Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

trosor

by Ditto - Compo Entry

yeah

it's basically a one button game with some shooting thrown in for good meassure. no enemies tho, ohhhhh welllll!


<3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Graphics4.26
#84Mood3.77
#169Overall3.68
#193Theme4.06
#205Innovation3.63
#216Audio3.23
#339Fun3.34
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

omaha says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21am

This is just beautiful. I can't get enough of your art style. I didn't think it was possible to do so much with two buttons.

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

love the art style, the colours are great

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36am

awesome graphics! Wierd and impressive!

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

I love it and feel sick at the same time :D Got stuck at the spot where you have to get through the really short hallway thingy. Still, nice graphics and colours. I still feel like I am on drugs.fusdhpfuerrrea

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Pretty interesting, the art and the effects is what stands out the most!

Tommislav says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

The graphics looks beautiful and very trippy! Your art style really gets me!

Gameplay wise I think I would have preferred jumping left/right instead of shooting and turning at walls as it became a bit repetative jumping back and forth when you missed some of the trickier jumps.

But overall a very high quality game indeed. Well done!

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Really unnerving style. The use of colors and motion and particle effects gave it sort of an LSD quality. Music was really trippy, and meshed well with the Dean Martin I had on in the background. Some tricky corridors, but nothing unconquerable. The game didn't crash, which was a plus. I like how it was easy to pick up based on context, no instruction needed.

Pretty fun, Ditto!

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40pm

cool game, nice movement and main rules. i had some issues with the level design, but i like it. :)

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

Weird game, I don't really understand what the hearts were about but I liked it! Best part of the game is the art style, and also the audio fit quite well.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23am

I like how with only 2 buttons you managed to make a platformer game which can't be beaten just by smashing said buttons.
The graphics seems simple but looks really lovely with all these cool effects.

khofez says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Very good game, I liked it a lot, and the mechanics are pretty good. Your art style is nice

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

The art style is cool, but I imagine you must have ended really dizzy making this game.

It was fun to try and navigate with just one button jumping back and forth from walls.

At first I started to shoot at the clouds and people were in love, then I realize I could take that love. Then I started to feel somewhat bad about taking people's love and just running away.

Good job!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

I really like the art style as you know, (though it's so vivid it can actually be distracting :P )

In terms of the gameplay, I often found it hard to intentionally do what I wanted, and it felt like luck when I managed to do stuff. Like.. if I wanted to turn around, I just found it really hard to do that? Or get into a hole?

My solution to the holes was to just face the wrong way and use the bullet recoil to get to the other side, without shooting I dunno how I'd do it.

But then, the shooting felt like a pointless extra. Like, if collecting the hearts had given something at the end, even just a heart count, it might've felt worth it, but even then, I found it difficult to collect the hearts after I killed the clouds. Sometimes I'd just get to the exit and wouldn't be able to turn around and collect the hearts as hard as I'd try. It would've been nice to have had some sort of narrative or conclusion.

Either way, one of your most interesting graphical styles. Nice one.

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

cool game !
i really like the style of this !! also that one-button control scheme is pretty nifty :^) it's cool that it makes a platformer into a puzzle game kinda.
great job!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33am

Great lookin' game as always. The jumping was good, but I didn't like the really tiny corridors you'd have to force yourself though. I didn't feel like the sound effects fit well with the game though. Music was nice though.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:12am

(I said hi to you on twitter, one of your drawing totally inspired MY jam entry! <3 <3) Lovely game! It just feels so freaking good... Very polished in gameplay for sure!

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Pretty cool! Neat graphical effect, everything looks so soft and squishy. Didn't expect it to play that well with only two buttons, but it does! :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Love it, fantastic art style as always. Great use of the two button theme, even if the mechanics are a little frustrating. Although I can see the difficulty in creating workable levels with these controls. Would have preferred left and right jumps, didn't need the shooting mechanic really!

