Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Neon Junk Collector

by Kimau - Compo Entry

So it's not really a game because it needs menus, a win condition and a LOT of balance work and such but it's something. Spent most of the jam just fighting with tech stuff. Fuuuuuu particles (T_T )

---- IMPORTANT -----
CLICK on the Emscripten bat above the graphics area to give focus so the keys work.
--------------------

Objective: Collect Scrap Balls to stay alive.

R - Restart the game
Left or Right: Aim
Left+Right: Shoot

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHNHvlYaehs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#640Graphics2.81
#682Audio1.42
#690Humor1.63
#749Innovation2.66
#773Theme3.31
#825Mood2.25
#960Fun1.55
#969Overall1.94

Comments

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56am

Game starts up in a broken startup screen :( You left an ifdef in the game code, so I quickly patched the exe for you: https://www.dropbox.com/s/2mcsyp40sxkxd9b/KimauLD34.7z?dl=0

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20am

This looks like an amazing idea, but the download didn't work for me. I got some sort of .dll error...

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03am

I got the game to work. It is a little confusing to play with all the camera angles! Perhaps i'm playing it wrong... Anyway nice effort, if the camera function was a little better and the thing didn't spin so fast, id say nice game!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:01pm

A little weird/confusing to play. Also, i can't seem to make it to the other group of balls? Maybe im not shooting enough things?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I tried the web version, but it was a bit too glitchy to really play with.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Great concept, but it was a bit too hard for me probably due to the camera angles as bazz_boyy said. Perhaps it could start off easier and get gradually harder (maybe it does, and I'm just bad at the game haha)

Nice game though, well done :)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

Not a bad game, hard tho.

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

I tried the web version, it loads, but enter doesn't start the game, none of the keys seem to work. This is on both Chrome and Safari, on OS X. Maybe you need to check key codes for both return and enter?

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28pm

It's broken =/

Jeroen Kappé says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Pretty hard, but I like it!

dweebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Sorry I tried the web version and couldn't get the controls to work at all. But the concept looks promising!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Visually this looks very fuckin' cool. I just wish it was completed ;(

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Nice concept, and I really like the art style. I got stuck though disintegrating before I could reach stuff to shoot.

I'm not sure shooting stuff makes sense to grow though, but that's just a matter of changing the laser to a grappling hook!

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Hmm...I tried play in my browser and don't work.But your idea is very cool!

Kimau says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

puddelipip it was meant to be a grappling hook but with minutes left to go I needed to put in something so I change the debug raycast to render a shit ton of particles :P

Yes sorry as I said its pretty unbalanced atm. If the controls don't work be sure to click the emscripten bar (tiny bit just above the game), it needs browser focus and for some reason clicking on the game doesn't do that.

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Nice idea, sad you couldn't finish it! But hey, know you can do nice particles effects for next LD :)

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I think the concept and your engine has potential, would be interesting to see this fully fleshed out into a game. Did't manage to do much game-wise with it though. I missed alĺ the balls...

fpwong says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Really like the idea of switching between 3rd person and semi-top down. Controls are a bit annoying to use though since you can't shoot in 3rd person mode.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24am

I didn't know what to do with the camera changing... the ball seemed to die out within 10 sec after starting.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:51am

Web version doesn't seem to work, unfortunately.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Really confusing game.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:51am

Hey Claire! Cool entry. As a non-coder it always blows my mind what people can achieve through C++
Great work!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Very strange

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:41am

It does lookalike it could be really cool with some work. I didn't get the controls once they finally started working, The camera a angle made it interesting. I didn't shoot one thing. It didn't really look like the laser was long enough to reach most of the things. Cool color choices, but with neon in the name I expected more craziness and a larger variety of neon.

n8m8 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Thanks for your game!
I played your game along with several others from this jam and 'reviewed' them here: https://n8r8.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/n8-r8s-8-ludum-dare-34-part-1/

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:51am

Pro:
+ Concept seems nice
+ Graphics are nice
Con:
- The camera angle changes made was a bit confusing
Obs:
o Maybe I played it wrong, but I didn't seem to hit anything and grow

Great job, even though it's not finished!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]