Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sole Three

by Pikace - Compo Entry

In Sole Three, protect yourself from incoming entities.
The stork is your only friend. But not a reliable one.
Oh, try to not spam too much, or your screen might be invaded by MOUSES !
Good luck.

*playable with only your mouse right and left click*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51am

Unity Player is outdated and web has to be "WebGL" now

Pikace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I'm just about to export in WebGL yeah (old version of unity was old)

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:15pm

i like big pixels and there's a good choice of colors
it fits good on the theme but the concept is a little too simple

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:16pm

The screen shake when you shoot really added to the feel of the game, good work.

shar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:17pm

graphics looks interesting, especially the rain

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:50pm

can't play it

Skywilly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Score : 123 ! I love the concept ;)

LeafThief says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:56am

An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: unknown compression method

both unityweb and webgl failed for me in all browsers

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

yeah, WebGL verison doesn't work

yhsper says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Nice action/tower defense game! At some point my character just started floating away, but I had fun!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:09pm

This was pretty fun, though as soon as the stork brought me a shotgun it all started to get very easy. I was confused by what is growing when you click the mouse too many times.

I found the screen shake on each shot particularly jarring.

Fun game though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]