pick up a fuel thing (due to inertia) after running out of fuel (game over), the game suddenly resumes again.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]