Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

space pruning

by rubna - Jam Entry

prune space ! try to make 3 different friends !

controls:
wasd -> move around
arrows -> move hook / hose
space -> grab / spray
Q -> switch gear

ran out of time to add sounds ;O

Play with a controller if you can!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Overall(Jam)4.29
#18Innovation(Jam)4.18
#37Graphics(Jam)4.59
#52Fun(Jam)3.97
#107Theme(Jam)4.18
#134Mood(Jam)3.79
#139Humor(Jam)3.56
#2210Coolness20%

Comments

Bamboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02am

This game looks adorable but I cant figure out how to download.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

The art looks great

Sanguine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55am

so cute!! really nice art & amazing animations

tip: if you don't get it immediately - keep playing and make friends!!

napoleon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

kawaii desu chan 10/10

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Nice art!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Ahhh this is so nice ^^ I enjoyed it but once I had three lil friends and tried to feed them I got a fatal error :(

Here it is:

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_kikker:

Unable to find any instance for object index '103085' name '<undefined>'
at gml_Object_obj_kikker_Step_0

-----------------------------------------------

I played for so long without realizing time was passing. <3 TY for making cool games <3

Ditto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Rubna you fucking amazing person I love your games so god damn fucking much this is amazing omg <3

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

sick game bud

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18am

@boaheck hmm, i couldn't recreate it but i solved another bug kinda related to it probably so it *might* be fixed :d
in any case, thanks for playing!!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50am

Your GM physics skills are next level. It's a little hard to tell what you're supposed to pick up with your claw and what you're supposed to collect with your actual ship.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02am

I made 4 friends, how do you like that? k, there were 2 frogs. I like them more.

I'm glad the description says something about the 3 friends, else I would've thought there was not much to it. the first few minutes were still confusing though, but when I slowly found out how everything worked it was pretty satisfying. only things was that since everything was so close together, I had a hard time moving around.

I still don't get why I'm plucking friends from plants though. but it really doesn't matter. it feel looks great, phyisics great and animates well. well done

fishtrek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:25am

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_plant:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -2.vrucht(100197, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_obj_plant_Step_0
############################################################################################

(after i tried to feed a yellow ball to a blank planet - i had 2 pink, 1 green and 1 cyan follower at that point)

anyway I love how quirky and different this is -- discovery of new friends and planets was really interesting and fun. Kudos :)

Gamefreak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48am

Can I get the source, If possible. i wanna know how you did the smoke effect thingy and the pivots :D

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Very cool game! I really liked the art and the gameplay. Good job!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:41am

Wow this is so smooth, really great feeling! Really well done mate!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:26am

Really well made! I love the graphics and am impressed of your use of 3D in game maker :) it is very effective.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:33am

This game is cool. Cute graphics and it is fun figuring out what everything does! :-)

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:52am

Great toy ! Too bad there was no audio :(

cameronpenner says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:22am

Cute. I made all three, was tricky to figure out what to do, but I got it eventually!

cimbaman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:40am

I looks great... Controls are kind of bluh, but after some time you get used to it... F4 for full screen was an interesting decision... I like it :)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Great game! Needed some music but you did an awesome job!
I'm waiting a post jam/compo version!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Cute.

Tyler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Hard to understand and audio would've helped a ton, but it was really quite quirky and enjoyable!!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:58am

Feels very imaginative and original. It's great fun trying to find out what to do. Love the animation.

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:09am

Great mechanics and artstyle. Finding how it work was part of the fun, but maybe some tips could be usefull. Playing with a controller is a lot better, I think the move speed could be higher. I made 4 friends, is there an end state? Keep up the good work

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Very nice jam entry!! You have potential to expand this in so many ways :)
Either way, what you have now is really nice. Love the concept and the mechanics are very clever. The way you implicitly convey the tasks is brilliant too. Great work!

tozeyoru says ...
May 12, 2016 @ 4:23am

very nice!But after like 30 minutes,i always got stuck in the way by friends.anyway,its a great game!!
I hope you can make some music for it <3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]