Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GrowingTrees

by jomacel - Compo Entry

Here is another attempt to make a "game" for Ludum Dare. GrowingTrees is an incomplete game about growing... uhm... trees? I'm not sure. Highly inspired by Grow Home.

Controls are:
- Left/Right Arrow

Hope you enjoy it as a whole.


EDIT: Music was automatically created using the amazing tool at www.abundant-music.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#50Theme4.32
#83Overall3.87
#115Mood3.64
#131Fun3.68
#153Graphics3.84
#217Innovation3.60
#233Audio3.19
#539Humor2.25

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:31am

Looks cool and quite fun. Nice simple mechanic and using both themes. Good job!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:32am

I like it too!! Very smooth controls!! The artwork looks nice... I am a big fan of minimalistic artwork! :D

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45am

Cool! It feels smooth and intuitive but still challenging. Looks good too!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

very cool! A very pretty and elegant take on the old classic Snake. I really appreciate that the player's tree isn't just a single trunk extending out to pick up more pellets. The little branches growing out off the side really contributed a great deal to the aesthetic here.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

I loved it! :P the tree grows very naturally... I just whish that I could view my resulting tree after playing :)
This was very simple and fun though. Good work

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

The tree growth looks pretty nice - the main trunk feels very natural. I was kind of expecting different-colored dots to have different effects, but that's all I can really say there.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

Neat idea. I found it difficult to control the veins.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13am

I got to 296m! GREAT GAME! It's my favorite I've played so far and the music is good too

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28pm

back for a little more this morning and I got 601m!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Simple and objective. It is well polished and with a very interesting art. Good job!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Good game! Fit both themes just excellent. I only suggest you to simplify the interface of the re-game - remove the R and Space keys.

LeafThief says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50pm

853m yeah. At first it was frustrating but later on I had the feeling I got the hang of it and started developing strategies. Nice stuff!

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03am

Hard to control but it's beautiful

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:04am

Great use of both themes. It would been great if the colored pellets you grabbed affected the color of the tree as that could make it look even cooler.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08am

I love how this tree grows, so much fun to watch.

coffeeBeans says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:34pm

GREAT CONCEPT! minimal design.... with a better input control and some iteration on gameplay this could be a hit!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I didn't feel this was "an incomplete game", it seems pretty complete as is, especially for a LD ! Sober, nice looking, and challenging entry, so : well done. :)

ahmeni says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Awesome stuff! Lots of fun, managed to snag 550m!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:03am

Very cool. Love the sinuous patterns the tree makes. I couldn't quite get the hang of steering it, though - it felt like sometimes it would turn almost immediately and sometimes it would doggedly stay pointed in the same direction. Still, nice work!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Very nice looking game

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:04pm

I love the look of it but it would be cool to see the tree after failing.

Fadobo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Really fun and generates some great looking minimalist trees.

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Cute little game. Seen a few of these tree growing games, this is a good example. Simple mechanics, easy to pick up and play, very smooth controls. The tree graphics are well done too.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I got 437 altitude and 647.8 distance :D

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Loved this - amazing concept, well executed. Can't wait to see a post LD version get featured on the app stores!

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:24pm

It's cool. I like that you combined both themes, and that you cameup with this simple yet addictive game idea. thumbs ub from me :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:40pm

1395.5

Fun game. Controls felt good. I liked how your speed changed based on your remaining "fuel"

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Loved the music! (did you really make it in the 48 hours?)

The concept is cool, the controls are bit tough.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]