Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

99 Steps

by George - Compo Entry

Use the left and right keys - or tap the left/right side of you screen on mobile - to hop your way up 99 Steps and reach the top!

There are traps along the way, so try and avoid them - and don't fall of!

Bonus Santa hat will appear on your character throughout December!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#19Fun4.08
#57Overall3.96
#84Theme4.22
#176Graphics3.78
#228Audio3.20
#307Mood3.23
#393Innovation3.29
#489Humor2.35

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I WANT MORE LEVELS!

Djimpey says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very good game. Simple and very addictive. I liked the random map generator which made a little bit of variation into the game.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice little game. Maybe you want to add some levels and upload it to Google Play?!

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Very addictive, i played like 20 times until i really finally got to the final step. Love the simplistic graphics, they work very good! The randomness makes it interessting over time. I would love to see it out the on the market, adding some more different obstacles/ block types and I think it´s ready for the market!
Awesome game all in all!

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:01am

The concept is good, it looks good, but I think it could use a bit more than 2 types of dangerous stuff. Also, the difficulty curve could be a bit steeper. I think it was a bit too easy even at the top. I think, at the top, there should be something dangerous on like 2/3 of tiles to make it very challenging to get to the very top.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03am

nice job! this feels like it could make a fun mobile game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:06am

Way fun, goes to show the power of a simple concept with good execution. Well done!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07am

Simple, solid, and clean artstyle. +1

LeEclipse says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:13am

This game is just pure amazingness, Playing it whenever I'm on a toilet break :D

SojaBird says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21am

Super fun and cool!
I like the audio design and the simplicity of the game.
Very cool and great little polish.

You could make an infinit mode, would be cool (add something like this, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shepard_tone)

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

very fun and soooo hard

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28am

Nice game, reminds me of a mobile game I played though... mountain jumping game..

Devark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

Simple, clean and polished - love it! The obstacles were a bit annoying to wait for though, considering the aim is to get as low a time as possible, other than great work! (santa hat was a nice touch).

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56am

Really great game. Really fits the two button theme, really nice graphics, sounds are okay, could be a little bit louder. The Santa's hat is a nice touch.

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:56pm

At the first time I got to 82, never again got further than 50...
I love the sounds. Or the sound. Anyways it's a nice touch.

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Great super fun game

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I loved this game, the way the pitch changes the further up you get is great. The traps were a nice frustrating addition and this game has officially made it into my book of "beat" this game when I have time!

Graphics were nice and minimalistic, audio was good, I had a blast playing and overall it was a great entry.

Thank you, hope to see more of your games in the future!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Great feel, fun game!!!

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Good game, feels polished and the graphics fit together really well

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Lovely game, simple but great sounds and visuals, solid idea, and the hat. Great work! :)

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Nice little game! I like the increase in pitch, as well as the tension you feel when you're standing on a fading block, waiting for the spikes to go down.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Very nice entry !

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59pm

This is totally awesome! So addictive! don't know what more there is to say! Really good job!

Tommislav says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Simple but very polished. Had me going until I managed to get to the top. Excellent game!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Awesome idea! Make more levels, more challenges and maybe add some music to improve the mood1 ;)

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07am

Addictive and simple! Could definitely see people playing this on mobile! I'm hooked!

windwarrior says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

Liked it :D, very awesome. If you want some sort of score attack tho, you might want to create levels (not generate), so that you can poke fun at your friends for the score you got on a level... OR, make it endless so rhat the random doesnt affect too much. OHH this game is soo full of potential, finish it :D

mattrified says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43am

Nice game! The isometric view and then using left and right arrow keys was sorta tough to get used to though. Overall nice job.

mukult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

Nice addictive game...
Like the art style! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

Amazing. Best game I have played for the entire Ludum Dare 34. Kudos on a job well done.

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18am

Extremely addicting. Brilliant.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

Wow amazing!! Hope you will continue this game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

36.01s - Really simple, clean and great fun. Nice job!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21am

Very slick looking

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

very simple and addictive - play many ketchapp games?

trueboolean says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

Very addictive! Definitely consider making this an IOS or Android game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Those dang spike floors prevent me from speeding through like a demon! Very fun.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Great little game, loved it! Had to play it a few times =).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Great Game! I would pay for a full version

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

So freaking addictive.

tvheeswijck says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

Decent endless runner for a jam build. Sound and graphics are both quite good, but it's a little lacking in character otherwise.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47am

perfect minigame... but desperately missing sound

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07am

Really well made. Different interactions and engaging sound.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24am

The shifting in pitch as you get higher is so rewarding. I love how you've put in a timer and a score counter, alot of people don't. The art style is clean and precise

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

Excited but not with great fun. Nice graphic and sound.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18am

32:76

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

Very good game but it needs more levels.

