Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shaman Flower

by SaintHeiser - Compo Entry

[DESCRIPTION]
Your purpouse is to grow up flower to the light.
Collect money for score.
Powerup yourself with weapons.
Watch out sun level and wet level. Use necceasry shaman to refill sun/rain level
Your purpose is REACH THE SUN!

[CONTROLS]
LEFT/RIGHT - walk
DOWN - siwtch character
Z - jump
X - shoot
"+" - gamma+
"-" - gamma-

XBOX also avaliable
You can change controls in main menu too...

NOW YOU CAN ALREADY PLAY, but if want to get more info, it's bellow.

[CHARACTERS]
Sun Shaman
- Double jump
- Gauge SUN level
- Weapon represented as ammo clip which needs reload
- Can collect CLOUD bonus
- Can collect SUN HP bonus
- Can burn CANDLE on background

Rain Shaman
- High jump
- Gauge RAIN level
- Weapon represented as automaticaly regenerated energy
- Can collect TORCH bonus
- Can collect RAIN HP bonus

[WEAPONS]
Sun Weapons:
SUN PUNCH - limited range punch
FIREWORK - shoot 6 powerful fireworks like "FAN"
SUN LIGHT - shoot Sun which burns everything in area
LIGHT BEAM - can be used on ground only, creates powerful BEAM
SUN BURST - shoot fire sphere which bursts with deadful gas at area

Rain Weapons:
ELECTRIC BOLT - shoot electric bolt which explodes with short electric field
SPARKS GUN - rapidly shoot the sparks
VOLT SHIELD - limited time electric melee attack shield, which also protects from bullets
HOMING REEL - close to flower lightning attac which moves horizontaly on player
HEX CHAINER - shoots the electric ball which cplits onto 6 bullets (chain reaction actually)

[BONUSES]
MONEY - adds 100 score
CROWN - adds 5000 score
WEAPON - adds sun/rain weapon or +1 sun/rain weapon if you already have it, or +10K score if you have max hp
CLOUD - adds +5 to rain level
TORCH - adds +5 to sun level
CANDLE on background - very fast gauge sun level and adds 100 score each second
YELLOW SUN - adss 1 HP to sun shaman
BLUE SUN - adss 1 HP to rain shaman

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Overall4.10
#38Fun3.96
#41Mood3.96
#52Graphics4.25
#63Audio3.83
#131Innovation3.76
#173Theme4.08
#269Humor2.84

Comments

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11am

Wow! Awesome!

LudumFans says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

O_O

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

The game became pretty hectic sometimes, but overall it plays really good, though I wish a way to speed up the flower, it's really tedious to wait till flower reaches your level so you can jump farther

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16am

Cool features, your game is really original even if a little bit hard (when I see the poor percent I achieved x)) good ideas !

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:29am

Nice gameplay, the graphics are good, the audio kinda stressful, interesting use of the theme :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43am

Super fun game, very well done!

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I LOVE it! I really do!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Nice and polished!

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:30pm

So addictive gameplay. Really cool. 5 star fun.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:59pm

The game look very cool. Sadly no linux version :-(.

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:16am

Agh wish I could play it, it looks so cool and sounds so deep. Web or OS X version soon??

Yakka says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Really polished game, good job!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Wow! Definitely the best game I played so far. :-)
Very good job! Quite subtle use of the themes also :-).
Also it's quite a complex game for a compo entry. Takes a few plays to actually understand everything that's going on.
And thanks for the linux version! :-)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Really interesting game mechanics and nice use of the theme, very appealing also, a really good job done here, congrats.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:33pm

im amazed.

srakowski says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Really great game. Graphics and audio rock, style is awesome. Well done!

adamgryu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Very nice entry! I would have liked it if it got harder more quickly, but the game is simple and very nice feeling.

VDZ says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:27pm

It's a great game, however it's a bit too hectic and there seem to be some weird balance issues. (Don't worry, the rating is high, these details are just nitpicking and explaining why I'm unlikely to replay the game much.)

