Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Octopodes

by jward - Compo Entry

-- Use 'z' and 'c' keys to maneuver.

Wow, so I whipped this out in only daylight hours, so I only got about 16 hours into it. It shows -- it's very short (4 levels), the level design needs a lot of work, and there's no story. But it's the most complete and playable game I've ever made, so I'm proud of that.

The audio files are from freesound.org, so I declined to be rated in the audio category.

This is written in Haxe, using OpenFL, entirely from scratch (no other frameworks.) This also shows, lots of hackish stuff. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Mood3.75
#172Graphics3.79
#184Theme4.07
#412Overall3.32
#566Humor2.19
#571Innovation3.00
#726Fun2.79
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:12am

the sound of the water, i think its water, was a bit overpowering i had to turn down the volume.

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Very nice atmosphere!

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Nice atmosphere. For the sake of non-english players, consider X/C instead of X/Z, Z is switched with Y for a lot of people.

Crowno says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

I really like the atmosphere and visuals, that despite of being simple are still charming. Also very challenging, but it can get addicting as you go along. I'm just not a fan of the sound effects. Anyway, nice work!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

Neat idea. Good Sound. I found controls were hard to use and I smashed into the walls too much. Maybe smaller swimming thing and less abrupt turning might make it easier to control.

broknecho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great Atmosphere! The turn speed was a little harsh as it was very hard to not overturn in the tight hallways. Great job though for ~16 hours.

Belvar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I like the disturbing weird atmosphere. It matches the tough gameplay.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Nice game! I really love the aesthetic! Good work!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I loved the atmosphere, really felt cold and dark, and great implementation of the themes!

nice movement, I felt I had control over the octopus the entire time, and the challenge was a nice steady 'stream' [hehe aren't I clever] of progression, nothing really felt unfair.

Nice game, great work for 48 hours! :)

francoisvn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Nice level of polish. I wish I could get further, but it was also surprisingly difficult. The system of going back a level when out of lives works well, but it's still quite difficult to progress, at least for me :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

Nice setup and mood, the controls are stiff though :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Something about the anti-aliasing effect works in this, also when you die in Level 3 you get sent back to Level 2 for some reason.

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Hey! We have similar games :D I really loved the mood of the game! The fuzzy graphics and bubbly audio really made me feel deep underwater! I had some trouble getting used to the controls, and kept missing one or two points in level 3. Awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]