Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Go Fish

by joekinglake - Jam Entry

Press up or down to control the school of fish.

Avoid the rock formations, which push you backwards and will eventually end your game, whilst trying to collect more fishes in hopes of increasing your school size.


@_Ch4ntelle
@JoeKinglake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#125Mood(Jam)3.81
#164Audio(Jam)3.67
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#360Graphics(Jam)3.72
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#789Humor(Jam)2.06
#799Fun(Jam)2.79
#825Innovation(Jam)2.66

Comments

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

Nice "tunnel nav" game, I like the movement of the fish and the graphics, especially.

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01am

Ah man this game is cute. I like the idea of collecting all the fishes! I just wish there was a shark boss!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25am

Proper lush. :)

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I really love the feel of this game, really relaxing.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Adorable. Interesting take on obstacles - keeps the game moving.

Pornstar69 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Sick game bro

Xgor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Cute game with a nice visual art style. The game was waay too easy as the only times I hit the rocks was when I did it intentionally.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I think this is a really solid game, Everything feels really nice from the music to the way the menu wobbles.

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Great idea with the fishes. I like it!
It was a bit to easy but very relaxing.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

It's got a really great feel to it! Love the consistency of the art. Feels unified.

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Very nice little game. Really enjoyed it

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice and relaxing, I wasn't sure if I could actually 'lose' or anything unless I brushed up against something for too long. 4 way movement with predators or something could be fun!

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Good little game. I especially liked how the fishes have some inertia to them. The looks and the music were good too.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18am

Nice! It's like a chilled-out, relaxing Gradius. I enjoyed the ambient music and art. It just takes you to the bottom of the ocean. Really calming to play.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

Graphics are really nice and the sounds are very calm. I personally found it very easy, I don't think I lost a single fish. I like how by design, growing makes it more difficult, because navigating the tunnels becomes harder.

Cool entry, good luck :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Cute concept, i like the relaxing mood but there's not a lot to it, would be more interesting if you lost fish when you bumped against a wall.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Great choice of theme. Too easy game, but this plus the music makes it really relaxing. So, great mood, good graphics, great use of the theme, and a bit boring mechanic. :)

3/5

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice relaxing game with good graphics.
I was wondering if I would get my fish count at the end but didnt. Sad frog I am :<
However well thought game :)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Nice, relaxing game. I liked graphics, simple but elegant, with matching music makes great mood.
Personally i would crank up a little difficulty to make player more engaged.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16pm

funny but way too easy

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:30am

Cool way of putting growth and 2 Button Controls.

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Flappy fish :) Collecting a bigger flock is nice, would benefit from some flocking behaviour. Totally fits the theme.

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:57pm

nice relaxing game, the music suits really well the mood

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:33am

Oh. I thought it was going to be endless. But then I won. Not complaining though, it was the right length. Very peaceful and atmospheric.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Nice relaxing game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I love the motion of the fish—the up-down dance each one makes to convey the overall sense of schooling. It's very satisfying to collect more fish!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of the game. Collecting fish and watching your school grow was a rewarding experience.

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Gameplay is very minimalistic, but the game itself is very polished, with pleasant graphics and fitting music. Nice, relaxing atmosphere.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:41am

this game is very pleasing to play. i like the simple graphics and the music.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Liked it - very relaxing to play. Would like to have the fish drop off if you hit the rocks and also to get a bonus for putting together a large school.

Stals says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:03am

Nice game. I think it would be cool if the more fish you get the slower you all move together, so the further you go, the harder it would be to navigate.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]