Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Tournament

by aare - Jam Entry

"The Tournament" was created in roughly 28 hours full of hard coding, designing and eating delicious pizza by the team of 6. In this cyber-coloseum manager you can experience the hard work and tough choices it takes to GROW your team of puny thughs to become the ultimate killing machines.

Use arrow keys to choose your best champion, decide the fate of the defeated foes and collect different skills. Colored skills are stronger against non colored ones. Also blue is stronger against red, red against green and green against blue. Collecting 2 skills of the same colour level-ups your character and combine them into one, better skill.

Hope you enjoy.
Cheers

Filip, Kamil, Kamil, Kuba, Kuba and Daniel

16.12.2015 EDIT: Updated builds because of the little bug in calculating random damage.

24.12.2015 EDIT: Uploaded the post-LD version, with 4th evolution of the fighters female robot model and two new opponent models. Also uploaded the source code of the original entry - sorry it's this late.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#161Audio(Jam)3.68
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#314Innovation(Jam)3.41
#319Theme(Jam)3.89
#356Mood(Jam)3.41
#377Overall(Jam)3.46
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#635Fun(Jam)3.00

Comments

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18am

It says the folder is empty :o

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22am

It says "This folder is empty"

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

folder empry. I will keep refreshing the page every 30 mins to see if its working c:

aare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

Thanks for checking out our submission. Unfortunatelly we are still fighting with the packaging of our game - its pretty late ATM in poland so we probably will be able to finish it no sooner than in the next 24 hours.

Sorry for all of the troubles :(

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

okie

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36am

It took much longer than we would like to, but we managed package the game :D

Enjoy!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Pixel always rule! Good game!

2011petia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Wow !! this is a awesome game

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Awesome game! Great concept, but the gameplay could be made a bit more complicated. Really enjoyed it. :)

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

It's interesting! Nice

radomaj says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I like the choice between levelling up and making your group bigger ?

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:51am

Ow, congratulation for your game! Greate visual design.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:35am

Awesome game. I love the art style and it feels very polished. I think it would be better if you dropped either the ADR or the roll-based attacks. The two mechanics together can sometimes mean that you lose purely on bad luck, rather than strategy. I had a few fights that I lost just because my gladiator rolled all skills when I had no ADR left.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:39am

I loved the art style! And cool concept.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:48am

Great game. A little complicated at first, but love the graphics and the mechanics.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice concept. Good balance of the different game mechanics.
A bit difficult to understand at the first try but getting interesting with the time.

Great game :)

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:27pm

nice pixel bots, was a bit confused where the game elements were at first, then i realised i could choose out of 3 rolls and choose which bot.. figured it out. my new bots would die so much that i only had one high spec bot. the style fit together, gfx and music. good work team!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:20am

In the beginning the combat was a bit confusing, but once I got the hang of it I found it quite clever ^^ It's a very nice idea, and you seem to have gotten a lot completed in just 28 hours (:

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:45am

Lovely visuals and audio :)
Great idea too!
Well put together, good job!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:20am

Took me a few rounds to understand what was happening, but it was worth it, and soon I couldn't stop playing. Well done!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Really nice entry. The games were really difficult to understand and feel a bit too random, but I could see this as being a really great mobile game, where you can even play against others.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Very cool. I did't spend much time on the game but looks really fun and you can actually GROW your robots into powerful ones. Well done!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:25pm

A little bit on the tough side!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:31am

Nice PRS fighting game ! At first I missed that you get the gladiators you spare, but when I understanded it, it made the game more interesting. Good job. :)

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Really like the game, just why can't I gain the enemy for my party, when we both die, just WHY?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]