Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sharp Things

by barret907k - Compo Entry

Sharp Things.

Turn based puzzle game. Surround all the of the bad sharp things with your pencil.

Controls.
Arrow Keys

New WebGl build
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5917709/Ludum34Sharp/index.html
Old NPAPI build
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5917709/Ludum34/Ludum34.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#323Innovation3.40
#641Audio2.17
#653Fun2.92
#665Humor1.85
#705Mood2.64
#716Overall2.96
#808Graphics2.40
#964Theme1.83

Comments

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

I didn't fully understand the mechanics at work, but the idea seems polished enough.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

Nice concept, requires some thinking on the last tables. What are the yellow dots for ?

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Idea is good, but it really needs better graphics and especially sound.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13pm

very creative puzzle, well done

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:53am

At times I seemed to die for no reason, not sure why. Other than that it's a pretty interesting and challenging puzzle.

guru-guru says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37am

This webpage is not available
ERR_CONNECTION_ABORTED
:/

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45am

Pretty clever concept, I played through a few levels and the puzzles are pretty challenging after a while. Not sure how it fit the theme but I enjoyed it.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45am

I liked the idea, but I think that we should be free to surround sharp things one by one, or multiple at the same time (for a bonus). Other than that, a fun game to play.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:47am

Pretty clever concept, I played through a few levels and the puzzles are pretty challenging after a while. Not sure how it fit the theme but I enjoyed it.

OH I also wanted to let you know that your web link timed out for me and I couldn't access it.

SoulBound says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:43am

Very entertaining, I found the later levels a bit difficult but I had fun working my way through them. Good job!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I think it's more than difficult to develop a puzzle game in such limited time. Thanks for that! However, I can't figure out how the game is about growing or two buttons control...

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:57am

Very cool game! The art is very stylish. I loved the later levels, very nice puzzles.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]