Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Backwards and Bonkers!

by CartoonJenn - Jam Entry

Use the left and right arrow keys to move to avoid obstacles. Have fun!


The post-compo version has sound and is much longer (but not infinite). It's also more challenging because the monster speeds up periodically.

I did all the art and programming myself, using Unity, Photoshop, and Cinema 4D. All models, art, textures, and scripts for the compo/jam version were created during the 48 hour period. The music and sound in the post-compo version are free assets I found on the Unity Asset store.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#70Graphics(Jam)4.41
#255Humor(Jam)3.17
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#499Theme(Jam)3.69
#584Overall(Jam)3.25
#629Fun(Jam)3.02
#868Innovation(Jam)2.58

Comments

PC Ferreira says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22am

Cool art!

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

Art is amazing! :D

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

Unfortunately, I don't have a browser that supports the Unity Web Player. Is a WebGL version available?

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51am

Sweet art :)

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52am

Nice, but it's just too short. I'd be cool if this was an infinite runner.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

I won! The graphics are seriously amazing. Nice work

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08am

Love the artstyle and colour palette in particular!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

It's like a dream I had years ago after too much candies. Nice art - 5 stars.

CartoonJenn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23am

Thanks for the comments! I ran into some issues getting a WebGL build to work correctly online, so the Unity Web Player build is the only one I have up right now.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

nice game, it took me a few seconds to realize that the cookie monster thing was coming to get me. :D

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Awesome art!

SethR says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Cool art

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27am

Great graphics. All it needs is a little sound, and some powerups/downs! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

Fun game, great art! In the future I'd post your game in a dropbox somewhere, no fun having to go to a 2nd site and click play again to watch some ads to rate a game. Just saying! :D

CartoonJenn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

Thanks for pointing that out - I thought I had turned the ads off for this game. The game should just play now with no ad.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

graphics are cool but the game is too easy. Crank up the difficulty.

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

A little short, and didn't hear any sound, not sure if there was any included. But the graphics and gameplay were pretty tight.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Wow very interesting art style! I didn't know whether it was funny or scary but it was definitely intriguing :). The gameplay itself was not bad, very easy though. Overall a nice entry!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

Art is awesome and the functionality of it is great.

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Very vivid colors. I like it.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I've played some games with cool color palettes but I think this one takes the cake. I love that clean look. It's like an elf's nightmare or something!

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

graphics are amazing.

the idea is interesting, of actually "reverse"-ing it. In that type of game, we usually expect objects to come from the top and us controlling a character at the bottom of the screen. Here, constantly seeing what's going to eat you is quite interesting. The downside of it is that you loose visibility when big items appear, which could limit game design if you were to pursue the game further with more levels / more obstacles.

Oh, and it's definitely too damn short / easy

I don't want to finish on a bad note, so really ... the graphics are amazing ;)

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Good sense of pallete and overall design! Lack of background music loses all the possible fun of the arcade. And the game overall feels a bit awkward without a sound feedback :(

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:31am

I loved the art; very cute nightmare! :D

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

Well this game was definitely titled correctly! I had this great "OH GAWD" moment in the first two seconds while my brain realized what was going on.

The compo version was like "oh ha that was cute, interesting, and short."

The post-compo version was like, "OH NO GET OUT OF MY WAY, PRESENTS!" I swear I had a defective jack in the box that wasn't moving any faster than the monster at all and my fate was sealed from the start although I didn't know it.

Really nice look boosted up an interesting inversion of a genre, and the it didn't overstay its welcome, it quit while I was still having fun.

Nice work. I think adding some hilarious feedback when hitting the various presents would push the fun up a notch.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Great artwork! loved the style of it all.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:19am

Weeeeeeird theme! Loved it and I wonder how you or the team came to it!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:53am

One of the prettiest games I've played on here.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Really liked the graphics! Amazing game!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:13am

I really liked the graphics and presentation and idea. Would really have liked to have seen more "game" to this though. Maybe more of a challenge, or maybe power ups. Great work though, and nice 3D art as well.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:07am

I love the trippy visual style, and gameplay feels solid. I actually expected it to be longer T_T

Cool entry!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:58am

you captured the spirit of christmas

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]