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48am

great game, adding something like, tile will fall if you aren't fast enough, will be great i think

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Having trouble with the Linux version, nothing but a grey window. Android working fine :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Really neat concept!
This could be a really good game when you put some more time in it. It's easy to grasp, and could be made more complex with some more work.
Love the graphics!

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Really well made. Different interactions and engaging sound.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Mechanics are introduced at a nice pace, and I really like the simple aesthetic.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Cool idea! Would love to see it expanded upon!

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Simple idea but extremely fun and addictive. Looks great too!!

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Such a simple game, and yet I replayed it so many times. It was more difficult than I thought and quite enjoyable. I was not expecting that level of fun. Nice job!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Really awesome game! Would love to see it expanded upon. It's super simple, but it works well and is really satisfying to play.

Kimau says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Aaaaa so addicting and the audio is so simple but perfect a really joy.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Santa hat ftw. The pitch rising was a nice touch!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24am

very simple, but very entertaining, nice job :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29am

Cool game! Very simple and adictive! Got about 80 Score at 5-th try =)
I'll check out later if there are more than spikes and empty cells. Good job anyway!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:56am

Very addictive. Super simple, but fun. Great job.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Really great! Perfectly fits the theme :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Pretty cool game! It's really addictive. Simple and fun gameplay with a certain "just one more try!!!!"

Almost like flappy bird in that regard.

Add music and polish it a bit and you might have a mobile hit! I'd pay some money for it!

Really good job!

Played on Android

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Awesome. It's so simple, but perfectly executed. I love the sound, and the art fits exactly. I don't think I'm brave enough to hone my time down, but I can definitely see a draw to do so that's not present in many LD games. Nicely done!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03am

Brilliant game! Minimalistic graphics, sound and gameplay blend perfectly here, it's really addictive. If you keep working on it in the future (please, do!) it would be cool to add other tile types, as some people have already mentioned.

Congrats!! :D

careless says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:00am

Very nice game, really enjoyed playing it, finished it in 44:72, a high score board would be great!

Very well done buddy!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:43am

Nice use of Graphics and Sound. Will add this to the "play after rating is over" list.

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:13am

Lovely looking game and fun to play, got some annoying lag spikes from time to time which mad it hard to play.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

It was simple but you got me defeated :D

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I won the game on first try!! :-)
Congrats for the cool little game you have made.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Very simple, very well suited for mobile, nice jumping and minimalistic graphics, Good job!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Really addictive and pleasing in gameplay and visuals :) nice game.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Really good game , great job keep it up!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Amazing. Classic "why didnt I think of that" thing. So much potential for your android app as well (backgrounds/themes/players, competitive scoring, complementary handcrafted levels, additional obstacles/falling onto platforms/multiple routes...). My only critique for this compo would be that you dont explicitly use the time as a score when finishing which is very easy if you play slowly. You could have e.g. made it so that platforms behind you start falling down. Congrats and nice hat

herniewise says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Get me an iOS version!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Yes, please...more. I kept losing the level at the very begining before I even pressed a button on a few rounds, but that didn't keep me from playing this a billion times before I made it through.

rockford says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:03am

Amazing!! Played on my Android and will definitely play again!

EwChap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:32am

Great creation. Simple and well executed. great design.

ryandali says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:56am

clean sounds and crisp controls plus the simple gameplay make the whole experience very engaging. Great work!

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:37am

The level was just the right length. Long enough so that when I beat it, I felt like I had accomplished a large amount, yet short enough that it wasn't a big hassle to get back to where I had left off. The sound effects really added to the game's experience and the graphics were nice. Good job overall!

Verrazano says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:00am

Just wish there was some music :C

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:03am

Wow! Something about this game is just amazing! I can picture it on an iPhone as a game to compete with your friends in. Simple, but phenomenal!

P.S. I like the jumping sound a lot

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:06am

Interesting game with more depth than I initially thought.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:54pm

The game is great! You could add some background, a music to it and more levels!
Amazing job releasing it on mobile!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Simple but very well amde! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:16pm

My best Score is 44:70 ! good execution and nice sound design. I would just make these spikes kill you only if more than 20/25% visible.

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great game! most fun I've had with an entry so far! The only problem was that when you tap really fast the game doesn't register the presses. So it's impossible to get the Really fast times.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Awesome. Reminds me of many of Ketchapp's apps on mobile. I'd polish this up and head to mobile for sure. Nice entry.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:15am

Nice! Definitely looks cool on mobile devices too! Fun game! ;)

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:05am

Absolutely incredible. I don't really have a single complaint! Simple, addicting, good feedback while climbing. This is something I'd play more even post Ludum Dare.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]