Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gabriel can grow.

by grifdail - Jam Entry

This is gabriel.

Gabriel can grow.

This is a small plateformer made for Ludum Dare 34 using the theme "Growing". It take a lot of inspiration from Thomas was alone.

Controls:

Use the Arrow Key to move. Use the Up arrow key to jump. Use the spacebar to grow.
This should also work with a gamepad but I haven't tested it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#52Overall(Jam)4.00
#58Fun(Jam)3.92
#61Mood(Jam)4.05
#184Humor(Jam)3.38
#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#312Graphics(Jam)3.80
#321Innovation(Jam)3.40
#555Audio(Jam)2.91

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57am

Very Very well done.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Awesome game! The controls were really tight and the level design was incredible. Nicely done!

I loved the text for each level, and the whole thing is really well-designed and well-put together.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16am

Nailed the simplistic art style, sound effect and mechanics I would have loved a little bit of music but a great game :)

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27am

The game looks nice but I can play it.
Could u please share a windows link
thanks

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

Very enjoyable :) That switch sfx made me giggle every time

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33am

I like this game, this is for brains but it isn't so hard. Nice work!

James McVitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45am

Nice! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30am

Gabriel could be a girl :D It reminded me of Geometry Dash and Super Meat Boy.

I like the purple theme.

grifdail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02am

@thecatspajamas That's my main regret about the game. Yes gabriel should have been a girl. I hesitated with calling her Gween or Gabrielle. There's really no reason for it to be a boy. It's just a square os a screen.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54am

Lovely!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Great game, but the sounds are annoying and repetitive.

Taldius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Nice game. Even if the gameplay is simple, the overall seems really polished. Also, I love the little texts in each level.
Good job.

GGC_Language says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:19am

Awesome game!1!! I have enjoyed playing this game.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:24am

The art is simple but consistent and clean. The sfx are also fairly on spot, though the death animation doesn't seem to match the sfx there particularly well. Minor niggle though.

The largest issue I saw was the growing mechanic doesn't seem to really serve the player in any meaningful way. There was never really a reason NOT to grow, other than as a toggle to get through tight spaces. Without some kind of penalty or external need to optimize, it felt more like a gimmick than a gameplay mechanic.

As an example, it might have been interesting if the player could only get larger, never able to shrink. This would force the player to make decisions on when to grow, and to strategically map out the level to ensure the narrow routes are solved first.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Liked the level self-modification idea!
Gone offscreen when I jumped and started to grow near the ceiling during the jump :(

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:42pm

while short it demonstrated tight controls, nice platforming and great polish. super nice.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:10am

Very nice entry, reminds me thomas was alone just a bit, but very clever mechanics

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]