Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vines of Darkness

by BMacIntosh - Jam Entry

The jungle. It watches. I can feel its multitudinous eyes boring into my back. But I must go on. I must find resources, for the sake of my people.

A game in 49 hours by Lucas Colvin and Brian MacIntosh.

HOW TO PLAY:
You need to find resources in the jungle and flag them for your villagers to collect. Manage what you flag carefully to avoid stretching your population too thin.

CONTROLS:
- Arrowkeys to move
- Z: machete
- X: plant flag on resource

KNOWN BUGS:
- Iron is a trap - it has no effects.

CREDITS:
- Music is by NGXmusical (http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=1236552)
- Character art is by wulax (http://opengameart.org/content/lpc-medieval-fantasy-character-sprites). Sorry for resizing it terribly, wulax.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#212Mood(Jam)3.62
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#319Theme(Jam)3.89
#487Fun(Jam)3.19
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#566Graphics(Jam)3.35
#672Humor(Jam)2.35

Comments

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30am

An enjoyable settlement sim. The music and the vines create an atmosphere of foreboding.

Could do with a description of what all of the items do, and perhaps slightly faster pacing.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33am

Good idea!

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48am

I liked the graphics and audio. The immersion was well done. Any reason why audio ratings are off?

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08am

Fantastic entry! The idea was a really good one, and there were only a few factors that I felt detracted from the execution. The pacing was awfully slow, and the AI was dumb to downright broken at times, waiting on top of the house with the "returning with resources" icon for at times a full minute. Road placement was similarly confusing, and I was never quite sure what it did.

The music was well put together, and beautifully matched the mood. I felt like an explorer, trying to ensure the survival of his people. However, once I had all 3 resources, I lost interest fairly quickly, being that there was nothing pushing me to continue the quest.

Overall though, nicely done, and an impressive amount of work for 49 hours!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33am

This game absolutely blew me away. It really is amazing for something made in such a short time! What got me most was that I was constantly learning about the mechanics. I didn't notice the help tooltips next to each resource, so I had to figure out what each of them did myself. I really like the subtelty of the mechanics, it reminds me very much of a recent game called Kingdom in that you more give suggestions to your helpers rather than directly controlling them. I learned a bit later in the game that unflagging all the resources would not recall all my helpers who would then help me clear the base of weeds and would instead result in them just waiting in base. Oops. Another great thing about this game is how well it captures this sense of paranoia about the vines creeping in, and the inevitability that you will get surrounded by them. The music and simple but effective graphics really help drive this home. I do have a couple of suggestions, mostly to do with the helpers, as they could be a bit unhelpful at times. It would be great to be able to direct them to clear an area, so like being able to mark an area for them to clear similar to marking resources. As well as that, I think having a lose state is very important in this, it helps to have payoff for all the paranoia. I think the base getting engulfed in vines would be appropriate. And a day/night cycle would help set the mood, and perhaps offer opportunity for variation in gameplay, with vines growing faster at night , making it harder, and letting you explore at daytime. This is almost certainly my favourite game so far, and one of the few i would come back to and play again.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59am

Good game. Takes time though. I liked that the vines kept growing, but it felt like I just using machete all the time - which got a bit much. For 48 hours this is very nicely done though - great work.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Great, its very interesting to find some resourses for out settlers, rly nice!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Nice, immersive game. Great idea!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I really like the setting. If you guys expanded on this and made it a full game, I would buy it. Surviving in a malicious jungle is something we don't see enough of, and there's a lot you could do to expand this. That being said, great job getting your concept down and playable!

Wevel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Love the music and the atmosphere it creates, a really great game, couldn't play it in Firefox for some reason though, had to use Chrome

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]