Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pete and the Beanstalk

by SeriousCreeper - Jam Entry

One day a bean sprout with a pretty flower showed up out of nowhere, peaking Pete the Pengiun's interest right away.

You control Pete by either teleporting to the left or right side of the beanstalk and by jumping to reach flowers for extra points.

Controls:
A/Left arrow = Teleport left or jump if you are on the left side
D/Right arrow = Teleport right or jump if you are ont he right side
M = Mute music

Credits:
Music by dogchicken (opengameart.org)
SFX from opengameart.org
Evertyhing else by SeriousCreeper (me)

I didn't have a lot of time (and to be honest felt a bit "dried" out creativity and motivation wise) but eventually decided to just try something anyway.
Didn't get to submit for the compo in time but this allows me to use some pre-made music, so that's cool.

I'm quite happy with how it turned out and i had fun creating this little game.
Hope you guys enjoy it as well!

Created with Unity 5.3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#14Fun(Jam)4.20
#15Overall(Jam)4.27
#16Theme(Jam)4.49
#90Mood(Jam)3.90
#98Graphics(Jam)4.31
#110Innovation(Jam)3.77

Comments

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Very sweet game! Awesome crisp art, smooth animation. Nice gameplay. Great implementation of both themes, Great entry.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

So far, this is one of the best games I have played in the ludum dare, the game is beautiful, the graphics are breath-taking and the audio really adds to the mood.

This game is just so solid from the bottom to the top, a 10 in my book.

Thank you for this amazing game!

Also my high-score is: 12906

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:02pm

With such really great graphic and music,
this game gives good feel.

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Now that is pleasing. I'd love to make this kind of games when I'm dried :D

Hegemege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Congrats, the game feels really good to play! Controls are crisp and the whole experience is really polished. One of my favorites so far! Difficulty curves nicely too.

jessartisan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

This turned out so great. Well done! The circus is already playing it. ^_^

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

That was cool. Nice idea. Fun to play.

im-oab says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Nice graphics and fun.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

A great looking game, and very well polished. Fun to play.

(I'm really curious how you made the bean stalk in Unity!)

Polith Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I loved it. Very well polish game and nice graphics.
Good job! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02am

Heaps of fun, and nice graphics, would make a wonderful mobile game

emmes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

Really cool game.
I like the music BTW, it fits perfectly, even though it hasn't been part of the jam...

I really wonder whether the beanstalk is growing algorithmically, or the positions are rather fixed.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34am

Such a smooth experience... Great design in all aspects, I very much enjoyed running Pete up the bean stalk...

TurtleP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56am

Amazing art, music, and idea!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11am

Awesome game all around. Congratulations!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40am

The graphics look quite refined, the game is fun and i like the way it goes on forever.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56am

Yep, very solid game.

okusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05am

So sweet and funny game!! Graphics and mood also perfect!!

Jace239 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09am

This game is much fun! The music's great too, upbeat and exciting, perfect for the way it plays. The graphics are beautiful and polished, the gameplay is smooth, my mind is blown by it all. I have no idea how you'd begin to program that, I still have a lot to learn...

Ah but anyway, this was fantastic. My only complaint is that as it gets faster, it becomes -almost- impossible to grab the flowers due to the delay between teleporting to a side and then jumping. You pretty much need to just be lucky enough to have a flower heading towards you on the same side of the plant (though this did happen).

Overall I love this game, and I see why Modoc73 recommended it. Great job!

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19am

Nice style, classic gameplay. Quite addictive. I haven't see a way to get extra lives. Is it possible. Congrats anyway!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Thanks a lot guys for all your awesome feedback, i'm super glad to hear that you guys are enjoying it, means a lot!

@Jace239 yeah it does get a bit too hard to catch the flowers. Perhaps pete would have to jump quicker over time to compensate for that or make them spawn a bit sooner. I might have to experiment with that!

@ajopart no extra lives unfortunately heh

To people who were interested about the "tech" behind it:
The beanstalk itself is a procedural generated mesh and follows an invisible target that moves at random intervals. The thorns and flowers spawn on the side of the stalk at random locations and intervals as well, so that every run is different from the previous.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18am

Awesome i loved it :) best ld-34 entry i have seen till now simple yet addictive :) and music amazing man. Good Job

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27am

I think this game uses both themes perfectly. Amazing work! I know you didn't make the audio, but it fits nicely as well, so good job choosing it. Anyway, the art is awesome, the gameplay feels nice (teleporting is super rewarding). I also think this would be a great game for mobile or built further for sites such as Kongregate. Good luck! :)

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43am

Really cool take on the infinite runner genre.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28am

Wow ! That is a good game ! I love the art, the music, the implementation of the themes, the simplicity of the gameplay. A massive WELL DONE !

