Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Battlebloon

by terry90 - Jam Entry

Take on the big bad bloon! Mischievous children are launching balloons into the ceiling fan and you're next! The goal is to fill the balloon to the point of popping before those kids can get ahold of you. Collect 3 air tanks and head to the pump by the nozzle filling the balloon with air. With three trips (a total of 9 tanks) you can win!

Oh, and don’t run into sharp edges. You can only take 3 hits !

Only 2 Controls: A - Left,
D - Right,
A+D - Jump,
Double Tap A or D - 180 Turn

Made by Team Dinosauce

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#275Graphics(Jam)3.88
#296Theme(Jam)3.92
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#339Humor(Jam)2.95
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#415Innovation(Jam)3.28
#483Mood(Jam)3.25
#525Overall(Jam)3.32

Comments

Robin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01am

Very nice game, the graphics are great and the music is pretty catchy! Completed the game after a few tries. Only thing I missed was a life counter and maybe a way to regain lives. Congrats on submitting a game!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

Awesome game!

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

The graphics are nice, control and avatar animation is well implemented. if there is a life bar it could be very useful
thanks

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33am

Love the balloon character and the sound of the steps! very funny to play

pcmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50am

Muhehehe, epic win :) I like the animation and the whole setting. It's even quite challenging. Life counter would be nice.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Very nice graphics and music. Great job with this one!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Cool game! I liked the graphics and the music. A little bit more of a HUD would have been better, though. Nice job! If you could, please rate my game!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

really good game, the graphics are very good the balloon character is very cute and mechanics are solid, nice work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Reminds me of that Sonic & Knuckles minigame.

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31am

I've tried to beat your game, it was hard :D

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:57am

Hard cute game. Nice done!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:13pm

The idea behind the game is really cool! I think it is a fun little game. Getting to the air tanks is a little too hard though.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:00pm

nice game

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:39am

Lovely graphics, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R1E0Ch1WcpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]