Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Arkanika

by DrZanuff - Jam Entry

Tomorrow I will post the Post Compo and I will write a better description, sorry for now.

Controls:

W and S Move up and Down.

Try to Score goals to beat you opponent.

Ricardo Machado (DrZanuff) - Programmer/Game Designer
Victor Malezon (Lord Daniev) - Game/Level Designer
Daniel Kiermes - Level Designer
Diego Santos - Level Designer
Felipe Soares - Art Designer
Lorensov - Audio Engineer/Composer

My and Daniev's team had to unite to end this game, jolly cooperation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#282Overall(Jam)3.56
#356Audio(Jam)3.31
#394Graphics(Jam)3.67
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#542Humor(Jam)2.61
#553Mood(Jam)3.17

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13am

Pretty cool game! Like how the pacing was controlled with the goalposts getting bigger.

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44pm

AMAZING GAME!I can't stop playing...Congratulations for the good work!

Diego says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

very good, addictiveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12am

Pretty fun game! I do enjoy how the theme of growth was actually incorporated in a way that mechanically influenced gameplay. The growing goals posts was a pretty clever idea. Great job!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

A neat mashup between Pong and Breakout. I like the character art and the music but I thought the upgrade tokens could be clearer in their function and more distinct form each other. I was also a bit confused as to what each menu option did, it looks like they all just run the game? I thought the AI opponent was well-balanced. Overall pretty enjoyable.

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35am

Really liked the mash up between breakout/pong. Nice concept. But there's something really really annoying. The physics is not reliable and sometimes the ball bounces in a completely random way. Good character art and music.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:12am

Haha this is really fun. You should also bring it onto mobile platform, I think

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36am

What a great idea! I didn't really understand the interest of the break out part, until first powerup appear (too bad there's only one though - I'm at the 7th match). Graphics and audio are solid, gameplay is a little hazardous sometimes with bouncing but we get over it. Really well done! :)

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11pm

a simple and yet really fun game!, addictive, and can be very well online multiplayer game for mobile or web game :)

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Pong + Breakout = NICE! It's a really simple and fun game

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:01pm

One of the best I've seen so far. The controls are fluid, the movements are fluid too. Don't looks like a 3 day made game.

On a side note, just read your names and realized you're fellow Brazilians. And on my game page I was trying to explain what "Junim" means hahahaha

Good work!

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:14pm

@Muel hahaha, sorry, i should had explained that we are Brazilians too.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Cool game but maybe too easy. The graphics are nice :)

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I really loved the mechanics mixed with pong and brakeout!
i was going to suggest to add more balls and itens... but you already did it!
nice!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Surprisingly fresh despite the age-old inspirations (Arkanoid and Strika. Come on people, it's right in the name!)

Good job.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:36pm

This is a really cool idea. I love the combination of Pong and Arkanoid - it's great! With a little more time, I'd love to see the bricks drop powerups much like modern Arkanoid. There are some things that you could enhance too with even more polish (think like Rocket League's explosion when you score a goal). Those are for a later time, though. This entry is fantastic as is and I really enjoyed playing it. Thanks for rating and commenting on GET IT OUT!!! I'm glad you enjoyed it. And congrats on finishing!!!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:00pm

nice game

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:38am

cool mixture of both games! well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:07am

Pretty cool game with a neat aesthetic and a funny gameplay. Well done ++

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Weird to mix Pong and Breakout together but I really liked that! It has a nice simple charm to it, and it's very well made. Good stuff overall! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]