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48am

One of my favorite games from this jam so far. I love the music, feel, visuals, tight controls and replay value. Thanks again for this great entry I had a lot of fun.

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

I loved this one. I am always amazed at what people can do programaticaly in this compo and I must say this game is one of those that grabbed my attention.
Very well done.

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05pm

770m, and took a while before I realised you could collect the flowers. Total score 9640. I like it! Some of the flower placement was a bit unfair, but the difficulty scaled nicely and it was well presented. Reminds me of the recent Rayman games.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Awesome game. Love the art style, the animation of the plant growing is excellent. Definitely the best 'endless runner' style game I've seen so far.

mactinite says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I was told by someone who rated my game that it reminded them of your entry, and I will say yours is much more polished!

Awesome job! Very polished and perfect for the theme. Would make an excellent (and fairly easy) port to mobile and pretty much needs no changes to be released. Really awesome game!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

i love this, the Japanese rose blossom art style, the simple colours the playful music and the quick and easy controls that work really well. my only fault is that you made it and not me god damn you you beautiful bastards

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

This game is so cute and pretty and amazing. I love the graphics and the music! This is my favorite game so far

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07am

This is brilliant! Exhilarating, satisfying, and super polished. I played a few other game with a similar endless running side switch mechanic but this is by far the best in terms of game design (which is what I value ;) )

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Amazing game! The pacing is good, the art and UI look neat and tidy. The transitions are really smooth.
I catch myself so often not reading the instructions, my first two runs I didn't know that I could catch the flowers... It is really cool way of risk and reward. "Do I want to jump now and be unable to teleport to the other side if a thorn grows near?"
I like the way your Game Over screen comes up in parts and pops up with sound effects, feels good :)

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57pm

A very well-polished game and quite fun too. I love the growing mechanic mixed in with the infinite runner style game-play. Excellent work!

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

This is beautiful! really enjoyed this, can see myself playing it on my phone or something. well done!

felixreeve says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I think I'd like to see the character sprite fit in with the rest of the graphics and maybe make the teleport a little more polished looking, but only in order to bring those aspects up to speed with the rest of the game's polish!

Strike says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I'd really like to know how you make the bean sprout grow effect with unity, it looks amazing. Very good job.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I like this =)
Simple and fun.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:09am

You can make tons of cash with this on the apple store

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Very addictive and fun. Super impressive!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:30pm

This fits perfectly for a mobile game, I hope you improve it and release on Android/iOS.

Very nice controls, mechanics and graphics.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Really great game.
Smooth controls, fitting graphics and sound.
Not much more to say I guess.
Well done.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:49pm

That is really fun! Love how simple and responsive it is plus the music really sets the tone. Well done! :)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:58pm

The graphics and animations are so cute, really nice polished game, guys! It took me a while to figure out why I had to jump.
When you made a mobile version tell me! =D

banana4life says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:50am

Simple, addictive, perfect!

If you want to continue here are some ideas:
- make the speed built up smoothely, you could really feel "steps"
- slow down again on hit (in addition to short immunity)
- as it gets harder you might add thorns on both sides but one is short enough to force the player to jump over it to survive

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:03pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0rB_UjhQBc

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Awesome game, man! Gamplay looks innovative and pretty fun! Visuals good to =) Nice work!

AndreasL says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Pretty cool game! I liked the growing effect.
Graphics were really nice. I don't really have anything bad to say about it. Maybe more enemies? Would make for a good mobile game I think. Good job!

Miltage says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Very clever idea for level generation. Haven't seen something quite like it before.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I love penguins. Was very fun to play, and I liked the increased speed the further the game progressed.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Very fun and beautiful!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Very good avoiding game ! Gameplay and design are awesome ! Very well done !

jackrugile says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:09am

Such a well executed and innovative concept! You made use of the theme incredibly well. I hope this one reaches the top, it deserves it. Well done! No idea how your programmed this one.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:09am

very funny game! well done!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:20am

Nice. :)
I've seen something like that already, but it's a good application of the theme.

Keep up the good work.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Really cute, challenging, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:33am

Very stylish :-D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]