Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Arrow Drift

by JPatrick - Compo Entry

Arrow Drift is a puzzle game in which you have to navigate a orange and black square to the exit. With only two buttons to navigate with however, this is not as easy as it sounds. What each button does depends on which tile you stand on.

It is possible on some levels to get stuck. If this happens you can use the reset button :)
Click on the arrow buttons in the bottom left corner to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Innovation3.80
#183Overall3.65
#184Fun3.60
#509Audio2.58
#544Mood2.88
#564Graphics2.95
#664Theme3.50
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

I beat it! Very fun.

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Strikes me as something that would fit perfectly in a brain training app as a challenge on time as well as moves. Fresh take on a classic concept, thanks!

reheated says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:57am

Very nice puzzles!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Really nice game! Well done! Really like the art style!

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Cool little game, using my mental A*

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Really like this. Great use of the theme. Would love to see it as a finished game! Great job!

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Good use of the theme and a fun art style. well done

Wumbo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:59am

Okay, so I beat the game, and got 3 stars on just about everything. Fun game, implemented the two-button theme well, but I did find it a bit distracting to look at all the arrows. Maybe just do like an L if you can go up or right, instead of an up arrow and right arrow to make less clutter when there are so many spaces.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]