Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

From the Sea, Freedom

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

Here is our submission 'From the Sea, Freedom'
It is a sort of 2D walking simulator, or swimming simulator I guess. It's designed to be a very relaxing experience, focused on audio, exploration and mood. There's no conflict or combat. The controls are very simple, and you can use either mouse or 360 pad. The download might take a short while due to the audio files.

We recommend using the 360 pad and going fullscreen for the nicest experience.
Also pleeeeease use Chrome, as some versions of Firefox are buggy with audio at the moment.

All gameplay, graphics and music was created during the weekend. We hope you enjoy it and thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#5Mood(Jam)4.47
#11Audio(Jam)4.39
#98Graphics(Jam)4.31
#127Overall(Jam)3.80
#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#532Fun(Jam)3.14
#937Theme(Jam)2.98

Comments

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43pm

It is beautiful and relaxing, I loved it.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

A realy great and relaxing game! some of the best graphics i have seen so far in this ludum, and the best audio i have heard. Great job!

tintreas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05am

So lovely!

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16am

So great amazing graphics, I played it all the way through, good job!

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

love the colours!

LeafThief says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Great mood and audio. I liked that the soundtrack kept changing. A nice and somber experience.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Simply beautiful, not much else to say! :) The game does what it set out to do really well. But is it just me or was there no music? Might've been just me. This is the sort of game that totally needs music and more turqoise whales.

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:55pm

@tyrants.not.found.team

Thanks for the feedback. There should definitely be music, it's a big part of the game and we spent a long time on it. Sorry you couldn't hear it and experience the game in full, what were you playing it on?

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04pm

This was a wonderful experience. All the tiny details you put in and that everything moves when you come closer is so beautiful. Thank you :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I'd classify this as a game. Caught myself playing this longer than I thought I would. Any chance this is going to be a screensaver?

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:19pm

A really relaxing game, enjoyed it a lot!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice graphics and cool audio

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:20pm

This is refreshing. I love the art. And it's relaxing (I'm in the middle of an exam week, and I really apeciate that!)
Great job ^^"

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I really loved playing this, I think I discovered all the creatures in the sea! I think this could become a really educative game aswell.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Great mood in this game, really digged it. A very relaxing experience.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:25pm

I played with music helmet and that was really so good music!

I loved the mood and really enjoyed playing it, I would really have loved some lights effects, to be in the dark and only see in the direction of the mouse for exemple!

Good job anyway =)

RadStar says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:43pm

really relaxing game, I like this kind of stuff :)
graphics were nice, but the animations could be a little more polished to make the game a bit more immersive

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:52pm

cute and relaxing - my kid was amazed)

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19pm

beautifull ;)
I don't get the link to the theme

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:45pm

@Webravenz

Thanks Webravenz. The theme we used is growing. When you swim past the plants they grow and more fish appear, the idea was the diver is regrowing the ocean and bringing it back to life.

loxo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:31pm

You managed to create a very relaxing atmosphere, I wish there would have been more to explore. I especially like the music and the graphics. Awesome experience! I found a mistake on the thanks for playing page: There are too many "for".

aare says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:35am

It could be great but i wish there was something more to do, exploring aspect was fun but there wasn't even an option to check your discoveries, still quite nice entry

fabulis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

beautiful experience, great jobs

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Great mood and art. Perfect color palette choice. Thought it could have used additional sound effects like scuba mask pressurizing and bubbles as the player goes deeper. I would have really loved if you could go inside things. Inside the shipwreck, the sub...maybe even the whale!...but I get that was probably a time thing. Sometimes there was a bunch of stuff in one area, so I wasn't exactly sure what I was discovering, but still, Very impressive.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Not a game, but instead it's a really pleasant experience. I like it. Cute and pretty mood. Thumbs up ++

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I really wanna say hi to that guy at the lighthouse but I cant get up there! Beautiful game would love to see a game like this with some sort of dark mystery hidden in the depths. Like the houses and gravestones. Awesome!

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:23am

Pretty cool graphics. :)

Stuntddude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:17pm

I love that a jam game uses audio in such a wonderful way! It's a very relaxing experience, one of my favorite entries I've played. My only criticism is that one of the sound effects for discovering plants (the chiptuney one) was a lot louder than the others (the chords). It could probably use to be made a little quieter and/or the chords a little louder.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:20pm

That was quite relaxing. Enjoyed it more than I thought I would. Thanks!

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:58pm

It's more poetry than a game, but it's very relaxing and aestethic, wale er... Well done !

(why did you deactivated "humor" score, there is actually humor in that game)

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:50am

This was a lovely experience. I enjoyed seeing the names popping up, even if they couldn't keep up with all my discoveries. I know it's not the point, but it would've been helpful to have some sort of visual aid to what you've already discovered, like a light fade or something (that said, i did find everything). Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]