Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stitch Wars

by wilbefast - Compo Entry

A little tactics game with hexagons. Didn't have time to finished so it's a little rough around the edges and not at all polished.
* Left click to select a stitch-punk.
* Right-click to issue an order.
* All attacks happen before charges.
* All charges happen before retreats.
* All retreats happen before all moves.
* stitch-punks take double damage if surrounded.
* stitch-punks take half damage if they have the high ground.

Yeah, I know, not at all on theme. But well, to be honest I just really wanted to make a tactics game. Technically the game does only use two buttons, and the characters have buttons for eyes. So it's like a play on words or something =)

I made the hexagon library during the warm-up weekend, but on the whole I was very much out of my comfort zone for this jam using pure HTML 5 rather than LÖVE 2D. Progress was slower than I hoped so I didn't really finish on time :'(

I'd like to keep working on the prototype a little though, so maybe post-compo...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#452Fun3.19
#502Humor2.33
#519Overall3.19
#526Graphics3.00
#579Mood2.82
#699Innovation2.76
#844Theme3.11
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

Fun demo! I starred it on GitHub.

I really liked the twist on the button theme. If you had a theme category, I'd have given it a good review.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12am

Had difficulty deciding what to do was more a demo than game.

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Very cool take on the theme! And it's good to see some tactical LD games, good job. I love the setting and idea, but found the game pretty hard to play without simply taking naïve actions. Could use some sound effects.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Very nice game. Well polished!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Nice take on the theme! I had some difficulty to progress in the game, it could have been better with a quick tutorial though.
Anyway, you already explained "why" in the description, so well played on this try, and nice job with the hexagonal movement/pathfind :)

sergicollado says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I really love this kind of game, good job!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Great start of a really fun tactical game. Would love it if you could keep expanding on this, because it shows real promise. Unfortunately my game seemed to have crashed at one point. Nonetheless, great stuff!

eskivor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Sometimes it's good to no fit to a theme on a game jam as a developer and to develop something you really want to experiment

Rialgar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:31pm

It is kind of anoying that the enemies always act first, that makes it really hard

wilbefast says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:17am

Enemies always act last actually, but each turn is resolved in phases are the "attack" and "charge" phases (the action types the AI tends to use) are resolved before movements and retreats.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]