Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hyperspace

by dekart - Compo Entry

You're a space captain trying to enter Hyperspace, but unfortunately your ship is too slow. You should grow your speed by collecting fuel crates while avoiding meteors and destroying asteroids on your way.

Rules:

* Collect crates to grow your speed. Collecting is only possible when shields are down.
* Small meteors damage your ship, but you can deflect them when shields are up.
* Destroy large asteroids - they damage your ship really hard, shields doesn't help much against them. Fire rockets at them.
* Goal: gather enough fuel to reach required speed to enter Hyperspace.

Controls:

* Space - turn shields ON and OFF
* Z - fire rockets to the nearest asteroid

This game was made with:

* HTML5 via Cocos2d-x framework
* JavaScript as a language, compiled from CoffeeScript
* Ruby for compilation and deployment scripts

Feel free to ask questions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#233Theme4.00
#245Audio3.16
#341Mood3.17
#344Fun3.33
#421Overall3.31
#480Graphics3.08

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Very cool. Game thatgive!

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Neat background parallax effect! I would´ve let the boxes rotate also, so they don´t appear so static in space :D
But beside this one thing, i like the game quite a bit.

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

I kind of love how confusing this game is (not sarcasm).

"A small hostile! Open your shield! A larger hostile! Ope-wait-close your-" *BOOM*

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Really love the music and the game is pretty fun. Managed to make it to level 8. Nice work.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55am

Level 7. Started kinda boring, but then became nicely challenging. Well done!

ptkfs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

Fun game, though I only made it to level six.

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

Great job incorporating the theme into the story.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49am

Nice concept. I've only seen games based on 'two button game' go with movement based controls so far, so this is a refreshing breath of fresh air. Well done!

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35am

It took me a few minutes to figure out I was supposed to be collecting the blue crates. Fun game and good use of the theme.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11am

Thumbs up for HTML5!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

It looked good, and had a nice feeling of it. Quite easy in the beginning, didn't feel so much threatened. Could perhaps accelerate in difficulty faster? I am impressed by how well the graphics and music came together to put the mood.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57am

Accurate. Unfortunately my z-key has a problem in notebook... So i felt like a real old ship captatin

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

Nice simple shump!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

That's a different idea. The two button control is fun, and I can easily see that working on cell phones and tablets. One criticism is that there's little penalty on raising the shields, so there's no strategy regarding its use. Other than that, good game!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11am

Neat game. Not really my cup of tea, but it's well made.
Only criticism I have is making the next level a mouse operated button in an otherwise keyboard controlled game is an oversight.

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

Neat game, although dull at times. Great work on the graphics and the mood!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46am

I enjoyed this. I was a bit confused about if you were supposed to aim or not in the beginning, but I figured it out after some time. If there's one suggestion I would make, it would be to just have an auto fire option (since there's unlimited ammo, it seems). That's what I was doing in the game, so it would make more sense if the game just handled firing for you, and you could add another, more interesting, mechanic maybe.

Other than that, I enjoyed it! I also like the music!

jackrugile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

I loved your concept and how it ties in both of the themes. I haven't seen one quite like this yet. You created a nice mood with the graphics and music as well. Nice work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Nice interaction between the limited controls! Not being able to fire or collect fuel with shields up makes for some engaging and difficult split-second decision making.

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Clever use of the theme for sure! Fun to decide when the best time to use shields vs collecting crates and shooting asteroids.

Cool concept and good execution.

rkhadder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Great game - I wish the ship wouldn't just sit in the middle

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Cool game! Nice use of the two button controls.

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

I know that music generator! I think the sounds were a little harsh. Try pitching things down or use a low pass filter (in audacity) to make sounds a bit softer. good job!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Fun game. Early levels could be more challenging. If had a suggestion it would be to add a recharge timer to the shield.

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

very confusing game. the sound effects hurt my ears. i like the concept of the shield though blocking both good and bad things though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Good use of the theme!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

So funly )

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Cool game

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Good meditative but challenging after some point game. Well done!=)

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The game is simple but pretty well done, the shield mechanic reminds me of Ikaruga.
What I think can be improved is that the first levels seems a bit long compared to the other. And also, you could add a mechanic to the shield that make him use energy, so the player can't always have the shield.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Like sanojian I didn't know I should be picking up the crates (I thought they were bricks trying to destroy my ship, then I RTFM) and was quite bored as there seemed to be no challange. That all changed! :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Pretty fun, got quite hectic quick :)

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

Nice little game, fits the theme perfectly. Got to level 8.

StrehFox says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Great game! Simple, but addictive. Found myself playing through several levels.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:23pm

A simple but very unique concept! Very nice!

paruthidotexe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:03pm

nice game and addicting. Music is also good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]