Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Wings

by Fadobo - Compo Entry

Go on a soothing ride as a bird through a city that was once full of life before now getting taken back by nature.

Use the W / Up-Arrow to go Up
Use the S / Down-Arrow to go Down
Escape end the game
Press either movement button in the title screen to start

DISCLAIMER:
This is the first time I am genuinely unhappy with my submission, having trouble coming up with an idea that fits my skill-level / schedule.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Mood3.81
#187Audio3.33
#236Graphics3.59
#338Theme3.90
#519Overall3.19
#522Humor2.29
#752Innovation2.65
#833Fun2.57
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

End of days nuclear explosion was amazing. I enjoyed watching the progression of time and decay. I'm not sure why bird wasn't as detailed as everything else though. Thanks for making a game though!

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00pm

The music is very relaxing. I enjoyed it. The backbround was really good but I'd like the bird more detailled.

BlazzGuy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

I think anyone who plays it for a little bit will love the end of the first day. Didn't know to press up/down to start on the starting screen - something to consider, although I know you have it written here in the description. Nice ambience, enjoyed the casual vibe. Good use of Growing and Two Button Controls.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Interesting, but the game is not hard enough in my opinion. So it gets quickly boring. But I like the way you used the growing theme :D

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I think adding the controls in game (on the start screen) could be an amazing thing.
There are some super interesting things in it but it also gets a bit boring just shifting through up and down, so i think the balance is a bit off. Good work though!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:39am

Some nice music and visuals. Well done!

shar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Good job! Love this paralax, nice gfx!

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Really enjoyed the visuals and music in this. great work

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:14pm

You used 3 buttons!!! Up, down and quit! UNACCEPTABLE

The bird should probably fly faster, and I would have rather had the sound at the end of year one not clip to the point of becoming white noise. I like the parallax on the buildings, which brings me to another point... how are they still standing perfectly after a nuke??

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:15pm

It's really calming to play, just wish there was a bit more of interaction, or other elements (like maybe some more things that would happen after the years?) ,but I really enjoyed playing it! The graphics are really good as well

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Art style was cool. Gameplay was a bit too slow and easy. The twist at the end of level 1 caught me by surprise but didn't change things enough. Fun idea though. Nice ambient music.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Graphically, I love the parallax and some of the effects you did. It was really slow though, with long stretches of not much to do.

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Pretty neat

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Really enjoyed the graphics on this one, and I think there's some good potential for further development behind the idea of playing the same level again and again as it changes over the years. :)

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Pro:
+ Very interesting concept
+ Nice graphics (though the bird could have a bit more detail), music and mood
+ City decaying over time is great
Con:
- Sometimes there is nothing to avoid... maybe some more hazards?

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]