Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Food Drop Doug

by blzkz - Jam Entry

Inspired in Doug the Pug!
Feed Doug! Be careful, don't eat anything healthy!

It's the first time my mate Gonx0 and I make a game together, music and graphics are from internet, thats why you cant vote that.

If you are playing in Windows 10, use windowed mode.

In the first minigame use arrow to move around collecting food, in the second minigame use the mouse buttons (powerups are broken, im trying to fix them).

I'm compiling WebGL player!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#333Humor(Jam)2.96
#872Fun(Jam)2.68
#924Theme(Jam)3.00
#965Mood(Jam)2.32
#1036Innovation(Jam)1.88
#1105Overall(Jam)2.29

Comments

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

fun game, not a very original idea however

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

As a pug lover, I love this game and his campaign against health food

ekiscrim says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

My dog says: I love this game, and the pug is sexy

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05pm

This game has made me reflect deeply. xDD

Sergioct says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Its so fluffy !!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:00am

Small and funny game. Good work.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11am

Cool! I love that there are two different modes.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Actually not very innovative, however, funny. I think the dog image could be either high-resolutional or change as the pug grows.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Wish the dog had animations!

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:20am

For the first minigame, the dog sprite not having crisp pixels is kind of an eyesore, and the food items frequently spawn at the exact edges of the screen (more often than would be expected from random chance if they are spawning with a randomized x-coordinate).

For the other, the controls feel a bit too touchy, the explanatory text is wrong (the mouse buttons are the reverse of what it says), and I'm not sure what the powerups even do, but I'm pretty sure if I press RMB once, it exhausts all of them simultaneously.

Also, if you hit the dog against the floor or ceiling enough, he starts spinning. I don't know if that's intentional, but it's hilarious, and actually kinda fun.

kowalski says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:30am

Cute game compilation. I appreciate the absurd humor in the second minigame^^.

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:45am

Two games for the price of one.

blzkz says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:27am

@Stuntddude you're right.

About the first game, yeah, the gauss filter is awful, crisp pixel are better pixels :P. Our artist left us so... we couldnt do better job in that part. And yes, one of the bugs is what you say about generating food, my mate didn't realize that people have many resolutions lol. We didn't fixit in order to present only our 3 days work.

The other minigame... WTF I didn't realize I write the text wrong! O.o. The power up doesn't work at all only destroys one healthy asset, I tried that the powerup destrys all the healthy food for 2 secs but I hadn't more time to fix that.

And yes, the dog spins when you hit the floor or the ceiling, it is a bug-funtionallity, I didn't freeze Z axis allowing the dog to spin, I laughed playing the fist time I saw it so.. I dindn't change it :)

Thank you all for spending a little time playing this unfinished game! :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:53am

Not too bad. Simple ideas but well done. Second game reminds me of Jetpack Joyride

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]