Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Spaceships

by Lasty - Jam Entry


Growing Spaceships
==================
By Lasty ( twitter: @tristan_lasty )

Game made in 72 hours For Ludum Dare 34 Game Jam. Themes were "Growing", and "Two Button Controls"

Unzip the entire folder, then run "ld34.exe" to play.
If windows SmartScreen complains, click "more" then "run anyway".

- Update 1 fixes some critical issues
- Update 2 (Post-competition) adds a lot more polish (Sounds and a Tutorial)
- Update 3 (Post-competition) fixes a crash bug


Synopsis
--------
- A a 2D top-down space shooter.
- Shoot enemy ships which explodes parts off.
- Attach parts with your tractor beam to upgrade your ship.
- Survive as long as possible.

Controls
--------------
(Update 2 includes an in-game tutorial covering this)
- WASD (Or arrows) to move
- TAB to change modes (Combat, or Salvage)
- Left click, Right click: Depending on mode: tractor beam, or shoot
- Mouse Wheel (Or Keypad +/-) Zoom camera
- ESC Quit


Developer/cheat keys are:
- N : Spawn new random ship
- J : Spawn random part (Space Junk)
- F5: Save current ship to ships/custom.txt
- F9: Load the custom ship
- F1: Toggle AI processing
- F2: New game with a random ship (Also skips tutorial)


Update 1:
--------
Some post release tweaks:
- Better starting ship, a 10 second calm before enemy ships spawn.
- Fixed disappearing player ship bug.


Update 2:
--------
(Post competition update)
- Added in some sounds. (Really wish I spent some time during comp to do this,
because it really helps with the game immersion)
- Some bugfixes:
- Fixed Camera tracking slightly off center, and not following mouse
- Could Destroy enemy ships, and player's ship core with "scrap" in salvage mode
- UI Tweaks:
- Added more audio and visual feedback to attach mechanic. Should be more obvious now.
- Easier part selection
- Better and more visible cursors, and selection markers
- Gameplay changes:
- Changed "scrap" function to "detach": easily remove parts from player ship without destroying them.
- Implemented the Armour block, will take 2 shots to destroy.
- Implemented a Tutorial (You can press F2 to skip).
- Starting ship is randomized.


Update 3:
---------
- Fixed a crash bug (invalid memory dereference which was causing other random memory issues)


Planed features that were cut
----------
Cut features due to time or complexity:
- Music
- Connect more than 1 piece at a time, and angled connections (eg at 45 degrees)
- More part types, including shield pieces, thrusters, turreted weapons
- Energy management (Reactors, capacitors, can only shoot when charged)
- Damage/Repair mechanic
- World map, Space dock, buy/sell ships, economy, Cargo, Trading
- Better GUI, AI
- Particles, explosions

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

I cant get it to run. I get a missing zlib.DLL error

Vertigon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55am

Tried to run and failed with a crash in Win 10. :-(

Allthebees says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I'm also getting the zlib.DLL error :(

Lasty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Damnit I knew I should have double checked that. :( Missing .DLLs are in the .zip files now.

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Excellent game! You made just about anything that I wanted to see when I started playing.

Budi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I like the concept, it reminds me TerraTech, but it's much more simpler. It runs ok, so yeah, it's fine game, which I can imagine to grow into really great game.

If I were you, I would focus on balancing gameplay. I would love to make a huge ship (Death Star :D ) and destroy everything, but those small ships are still harassing me and destroying my ship, so I can't really grow. And it would be wonderful, if the game generated the enemies the same size as I have - then I would really like to enjoy a big-ass combat between huge ships. Also I think the missiles need cooldown.

So to sum it up - I really like the gameplay, but it needs a little bit of polish.

I played patch 2.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:21am

Incredibly ambitious -- you definitely accomplished a lot in the timeframe! Had a hard time attaching items to my ship, though.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:29am

This could certainly turn into a great game. But it didn't seem like it had enough gameplay features. I think the missiles need recharge since they're more powerful also. It would be cool for it to develop into a huge world where ships are more spread out and you're not under constant attack. And will actually go to another ship to get parts from it instead of constantly being under attack. this would allow your ship to grow and have more time to organize your building.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:01am

Wow, I ended up playing this for WAY longer than I thought I would. Even though there is no objective or measure of success other than surviving, cruising around and building a giant death wing is frickin' *fun*!

I like how there are emergent, dynamic tradeoffs from the seemingly simple mechanics. For example, do I blast this ship and destroy its weaponry (thus leaving me without good salvage), or do I angle around and core-kill it in order to take its weapons?

I think there is a lot of good fruit to be bourne from expanding this out with and adding more mechanics.

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Really cool idea. Really liked this one

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]