There is too much going on at the same time. You are trying not to get crushed, avoiding spikes, dodging enemies and killing enemies. At the same time, you are collecting clouds and torches, picking up healing items, touching weapon upgrade things and grabbing score pickups. This all is done while repeatedly switching between two characters with significantly different gameplay, which can both independently switch between weapons. Interface-wise, you have to keep track of the sun gauge and the rain gauge and your health while you're doing all this. It's just way too much to handle in a fast-paced game like this with no breaks between the action sequences.

Feedback also seems slightly lacking; though I generally grasped what was going on, it wasn't entirely clear to me when I was hit (there are too many things going on at the same time - was that the enemy being crushed just now or did I get hit by the enemy?), and I could never get a grasp on how much health I had left (it's only subtly visible all the way at the top of the screen; I am not reminded of it when I am hit and there are no audio cues telling me I'm about to die). Similarly, I never really knew where the sun/rain gauges were at unless the platform was stopped and I had both the time (not much going on) and incentive (something's wrong, must be the gauges) to check it out. Audio cues might have helped here.

The weapons seem extremely inconsistent. Some weapons completely obliterate everything, while others seem to hardly do anything even if you spam them in the enemy's face. Combined with the 'one weapon at a time' replacement mechanic, this leads to situations where one moment you're destroying everything and the next moment you're suddenly utterly helpless. You're screwed in particular when both of your characters have a weak weapon.

Although for the most part the level generation was great, never feeling dull, there were some weird designs, notably parts where you apparently can't grab a weapon without being crushed? There was also this weird inconsistency where on some designs you could move up by jumping, while in other designs your high jump just wouldn't reach. It also seemed a bit strange how much superior the Rain Shaman's jump was to the Sun Shaman's; even a perfectly executed Sun Shaman jump doesn't reach as high or far as a Rain Shaman jump. Jumping as the Rain Shaman always seems preferable.

The distance goal seems ridiculous. Rather than not being able to survive to that point, I don't think I can play for that long in a single session without getting bored; it seems like it would take way too long to get there. Particularly with the non-stop action without any breaks, I don't think I would want to play for that long in a single session. The difficulty also seems too unforgiving in an inconsistent way; I can get hit by enemies many times, but a single positioning mistake getting me crushed ends the game immediately. If the game is intended to be that long, that's just way too harsh. Instant death becomes exponentially harsher as more progress is lost by it.

Still, all of this is just nitpicking, issues that keep this from becoming an 'amazing game' rather than just a 'great game'. The graphics and audio were great as always, and it was fun to play.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Really awesome game!

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really fun too play and well rounded game although the flower moves a little too slow for the amount of variation. Loved the weapons.

NecroMac says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Great game with fun mechanics!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:54am

This game is awesome in every way. The theme was really good, but mostly it's just a really fun game! The graphics are really cool too, how they mix the old retro style of bit games with new features such as lighting and particle effects. The artwork and idea behind it is clever and beautifully executed.

It's very challenging, too, which is great! I will be keeping this one on my computer to play for a long time, trying to beat it!

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:09am

Awesome! I was only able to get to ~15% in the time I played, but it was fun. I liked that there were upgrades for the weapons as well as two abilities for the player to switch between (rain / sun). All of the small features for the game such as the lanterns which the sun form could turn on for light were great!
It did seem like the level was very long though. That would be my only criticism. Overall great work!

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Awesome, like it!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Great game.
Very fitting artstyle and music.
Not much more to say. ;)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Cool casual game, nice graphics and sound, good job. It would be cool to play a game to mobile.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Great job! Reminds me of playing Downwell, but up.... Upwell? :D

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Excellent game. Probably the best of this LD i've played so far. SGreat pixel art, smooth animations, good and gamefeel, great innovative gameplay, nice amount of different bonuses and weapons,cool audio,cute characters...I could go on.
Really super nice work.
I feel a bit bad because i've only reached 15% so far but i'll play again later for sure.
Congrats.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:12pm

it is unclear, but it is fun. I see that done a lot of work

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:44pm

This is amazing! I really love the graphics and the mood this gives off! The gameplay is hectic and brilliant as well. Fantastic job here, one of my favourites!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]