Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit-uality

by SgtBursk - Compo Entry

Jerry has everything figured out in life. Well, almost everything...

Help Jerry on his quest for spiritual growth. As Jerry shuffles through this mortal coil, he has an opportunity to make life a little better. Make him perform good deeds such as finding true love, reading a good book, making bffs, and giving to the homeless.

As Jerry grows spiritually, it manifests into a little blue dude, complete with lightning-bolt action! Zap the evil spirits before they attack your spirituality and make it shrink! Defeat the Purple Demon and save Jerry from eternal damnation!

Controls:
Spam UP: Shield
UP: Attack
DOWN: Perform good deed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#359Humor2.63
#397Audio2.81
#426Graphics3.20
#541Theme3.66
#589Mood2.81
#617Innovation2.93
#739Fun2.76
#742Overall2.93

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

I didn't really know what I was doing, and the zoomed in camera made it a bit difficult to play. I got as far as until I had a blue thing over my head, and then I really didn't know what to do.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

I love the graphics. That said, I was a bit confused by what was going on at first. Also, are you supposed to run out of wall? because I eventually did (and stuff stopped attacking my little genie). Nice work!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

A fun little game with good art.

Turkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

pretty nice game, but enemies seemed to stop spawning after some time on the top half of the map

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43am

I'm not entirely sure what happened but I won?

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

Neat little game, found it to be a little bit easy when it suddenly ended, but dealing with both sides of the screen at once was a bit of a challenge.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Really good use of the theme! Good graphics, sound, and overall a nice game. I'm just not sure how I won, but it appeared a "Winner" thing on my screen, so I guess I did it? \o/ Good job :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45am

Once I figured out what I was doing I thought it was clever. a few more mechanics and line those button presses up with the music and it could be pretty good.

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51am

It took me quite some time to understand what was going on. I'm not sure the "Press up" "Press down" is enough. Once I understood the concept I found it really interesting. I'd like to see a post-jam version of it. Good job!

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59am

Thanks for the kind words, everyone! It was my first Ludum Dare ever, and even though I programmed non-stop I still ran out of time! I'm definitely planning on refining it, especially explaining the controls and the end-game. Thanks for checking it out!

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

Ha, it got dark pretty quickly. Nice take on the theme, cool pixel art and I like the surreal background stuff that appears in the later game. Good job! :D

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Didnt get it. No clear goal

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Good use of the theme. Good work overall, nicely done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]