Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Coffee, Please!

by sweetfish - Jam Entry

"Coffee, Please!" is a "Papers, Please" inspired coffee serving game; try to serve all the coffee orders with two button controls.

Had many plans for awesome gameplay features, but alas, this was the result! :)

(The game was made in the Defold engine btw!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#154Humor(Jam)3.48
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#312Graphics(Jam)3.80
#369Overall(Jam)3.47
#475Theme(Jam)3.72
#551Innovation(Jam)3.10
#577Mood(Jam)3.14

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Love the physics! The idea is well-polished and put together. I had a lot of fun. :)

The only thing I would suggest would be different fonts for handwriting. Some near-unreadable to make the player guess harder. ;P

sweetfish says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13am

@danbolt hahaha, I agree about the font! Was thinking of also having the names randomly misspelled. :) Anyway, thanks!!

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

This is a lot of fun! My biggest complaint, and it can't be considered a fault of the game, is that as a non-coffee-drinker, I had difficulty knowing how to make some of the drinks. This captures the stress of Papers, Please very well!

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Nice! Would have loved a little more depth, but this is a great starting point!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

As a professional barista, this game is approved and will be shared with my fellow coffee makers ! Great game ! ;)

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Had no idea making coffee would be so much fun! Now I know a couple of receipts, lol
And all those cups XD

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

The physics is so fun! can't stop to hit yes!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

The physics were a nice touch :) Cool little game, you should get it on a tablet or phone!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Haha very original, liked it and even learned some coffee names

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Fun, but I'm obviously not as familiar with what the specific difference in certain types of coffees are asI thought I was

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

In some ways I like this better than papers please. A really clever idea for a game.

sweetfish says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

@KoalaBot: Haha, I see. I should have added a precipices folder the user could flip through to add to the stress!

@fakefrogsonly: Thanks!

@Yamzho: Made my day! :D

@joekinglake: Thanks! Tried it on my phone today, need to do some adjustments to the aspect ratio.

@MrDave: lol, thanks!

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04am

Fun concept and idea. Loved the physics :D. Great job

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14am

*satisfied printer noises*

Overall I like the concept, but as already noted, if you've never been in a Starbucks in your life, the questions are going to come off as non-sequiturs. ^_^;

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19am

super duper fun! theres something about job simulators... graphics and gameplay are great.

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22am

Awesome! Would love some coffee shop ambiance in the background. You should develop this further, I like the idea of including more difficult recipes so that you have to flip between reference cards or something like that. The physics were a great touch. Also, I laughed when someone ordered a Grande cup of sugar.

Good job!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Great little game. Unfortunately I'm not a coffee drinker and do not know what to put in different kinds of coffee, so I've learned stuff today! ;)

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Very nice done! One thing though (maybe thats just me): I did not know what ingredients were needed.. :-) I thing most customers got way too much milk..

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Well I wish i knew how to make coffee :D Reminds me a little bit Papers Please. Nice game :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38am

This is funny... and kinda grim! I like the sleek visuals and the way the brewing process plays out. I like toppling cups! I'd love to see this with some barista sounds -- some gurgling, some splashing, some hissing steam sounds -- to heighten the experience.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Would've been nice if I actually drank coffee and understood those terms. Didn't get a single cent...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]