Overall, thought this was fantastic.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Oh classic Ditto artstyle, how can we not love it? The art with all its delicious effects is certainly whats stands out here, and the color choice is interesting and unique. The background music sets the mood for the game nicely, but I feel the sound effects could be more satisfying (maybe they are a bit too high pitched), but they're ok. The 2-button mechanics are awesome and work very well, and both the jumping and shooting seems very fine-tuned and polished; and your bizarre choice of buttons works very well, too, how did you get to that??? XD I missed some challenge in the game, though, there could be some enemies for us to fight or some objectives to complete with the possibility of failing/dying somehow - the jumping and shooting feel good so I think there's room for this. Level design could also have some tweaks here and there, as I got stuck in some narrow corridors or corners which kept changing my direction and making me go back (I think that sliding up on the wall when jumping on a corner - without changing your direction - would work very well). An overall very pleasant experience, good job! :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02am

Maybe it's because i'm tired, but these wobbly graphics were really messing with my eyes, i just had to stop playing. Is there a reason you picked such an odd pair of keys, too? The gameplay concept is interesting, i wish i could enjoy it, it's just delivered in a way that is physically unpleasant to me.

Miltage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Very unique art style. Loved how the blocks were more chaotic at the edges of the screen and then calm in the middle where you had to walk. Really trippy. Was there any point to shooting clouds? If there was I couldn't see it.

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Fantastic art-style. I can see the similarities to the other game you are developing, though much happier and brighter here. The first two levels were kind of easy, but on the third I just never got high up after passing the person/cloud so I just kept jumping back down. It got to be a bit too frustrating, so maybe the controls could have included the ability to turn by oneself. E.g. by shooting right before landing. Also the wall-climbing for us with lesser button skills felt a bit too hard, if one gained a little more hight each jump would have been nice. Those things apart, the game really looked fantastic (as expected). And it was fun playing it.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:05am

Crazy Art style !!

elliottd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:16pm

wonderful style. I would use bullets to modulate my position for jumps, but I never really felt like I was in much control over my movement. also would get lost in the spray of particles when shooting and moving. good entry.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:23pm

First of all THOSE GRAPHICS. The non-clearing camera trick is SO GENIUS. It makes a simple square moving around look so awesome. The jumping gameplay is way more interesting than I thought too. Only being able to turn around with a wall jump is really cool. Shooting send you backwards is also fun and reminiscent of Divekick's controls. The audio seemed a bit out of place though... way too bleepy vs the dreamy smooth feel of the graphics and background music.

canary40 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Not sure what the hearts were for, but I felt really guilty beating a level before collecting the hearts.. like all those little yellow people needed me to fix their problems.

ianh says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:29am

Great overall mood. The jumping was pretty tricky! The fact that shooting makes you move back a bit makes it possible to jump repeatedly up a single wall, which helped in some situations.

Dayko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Very clever take on platformers, excellent realization, well done ! Art style is great, only the audio maybe deserved some more love :)

domo_demo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

that's a game about love and happiness! would you marry me ?

Acerio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:01am

Great game, cool design, classic Ditto style. Love it, but it was a little hard on the eye. It took a little time to figure out that I could shoot the clouds and get a heart, but that's cool.

Also, the U and L thing was kinda weird on a QWERTY keyboard, but otherwise, the game was really cool! Good job <3

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

The graphics style is fun but like... to be honest... the colours seem a little bleh. I think with some tweaking I'd be into it

I think if you added some enemies and some type of challenge to it, it would work well. At the moment it seems a little aimless :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:04am

this was a really neat game and also very hard to get all the hearts - you worked hard on the levels - nice effect - great game

gregtruc says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Really nice levels. Really enjoyable.

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:41pm

As usual probably my favorite art this LD, the audio is super great as well. I liked the mechanics when things were "easy" but I don't think I ever got good enough so after making it through the first tiny corridor and getting turned around I got mad and quit. if you could use the mouse to aim your shots maybe I could have gotten farther?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]