Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tower to the Stars

by ianh - Compo Entry

Demons are trying to blow up the Earth! You and your tower made of rocket ships are humanity's last hope. Reach the stars before Earth explodes!

The goal of the game is to stack blocks to make a tower. Blocks can only be stacked if they're moving slowly, so be gentle! Each successful stack adds six seconds to the clock; failure removes two and a half seconds. If you reach 2500m before time runs out, you win!

Controls:

Z boosts your block upwards.

X boosts your block downwards and makes you invincible for a short time. Your X boost must be recharged before you can use it again on the same block.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#117Overall3.77
#119Theme4.16
#121Fun3.70
#178Graphics3.77
#202Mood3.41
#254Innovation3.53

Comments

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15am

Pretty cool game, but whenever I mess up and break a block the game crashes.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20am

When I die the game just seems to hang, either with stretched out clouds (if I had more than one laid) or full red (like the ground, if I miss the very first one).

Liked the idea but it's hard to play if there is no way to restart except refreshing the page.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21am

Awesome idea and great execution. Nice job. Can't beat it, but I just have to keep trying.

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21am

Whaaat? What browser are you using?

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25am

OK, sorry about the crash: I hadn't tested on Firefox. Should be good now!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27am

Very good! Simple concept, but well executed... It is so punishing to fail, and forces gentleness. Difficult, I could probably beat it if I played long enough, but I don't have that much time now.

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Loved it! Super simple, but the graphics and atmosphere made it.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Very challenging! Rocket assisted landings are always fun. My only problem is that it seems a little inconsisent how much speed will destroy the block youre placing; sometimes when it seems I am placing it gently it blows up anyway. It would also be nice to see your score on the game over screen. Other than that, great job!

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

nice idea, art is simple but I nice, you've utilised both themes, great work! :)

xodene says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Well I really like the graphics and color scheme. Wish there could have been some audio!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

i liked it, liked the controls. difficulty is ok.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Great game! I love the animation when the block is destroyed by a demon. The game is very challenging and had me playing for a good few minutes!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48am

A really cool concept, could definitely see more. With some music, it would be even cooler. Well done!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48am

Pretty well-polished game! Took a while to figure out what I was supposed to do exactly.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

So far this seems to be the most complete game on here. My favorite interpretation of the themes so far. Addictive in a Flappy Bird sort of way. I really enjoyed it, thanks!

Bogden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54am

Great polish

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:51am

This was deceptively fun! You could really chain together a few by getting the hang of hovering at the last minute to get some time back, and I really loved your explosion particle effect! Great work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Really challenging, fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

Tapehead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:49am

simple and addictive! great game!

Eingya says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:23am

To be honest I find landing mechanic generally frustrating, but given that this games execute the concept very well, and I can appreciate the flow and stripped-downess of it.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:42pm

This was a great simple little game, very nice graphics, simple, retro love it. Nice gameplay too! Overall, great job!

(And to answer your question, I did no preparation what so ever. It would defeat the purpose and ruin all the fun of sleepless nights!)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]